Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VT, US

Look for a discount.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Wouldn't pay the walk-in price for a room, but got an excellent deal through Expedia so all is well. Had to wait for a few minutes at the desk before being attended to, but the staff I did speak with was friendly, so the reception breaks even. The room was all in order, but the carpet really needed a cleaning. It smelled like... dog? Had to knock points for that. Neighbor noise was an issue, but hard to come by a place where that's not an issue. Luckily we were 'dog' tired (Sorry). DIY waffles for breakfast wasn't expected, especially with someone staffed in the breakfast area hovering around explaining how to work the machines. Why not ask people who join the room if they would like one made, instead? Even some elderly folks who were frustrated at the notion of making their own were only shown the 'How To' sign rather than being offered a hand. Had to take a tick for that. No fruit available, either, which made me sad... but who really goes to a motel for breakfast? Great location. Can't see them lowering the prices, but that's the way the cookie crumbles. Good enough for a passerby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick

Girl Trip

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Was very close to Mardens, Walmart, Groceryand only about 6km from the Bangor Mall, Christmas Tree Shop, Kohls, Burlington Coat Factory!!!!
Stayed here from Oct 20 to the 22, 2016. Hotel room is dated but was clean. Has a fidge and micro wave which is nice a long counter and chairs, so if you wanted to made a small lunch you can. Had 2 double beds and bathroom. Basic but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by Mac -Assistant Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for spending time with us on your trip! We hope to be your "home away from home". Yes, we are a little dated, updates are shortly on the way and we hope you look forward to those updates as much as we do. I'm glad we met your needs and I encourage you to come visit us on your next trip in the area! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
It was a good place to stay for a night. It had a neat old timey feel. One hour drive to Acadia national park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Oct 16, 2016
3 tries to be given an open room despite a reservation. We actually entered two occupied rooms. On the upside we were upgraded to a "suite". The effort was appreciated. However, the foul smelling moldy refrigerator was very disappointing. The room itself was ok but would have been disappointing if we had paid specifically for a suite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Stay close to Acadia NP

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and staff in breakfast area.
Cons: Room and bathroom need a remodel!
Location: Fairly close to Acadia NP and Bar Harbor. Highway to these places very busy, at least an hour drive one way.
Very old fashioned motel. Bathroom small, no towel racks and little counter space. Shower area had mildew on grout. Great breakfast-waffles with blueberry syrup! Wonderful friendly staff in breakfast area! Front desk staff responsive to needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lake lure, nc

Get what you pay for

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Our room had not been cleaned at ckeck in. The room smelled of disfectant. The room looked dirty from age. I won't be staying again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay there again

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Photos of hotel rooms are not what you get very poorly done upgrades to the rooms. Walls are thin and so you hear sverything. Extremely over priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice option

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Good value.
Cons: The staff needs better cleaning equipment. The carpets were not very clean.
Location: The coast is awesome in this area and Arcadia National Park is not far away and a fairly easy drive. Many spectacular views even inland.
The area has a lot of hotels. Most quite spendy. Vacationland was a nice option in what can be a very busy and expensive area to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything needs updating.
Location: Not much.
View of dumpster. 50's era accomodations. Way overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

Close to Downtown Bangor Folk Festival

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Good value hotel. Loved the free breakfast featuring waffle with Maine Blueberry syrup. One thing I didn't like was the shower. It had a single knob with a red H to the Left, and a blue C to the right. The farther I turned the knob to the left, the colder the water got! When I turned it hard right, it got hotter and hotter. Best position for the knob was about one o'clock.