Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent views

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Stayed here for a couple of days before heading off to a self catering apartment. Great views of Cape Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Marnie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review 52. We hope you enjoyed your stay both at 52 and at your following destination. Kind Regards, Marnie, Russell and The Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Like a stay at your rich uncle's house!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, and views.
Cons: Pool was too cold to swim in.
Location: Botanical gardens, waterfront, or just walk up the road one block past the hotel for an amazing view down the coastline or sunset!
This is a large house situated in Cape Town ocean side. The staff and owners are wonderful and the food was amazing! Rooms were modern and very clean. Will definitely stay here again if ever in Cape Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Marnie, Hotel Management
Thank you Rob for taking the time to review us at 52, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Cape Town and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Marnie Fennell General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Luxury Boutique hotel with personal touch

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Personalised service. You really felt catered to. Amazing views of the bay from room, and main areas.
Location: Four lovely beaches within reasonable walking distance and an easy ride into town. If you do the red tour bus one of the pick up points is close by.
Hotel is just above Bantry bay. About 15 minutes walk to the newest beach downhill but worth catching a cab back as the journey back up hill will take your breath away in another sense. From check in to check out loved the personal attention of the staff and owners. Very welcoming and always happy to help. Loved that it was a small hotel so not many guests around. The facilities were also lovely with amazing views of the bay from the hotel and infinity pool. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Marnie Fennell, Hotel Management
Kai, Thank you so much for your review, I completely agree, a taxi back from Sea Point is a must, it's a rather steep climb. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our slightly different approach, it really was our pleasure and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Marnie, Russell and the Team
5 out of 5
by Kristy from Houston Texas

Boutique luxury in Cape Town.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
52 De Wet was such a nice boutique hotel. You actually just felt like a house guest! The location is just slightly off the beaten path so safe and quiet. Easy location to get to and close to everything. My teenage daughter and I stayed there first after arriving from the USA and very impressed with everything. Cannot beat the views. Staff was very kind and helpful in every way. Nicer than the pictures!
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kristy, Thank you for your review, I hope that you will choose 52 when visiting again in the future. Kind Regards, The 52 Team
5 out of 5
by Erik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Cape Town Refuge at an Affordable Price

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing. Absolutely nothing. One tip - don't rent a car. Uber gets you everywhere in a jiffy and you don't have to navigate the narrow streets.
Location: The hotel is at a cul de sac on a hill just outside of the downtown area. Between the waterfront and Table Mountain cable car. Sea Point and Camps Bay
It was a fabulous stay. If I could give it 6 stars, I would. Russel and Marnie are wonderful hosts. The property is set on a hill overlooking the ocean - the most beautiful view I've had at a hotel and the rooms are so comfortable, you don't want to leave. Everyone at 52 de Wet does everything to make your stay in Cape Town memorable. From the breakfasts to the wonderful dinners and wine paring by Russell. It's such a unique place - a refuge just a few minutes from downtown by car, Uber or taxi. We also love David the lazy cat. Stay here. You'd be crazy not to given the affordable price and luxury.
Comment from Hotel Management
by marnie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, The 52 Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Annette from London, UK

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed one night at 52 DeWet. We very much enjoyed the warm welcome and hospitality of all staff. It feels rather like coming to good friends than a guesthouse. The view from the room over the Atlantic is stunning, breakfast fresh and delicious, room spacious with large private balcony. Would love to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016
and we would love to have you, thank you for choosing 52 De Wet for your stay in Cape Town. We hope to welcome you again soon, Kind Regards, The 52 Team
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Hongkong

Quiet boutique hotel in great surroundings

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Unmatched view away from the centre. Some stairs as it is on the hillside.
3 out of 5
by JB from Johannesburg

Very far from 5 star

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room was full of mosquitos which meant no sleep. I was eaten alive. When I complained I was told welcome to Africa. The make it sound like Bantry bay but it is about an hours walk to the beach. I will never stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2016
I was saddened to hear you did not sleep and had issues with mosquitos. When you mentioned this to me I said nothing of the sort, I apologised and sprayed the room and brought a plug in to assure that you were not disturbed on your second night. It isn't a problem we normally deal with and I'm really sorry that it ruined your entire stay. Unfortunately the name of the area Bantry Bay is not our choice, there is a beach 10minutes walk from 52, down in Sea Point and we are 45minutes walk from Clifton Beach (which would be my choice out of the two)