Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Shame about the coffee

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Clean , warm, good view
Cons: Availability of hospitality at weekends.
Location: Very picturesque setting with loads to see and do
We were on a visit to see our daughter. We had a five hour drive but couldn't check in until 3pm. We thought we might sit down in the warm and have a coffee or a drink until then. Unfortunately we were informed the coffee shop and bar are closed at weekends, but we could go into Bangor to the coffee shop there! This was made up by England beating Wales at rugby though. It was very comfortable, and clean and the staff were friendly but the late check in time and 11am check out time and no hospitality available at the weekend means we probably will choose somewhere else for our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

University residence close to the city centre

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, friendly staff and location.
Cons: A coupe of coat hooks in the rooms would be great. Somewhere comfortable to sit in the public area, perhaps replace the collapsed sofas in reception.
Stayed for three nights so I could go walking in Snowdonia while my wife was on a course at the University. Pros The accommodation is clean, well maintained and furnished to a similar standard as a Premier Inn. Friendly and helpful staff. A comfortable bar area and restaurant on site that served a good buffet breakfast. Parking on site and close to the city and University. The Pontio Centre at the University a short walk away has a good reasonably priced bar, food and entertainment. Cons The double rooms are very small for two people. There is a small wardrobe, desk and a chair with not much space to put bags/clothes if you are staying more than one night. This is university accommodation primarily for courses at the business centre, other guests are there to fill spare capacity and the University has first call on facilities. The bar is billed as for a business group and may be closed to guests for private events. The restaurant may be closed for events and coffee shop is not open weekends. If you don't need to be in the centre of Bangor you will probably find better facilities significantly cheaper just out of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and very convenient to the University

Posted Jan 21, 2017
The hotel was very convenient to the ELCOS University center. Staff were very nice and friendly. However, I booked two rooms for 8 days with a total of near to £1700 and agreed with the night shift manager that I would check out at 12 PM to sort out some personal matters. Nevertheless, the morning shift manager was rushing us to check out at 10 AM otherwise they would put extra charges!! Which was a bit disappointing after staying for that long and paying all that money, they couldn't wait for a couple of hours. Other than that, my experience was very positive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what you'd expect for price

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
It's clearly an old University accommodation, rooms are small though and the beds really hard although kept very clean. The place is a bit of a maze and restaurant and bar seem a mile away. Up a lift through a corridor down another lift and through some more doors etc etc. Restaurant, although food was ok felt like sitting in a school hall. I travel about a lot for work and don't think I'll stay here next time in Bangor but there isn't much around sadly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First and last

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
We had expectations of this hotel, but overall we were disappointed. I was queried at the reception as to my booking, which didn't get us to a good start. There were a number of flights of stairs to get to the room. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very uncomfortable and very hard. The views from our room were beautiful. Breakfast was average and it would help if staff were to smile occasionally. The car park has a slope down and back up. I don't feel we would stay here again. It wasn't value for money. The internet is poor and frustrating as you have to keep on logging in with your username and password.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
High standards of service throughout all parts of the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DG2

Comfortable and clean.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Very handy for main University buildings.
Cons: Access is not great (although there are lifts for disabled, etc). A bit of a labyrinth, but OK once you've worked it.
Location: University, cathedral, seaside, Snowdonia and Ynys Mon (Anglesey).
Good modern hotel of the 'Comfort Inn' variety in beautiful old building (1911) with great outlook. Good buffet breakfast included, and above average dining. Helpful and pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place to stay near Bangor University

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Large room (executive) with view over to Anglesey and large bed. The accommodation is in a slightly ramshackle former student residence I guess, with a warren of linked older buildings. Overall a comfortable stay however the room has a shower only but the bed was very large. Breakfast good. Only problem was that I arrived about 2 pm but was told could not check in until after 3 pm so had to hang around in the reception area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
The whole place is scrupulously clean. The room well sized and comfortable. The food in the 1884 restaurant is generously proportioned and good value. The place is however, a bit of a warren, and at £90 a night is a touch overpriced I feel.