Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Kent, ME

Conviennent for staying in a hotel at the last min

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The only issue I had was the housekeepers took forever to get me extra towels while I was in the shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Borden-Carleton, PEI

It's okay, but will stay elsewhere next time.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to - right off the highway.
Cons: Staff could pass along information pertinent to a traveller's stay there.
Location: If you stay at the HoJo, go to the Ground Round for a meal. Great staff there.
When we booked HoJo this time, we didn't know the restaurant had closed down. When we checked in, we were not told that the hotel offers a continental breakfast, either. So the first morning, we went out for breakfast. It was only because I was walking to the front desk that I saw a small sign that said breakfast 6:30 to 9:30 am. And I asked about it when I got to the front desk. Yep, continental breakfast each morning. We ended up spending a lot of time in the downtown area of Bangor, so next time we book, we'll pony up the extra $20 to $30 a night and book downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houlton ME

Comfortable, recently updated room. No complaints

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The room was renovated with granite (type) bathroom counter and furniture tops. Very Clean and eye appealing.
Cons: Cookies in the lobby?
Location: Location was convenient in the area we wanted.
We have stayed at many different hotels. This was less expensive than most, quiet and we got a good nights sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bangor, Me

Cheap and Clean.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Inexpensive, comfy, and clean. Can't ask for much more than that. Especially for $60....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Very disappointed

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Misrepresentation. No restaurant or lounge site, but was advertised that they had one. Rooms outdated and had a musty smell. I mentioned it to the manager on duty and he said that he couldn't do anything for me, not even a price reduction or a credit. The complimentary continental breakfast had old bread, stale muffin and no juices. Seriously.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Best value in Bangor. Clean updated rooms. Easy to get to off highway. All makes it an ideal stop for anyone traveling thru Bangor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Great relaxed atmosphere...we are regulars!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: location perfect for my needs.
Location: College student, very near campuses in Bangor
Clean, well maintain and nice rustic upgrades. The experience is whey I keep coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Best sleep

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: I like having the minifridge and microwave in room...we often pick up something on our shopping outings to bring back to room to eat.
Location: it is very close to highway 95 and the airport. Easy access to bangor malls or casino. Walking distance to Ground Round which is a great restaurant
Stayed at various places in Bangor, but found Howard Johnsons several years ago and by far best value for money. Always have trouble sleeping away from home, but the king sized bed very comfy. We were pleasantly suprised to hear that they now offer a continental breakfast for their guests. It wanst a huge variety but did have waffles for a hot breakfast and fruit and oatmeal for healthier options along with some mini muffins etc. With juice and coffee, certainly sufficient. Staff is always helpful whether its the front desk or the sweet Indian couple from housekeeping. Looking forward to our next visit
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good size, clean rooms

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised by this Hotel. The breakfast is basic, but not bad. The room was very clean and large. The bathroom was medium sized and pretty basic, but met our needs. Overall, for the price paid, we couldn't have asked for more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels