Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Overall a relaxing getaway hotel. We stayed at the North Maine woods suite and excited to go back and see a new suite. Plus they are currently doing work to improve the hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malvern, PA

Convenient location on major street

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: See "experience" above.
Location: about 1 mile straight east of downtown Bangor.
Check-in was very easy, but our room was in the 2nd building behind the main building. The room and hallway was almost 90 degrees (in mid-October), and the air conditioning didn't work very well (we had it on all night). TV was "Dish" with only about 5 of 500 stations we wanted to watch, and a few missing that we would have wanted. Breakfast was OK but w/o any fruit, fresh pastry or bagels. Staff was very nice and cordial even with complaining guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Noisy i outdated. Over priced

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Never again. Noisy overpriced hotel. There are lot better ones close by
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Security

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: room very hot and hallway no security
Cons: get security
Location: not that much
Did not like the idea no Security from 10-7 @ night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Extremely reasonable rate,clean & comfortable

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Staff was very polite and helpful with all info we needed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton NB

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice hotel but room could have been better there were big Water stains on the ceiling and never painted
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Staff was very accommodating

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The check out n was easy, the room had a strong odor of chlorine and the carpet needed shampooing. I found the bathroom basin faucet did not work. The walls carried the next rooms conversation right to my room. I was disappointed but the bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Great staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs updating.
The hotel needs some updating. Desk staff are great, Breakfast was grest. Location was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We were on a short trip to the Bangor area this Labor Day week end. We planned just one night but ended up booking another night because of the service. The room was clean, breakfast was awesome, the team at the desk (Cheyenne, Liz and Cheryl) was courteous. The breakfast crew's attention to detail and hospitality during busy mornings and was phenomenal. We will be back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inaccurately named "Vacationland"

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: We had a bed to sleep on
Cons: See my review -- a lot. This is a motel being run on the cheap. Exp
I am sure that the owners of this hotel are sincere about wanting to offer a pleasant experience for travelers, but they have fallen short in their efforts. This is a dated motel property that offers no amenities. I cannot figure out where we were supposed to get a $10 resort credit, supposedly promised according to Expedia. This is a motel that likely was built in the 1950s or 60s. There have been efforts to dress up the place, including placing some stuffed animals (done by taxidermists) near the lobby. But there is little else to distinguish this place from a Red Roof Inn, which given the high cost is regrettable. No elevator to the second floor, which would present problems for someone who is handicapped. An episode of "Hotel Impossible" was filmed here and they need to come back. Breakfast choices are extremely limited. They only offer hard-boiled eggs on weekends and once they go through two dozen eggs, they are no longer available ( I was told this personally). Otherwise, the only redeeming feature of the breakfast are the ready to make waffles. But guests who want other options than waffles, toast or cereal will find little to eat. It would be very easy for the owners to add to their breakfast offerings by visiting a Sam's Club. Faucet in room did not work. Low shower pressure. Cable TV offerings were pathetic. Religious channels. No ESPN, Fox News, MSNBC, HBO. Vagrants in the parking lot too. Did I say that they charge more than $100 a night?