Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk somerset

Good location, close to beach.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Excellent hotel location, lovely beach. Only complaint is food in hotel, menue average but they didnt have a lot of dishes available, so went hungry a few times, . Taxi's expensive to main strip to bars & resturants, which is annoying , as eating out is a must with food choices being poor in hotel. There is no free shuttle available, so taxi's are the only option
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing hotel and nice spa

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Stayed for 4 nights and had a very nice time. Would come again. African cabana style rooms and very roomy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic location right on the beautiful beach

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, layout of the accommodation and lovely suites.
Cons: I loved it all.
Location: If you want to experience the Gambian life, go to the markets. Try the Albert Market in Banjul and the Serrakunka market slightly nearer.
The Gambian people and staff at the hotel were one of the most friendliest I have ever known. The food (which I was worried about) was delicious and I loved the Gambian food but there was English in abundance. The accommodation (apartments) were located apart from each other so you had a lot of privacy, were spacious and cool if needed to be. The beach is long and very sandy for lovely walks. The spa treatments were very enjoyable and good value. Overall I just loved it all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Friendly staff, reasonable food, great location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. The security were good most the time but one male (security man) hassled us a bit and even got a bit demanding and asked for our iphone and money. The food was average, I wouldn't go full board as the restaurants in the area were amazing. Drinks are a bit pricy but beer is cheap enough. Staff in the bar, garden, cleaners, reception were really friendly. The hotel was full enough for me, I wouldn't want it busier. Rooms and grounds are clean. Location is fab, we didn't venture to the pool much and lounged outside our room right next to the sea. Info/tips: Everyone wants money! Get used to it. It's windy, I wish I'd taken another cardy for night time. A meal out will cost you £30-£40 for wine, starters, quality steak and an espresso. Go to 'the butchers shop' for dinner - excellent food Try scala restaurant also amazing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good quiet location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The breakfast choice and management is barely 3*. If you can find milk for tea or cutlery or someone clearing tables you will have to wait a long time. There are so many basic little things they dont think about doing well. There is no urgency or attention to detail. The hotel is a long way from anything so you have to rely on the limited offerings at the hotel for food and entertainment. The whole place seems like a half hearted effort throughout. However, the location is quiet and the views are great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ideal for business

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Check in and check out very slow and frustrating experience even for African hotels. Lifts worked sometimes to some floors Wi fi didn't work for first day then patchy and slow at best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the better standard hotels in Gambia

Posted Oct 17, 2012
Good quality hotel with all necessary faciliites for a good business stay. Wierdly there is no desk in the room whcih make working a little tricky but on the whole, a great hotel to stay if your on holiday or working! very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by oly from lagos

Experience At the Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: The swimming pool and the beach side
Cons: The Lunch Buffet
Location: The Sheraton is located at Serrekunda area. It is quiet and fun if you wish to jus swim and enjoy the sun.
The staff were pleasant but I guess overwhelmed by the number of guest they had. They need more hands.The lunch buffet was a sham but the breakfast buffet was okay. Room service takes forever so its better to go get things yourself at the reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Surrey, UK

Could do better

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: The location
Cons: Complacency
Location: Couldn't be better, great beach.
OK it's Africa, so you cannot really compare a European 5*. But, it was definately a 4*+. Most things were good but then they fall down huge cracks (some in the walls). Drainage water flooding the pathways was (not) dealt with as normal'ish. Not cleaning the room until evening seemed acceptable (or at least to Starwood Hotels, as I was informed), but how can you clean a room then leave it without towels? The only day they wanted to clean before evening was of course the day we were leaving. The location is great, the local staff are very friendly and willing, and it is probably the best Hotel in the area. Trouble is they were pretty much fully booked and with little competition the urge to improve evaporates. My partner had some shoes go missiing in the room which was really ignored. The non-local management are at best complacent, as I discovered in conversation with them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sulzbach

Ruhiges Hotel am Strand

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Die Strandlage, die offene und höfliche Art des Personals.
Cons: Bitte reinigen Sie auch jeden Morgen den Strand von den Überbleibsel anderer: Plastikstrohhalme, Essensreste etc. sind nicht nur unangenehm ...
Location: Das Hotel ist ausserhalb der Tourismuszone und man kann jederzeit Ausflüge bei den Agenturen buchen. In der Nähe gibt es nichts zu unternehmen.
Das Hotel entspricht Fünf-Sterne-Afrika. Es ist sauber, der Empfang herzlich. Das Personal zuvorkommend mit sehr guten Englischkenntnissen. Der Stil ist attraktiv und angenehm, bei Gehbehinderung aber anstrengend. Die Anlage ist sehr gepflegt, die Zimmer stets sauber und ordentlich. Das gesamte Personal stets gut gelaunt und hilfreich. Der Strand gross und sauber und sicher: An beiden Enden sind Securities. Auch das Essen ust sehr gut: international, aber leider wenig afrikanisch ... Auch hier wird Sauberkeit und Hygiene gross geschrieben.