Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
In the heart of downtown and close, secure parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Bangor

Posted Aug 5, 2016
It was not bad. The hotel could have had a better parking arrangement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Danna - Asst. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, your opinion is important to us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff but disappointing hotel.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Window appeared to have remains of salad thrown against it. Tub in bathroom had hair in drain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Danna - Asst. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we do value your opinion. I apologize that you had this experience, I hope that you will be open to returning to this hotel. These issues will be looked into, thank you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Cons: Showers a bit old
Location: Great restaurants & bars downtown
Great location & friendly family staff, close to decent local restaurants in downtown Bangor
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2016 by Danna - Asst. Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we value your opinion!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Cons: New Mattresses and how to lower heat
Good setting in downtown and friendly staff and clean room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Leeanne, Owner, Hotel Management
We agree! We just took this hotel over in September 2015. We are working on these items you have mentioned. Mattresses, Central A/C, New boiler and more. Be sure to ask for a room with a new mattress on your next stay. Thank you for your feedback. Safe Travels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Hotel needs major upgrades.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Avoid this hotel. When we first arrived a sign at the desk ask us to call Guest Services, we did & informed her we were checking in, she just hung up and arrived a few minutes later. The room was deplorable, curtains were falling off and torn, the floor was sloped and carpet was stained and burned. To top it off live music was in the bar 2 floors below that could be heard through the entire place. The breakfast was not very good. Terrible stay for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Our adventure.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Filthy
Cons: Renovations
Location: Plenty of bars around and but there is lots of construction.
We were accused of trying to "dine and dash" by the hotel manager. We were drinking wine and decided to leave so I went up to the bar and asked what I owed him. He told me $35 so I paid him $35 and left him a $10 tip and we were on our way. The next morning we were met by the hotel manager who was threatening to call the police because we did not pay our bar tab. I told him I did so he checked the receipts and saw that I did pay what I told him I paid but he still wanted another $50. We did not drink $85 worth of wine but felt the only way to diffuse the situation was to pay him the money. It was clear they have their handful with the place falling apart around them. It was filthy. We will not be staying there again anytime soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson AZ

Terrible conditions of the square around the hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: It is in the middle of the town, close to shops, restaurants and bars
Cons: Close it down until all roadwork is completed
Location: Many shops, restaurants and bars
The hotel is really a bare-bones accommodation. Not even a bottle of mineral water can be obtained. The access to it is EXTREMELY problematic, since VERY extensive roadwork goes on immediately around the hotel. In the space of about 10 minutes, while I was bringing the luggage from the car to the hotel (I had no alternative to where to park) l got a parking ticket. The hotel concierge says they will take care of it. Unbearable machinery noise goes on from about 6am to 6pm. NO sleeping after about 6am. Nowhere to stop the car and unload the luggage, due to roadwork. The parking lot is 3 blocks away, validated by the hotel, so at no cost, but quite un-practical. One has to walk through unpaved roads. I suggest Expedia takes this hotel out of the list until the radwork is completed, probably months from now.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Historic hotel near the waterfront.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere of old hotel added to the experience..
Cons: Water flow into sink was slow.
Location: Centrally located near waterfront, many pubs, casino, museums etc.
We stayed only one night after a family reunion, went back home the next day. enjoyed the old hotel, furnishings were old -fashioned, quiet between rooms. In the central square of town, so noisy pubs and cafes but did not bother too much. we would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick Canada

Central location at a reasonable rate.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Hotel is vintage but still has modern conveniences. Great central location with access to many interesting restaurants and attractions.