Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Richard from Dallas

A Pleasant Place

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
My work in West Africa takes me to a variety of hotels, mostly of the "value" variety. Seaview Gardens is a good example and I have stayed there several times. Very friendly staff, adequate restaurant with other eating options close by, nice pool and a short walk to the beach and nightlife if that's your thing. Perhaps the thing I like best is the sense of security the place offers. There is a new section that I find rather sterile and an older section that has some style to it. As in most African hotels of this kind there are the usual small irritations with electricity, older furniture, AC that's a bit dodgy, but overall, a pleasant place. This trip the Wifi was fine, but the internet provider was experiencing problems, so what is usually reliable service was not. I expect they will get it fixed soon, but it is not really the hotel's fault. There are bigger and better hotels in the area but you will pay considerably more. This is a serviceable, friendly place and I like it.
3 out of 5
by Bukola from Ibadan

Refund of USD200 to me

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Tje stay is okay but i spent three nights and you need to refund two nights back to my accouts
2 out of 5
by Nigel from Watford UK

Nice pool - clean rooms - terrible breakfast!!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: the pool is nice, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly (mostly)
Cons: The breakfast - if I stayed here again, I would not do B&B - just bed
Location: The beach is reasonably close Its close to 'The Strip' so finding altenative breakfast isn't a problem
When we arrived the hotel staff seemed surprised to see us and I don't think they were expecting us, but then again I think there was a typical Gambian power cut when we got there, so their PC's weren't working. We were given room 18 which is on the top floor and a member of staff helped us with our luggage. The beds are comfy and the rooms are kept very clean and have air con (which needs regassing and so doesn't work that great - but the nights are cool anyway and air con isn't needed in March). The rooms have a safe and the price quoted in the room info are apparently last years prices and so they asked for extra money for the safe - which annoyed me slightly. When we took a shower the next day, the taps were broken and so they had to move us into room 17 (they said it would take a few hrs for a plumber to arrive). Room 17 didn't have hot water, but the cold water is warm anyway and so that didn't bother us. The swimming pool is fantastic, as long as they haven't poured a random amount of chlorine into the water, don't go in there when the water is green or cloudy!! We were told by expedia that it would be a continental breakfast. IT IS NOT!! It is a few slices of cheese, ham, banana, jam and bread rolls. Coffee, tea, milk and juices are available. You have to pay extra for bacon and sausages (don't bother - they look like burnt willys). The staff are very nice. The poolside bar is good. I met the owners brother, who at 7am was drunk and started a fight in front of me!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IndependentLady from UK

Friendly welcoming Hotel in a great location.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: It's atmosphere. The attitude of the staff and the more intimate nature of the hotel than the impersonal big chain hotels that are available.
Cons: There are power cuts, water pressure & maintenance issues. They get resolved so go with the flow and relax at the poolside bar while you wait :)
Location: Perfect location, beach at the bottom of the road, supermarket & money exchange opposite. Main strip 5 mins walk with lots of restaurants & bars
The Seaview Gardens is a small hotel with a big heart. It's a fun and friendly place to be where all the staff are super helpful. The beach is just round the corner and the main strip a few minutes stroll. Everything you need is on your doorstep and for me this was a perfect base to wander around exploring. It's a relaxed place and I felt very at home here as a solo female traveller.
3 out of 5
by Maria from Dublin

Satisfactory area

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was pleasant and clean, but the grounds and pool area is very small. The breakfast was nothing special, and slow to arrive.
3 out of 5
by Arturs from Latvia

not bad location

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels
Very bad breakfast. stuff was nice.
3 out of 5
by regular visitor from london

Too far from beach near to horribly busy road

Posted Feb 1, 2014
To get to the beach you have to either struggle with the bumstere and annoying taxi drivers or go the back way through rubble and rubbish and through somebody's little veg patch. You could not do this unless completely mobile. Worst breakfast experience EVER as they always run out of things such as cheese and even jam and we had to wait every day for coffee to be refilled. But lovely comfy bed and spotlessly clean room. Also friendly staff. Mainly Dutch guests
3 out of 5
by Oyeleye from lagos

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels
Its not a bad hotel for low budgeters
4 out of 5
by Elfadl E ali from Jeddah,Saudi Arabia

very suitable for medium class

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
happy and nice
4 out of 5
by Visitor from Nigeria from Nigeria

Nice experience in general

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was as expected (and slightly better than in some cases!.) Great proximity to amenities and the beach.Special commendation to Aliyu for the personal touch he gave towards making my wife and I feel special on our honeymoon-an asset to the hotel indeed and an overall nice guy!