Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Really nice room and great staff. Our stay was not long but it was just what we needed. A nice, comfortable and clean room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Clean, quiet hotel. Blow dryer in room was broke. They offered to change rooms for us but we declined.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your hair dryer was not working properly. We have fixed the issue though. I hope that you allow us the opportunity to provide you with service in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but that's about it

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The room was clean, however, the heating system was loud and annoying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were unhappy while you stayed with us - we will work on the problem that you mentioned.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint John, NB

Nice quiet hotel close to the airport.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Quiet and contemporary rooms.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Bangor International Airport, Ground Round Restaurant, various other hotels and eating establishments.
The hotel was quiet, clean room with a spacious bathroom. The amenities and furnishings were very functional and attractive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Wow! What a fantastic review you provided on Days Inn Bangor!! Thank you so very much for that. It really does make our jobs more worthwhile when we have satisfied guests that leave us such positive feedback. Please come again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NS

Hotel was fine.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: It was nice to have a restaurant on site, and the food was good.
Cons: The free breakfast; waffle maker was not easy to use. Have rooms with sink in bathroom.
Location: Near to shopping and restaurants which was great.
Thinks were pretty much fine, except I didn't like there being no sink and mirror in the bathroom. If all the rooms are like that I wouldn't book again for that reason.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were unhappy with the layout of the guest rooms. We have the vanities outside of the bathrooms to make it easier for those that need the outlets while someone from their party is in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB

Pleasing

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Pool
Cons: The sausage for breakfast was dripping in grease. Not too inviting. Could use a better toaster.
Location: Location is perfect. Near airport, Tim Horton's, movie house and steak house next door.
We have stayed there a few times and whenever we visit Bangor we always stay there. The staff are friendly, easy to get around. Good shopping and many eating places. The new addition of having cookies available for guests is terrific. Excellent cookies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for that great review you provided on our hotel. I am so pleased that you have noticed some of the changes that I have implemented to show our appreciation for our guests, like the cookies and iced tea. Thank you for choosing Days Inn Bangor and please come again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Not happy at all!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Check in was easy, first night we stay we go to use the pool & there is no lights, no note saying pool closed due to electrical problem. The we couldn't get our a/c to work correctly on the first night so it's late we decide to let the front desk know the next morning. Next morning we get up, shower & head out for the day, as we're leaving we ask them to take a look @ the a/c & they say no problem, now mind you when we left @ 8:45am there was power @the hotel. We get back to the hotel about 7:30 pm, the desk clerk tells us that they weren't able to get anyone in to look @ the a/c & if there is still a problem they will move us to a new room we tell them we'll let them know. We get to our room & house keeping never even came in, no clean towels. We decide to go to the pool, pool is locked, my husband goes to desk clerk, desk clerk comes opens pool for us & then tells us with the exception of us & a few more they have moved everyone else to a new hotel because of electrical issues. Why not move everyone then?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you were unhappy with your most recent stay with us. Unfortunately we had a power outage which affected 3/4 of the hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of not moving you to the other hotel. I am not sure why you were not given that option. We have gone through our guest list from that weekend and issued refunds back to their CC to try to make amends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

I'd stay again

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Near airport.
It was pretty nice for a 2 star hotel. I mean, my expectations were in line with what a booked and what I paid and I feel quite satisfied. The desk clerk was nice. The hallway smelled weird but the room smelled fine, and it was clean and updated. The bed was comfy, the climate control unit was responsive, and we slept great. Plus it was super convenient to the airport for our late night arrival (midnight). I feel like I got a heck of a deal. (We did not eat breakfast, though it was included with the room.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for that great review. I am so pleased that you had a good time while you were here. I hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointing stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Staff was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Old and outdated.
Room had very moldy smell. The AC did not work and staff stated there had been an electrical power surge. Many electrical items did not work such as toaster, AC and other items.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
I would like to take the time to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your most recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were here when the hotel had the power outage. It was not a power surge, it was a Bangor Hydro cable located beside the hotel that blew. It caused many difficulties for guests as well as staff. I do hope that you afford us the opportunity to provide you with the excellent service we are known for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Resto à proximité (excellente nourriture à prix abordable)
Chambre propre, tapis un peu désuets, lit king confortable. Personnel de la réception très chaleureux.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Merci de rester avec nous. Nous travaillons dur pour rendre nos clients heureux et apprécions vos commentaires.