Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matthews, NC

Nove

Posted Oct 16, 2017
A very nice stay at Taylor House Inn. The hosts could not have been nicer. Lots of special touches- comfortable robes, almond lotion & shampoo, large hanging magnifying mirror, extra towels, Good WiFi , lighted key for entrance, brownies in the evening & tea, hot chocolate anytim. They were nice to call for reservations for our dinner at Over Yonder & it was delicious! We had a delicious breakfast also. I highly recommend Taylor House Inn, if you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First stay at B&B

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Staff, quiet atmosphere, front porch swing and breakfast
Location: Hiking, shopping, dining and just simply enjoying the beauty of God's marvelous creation.
Friendly staff, excellent food and overall, a very enjoyable experience. We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and spending time on the front porch swing. Our stay was a nice escape from the every day rat race of life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful home with wonder staff

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We celebrated our anniversary and it was perfect. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, the food was great and the house was very nice and cozy. Sunday they surprised everyone with mimosas at breakfast, it was very nice. They were very knowledgeable about the area and great places to eat. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Marci

The Perfect Get Away

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful property in a perfect location. Comfortable, friendly, quiet with a delicious breakfast. The wine and cheese offering late afternoon was the perfect surprise! Make sure you go to breakfast hungry!!
5 out of 5
by Diane

A Surprising Discovery

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
The owners were gracious and charming and helpful. We were delighted to be upgraded on a cold winter night. We recommend this lovely B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Comfortable and Serene

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Its ambiance was perfect, a rambling old farmhouse arranged to impart a feeling of having arrived at home. Very comfortable, well-furnished room that
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: Valle Crucis is located between Boone and Banner Elk with all of the attractions of these towns and Blowing Rock very nearby.
This is a cozy and comfortable inn, beautifully located near the Mast General Store in Valle Crucis. We visited for an anniversary celebration and found our hosts to be friendly and accommodating, truly going the extra mile to make our stay a wonderful experience. The room was immaculate and the bathroom well-stocked with nice, thick towels. We had a corner room and the view of green meadows and mountains was lovely. Breakfast nearly defies description except to say it was delicious and very plentiful! We would stay there again and hope to do so!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Bed & Breakfast.

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
My daughter and I were told to hush by the female owner when we went downstairs for coffee on our first morning. We were talking normally (as in NOT loud). It was offensive and made us feel like unruly children. We whispered after that and wondered what other house rules we might b apt to b breaking without knowing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Fantastic Personal Service in a Warm and Cozy

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast service rivalled that of a hotel!
The Taylor House Inn made a spur of the moment trip become very memorial. I was a great location to stay. It was close to everything (within a short drive), but it was private enough so that you could really enjoy being out in the mountains. The room was very large and comfortable with a huge king size bed. The breakfast was served with such flair each morning is was almost like being at a fine restaurant. The entire house was still decorated for Christmas and each room had a special touch. It was just beautiful to look at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Expecting More

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The setting of this B and B is very lovely. There is a valley across the road which had deer running around in it every morning.
Cons: The condition of the room and the overall grounds need to be improved. Dead plants and rotten pumpkins were in the garden area and repairs are needed
Location: Boone and Banner Elk are not far, which was great for us. There is hiking, restaurants, shopping, and lovely things to do for a long weekend.
This B and B was very highly rated so we took a chance to stay there instead of a traditional hotel. For the price, we were expecting more in every way than what we received. The room had several issues. It was not as described on the web site, since we were right next to another room with a very thin wall and the room next door had a dog. Then the shower backed up and we were unable to use it for the entire first day. The heat was not set correctly, so the first night we were freezing only to be roasted out at 5:00 a.m. when a second heater came on. We could not control the heat as the settings were in the other room and we did not have access. The breakfast was mediocre and was not served until 9:00, which was not what was presented to us from Orbitz. That was really late for us as we wanted to get our and enjoy the area each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nc

2 night stay in cottage

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Hiking, local restaurants, billiards, gem 'mining'.
Peaceful, restful environment. Excellent innkeepers. Very clean and pretty room. Well prepared breakfasts. Spotty wifi in cottage.