Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England.

Nice hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff. Excellent choice in breakfast and time frame to dine.
Cons: Again I was in a budget room, and that would be my only 'not nice' thing to say about my stay. Beds could've been more comfortable.
Location: Close to most of the beaches, one bus to the city centre and two buses to Table mountain. There are plenty of shops close by and grocers too.
Hotel is situated not far from beach and well linked to public transport. Staff were extremely friendly and even informed me about hot breakfast when they realised I wasn't having any as I didn't know there was the option to order a complimentary hot breakfast too. Breakfast itself was excellent and served til 11am which is good for late risers. I was in a budget room so I can't complain about its size but I would say it's very good value for money. Shared bathroom (for the budget room) were clean and tidy at all times so kudos on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Jaun, Hotel Management
Dear Abu, Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards Jaun du Preez GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but be careful about untrustworthy billing!

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, decent rooms and nice building. Friendly staff but the gripe was with the really poor mismanagement. Overcharged by an extra 50% upon arrival, had to wait for refund for that. Then had another huge discrepancy upon payment for the rooms bill for the week, charged for 2 loads of laundry which should have been 1 (4/5 T-shirts) and then charged for the wrong wine (red instead of white) that was not even on the menu and R220 per BOTTLE. Upon the stay I had to received 2 refunds for overcharging and was then asked if I would like to give a "Christmas Tip" for the workers upon leaving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller Thank you for your review. Allow me to comment on what you reviewed us on- There was a communication error on our behhalf regarding your final payment on checkin, we do apologise for that. Luckily we refunded you straight away when the mistake was discovered. As the staff explained to you, laundry service is offered on request, and we charge per load. This was clearly explained to you on checkin which you agreed on. We gave you the wine for free, after you could not remembered that you had so many bottles of wine. The price of all our wine is listed on our bar menu, which was presented to you everytime you ordered wine. We strive to give all our guests the best possible service, and we will continue doing that. Regards Jaun du Preez General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

A short drive to all the main attractions

Posted Nov 19, 2017
An easy drive to some lovely beaches as well at the centre of town and table top mountain. The rooms are quite basic and call me old fashioned but I do like a door on my bathroom! The pool and garden were quite pleasant although next to a busy road. The breakfast was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Jaun GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! We looking forward to your next visit! Regards Grande Kloof team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the 5 stars! Hope to see you again in the future! Regards Grande Kloof Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maputo, Mozambique

Great location, friendly and welcoming

Posted Sep 24, 2017
The staff went out of their way to hlep us -whether a flat tire, clothes needing washing, tourisr information etc. We were well taken care of.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by jaun, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed your stay and that we can welcome you back in the future! Regards Grande Kloof Team Cape Town
5 out of 5
by Masilo Victor

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, awesome service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed your stay and that we can welcome you back in the future! Regards Grande Kloof Team Cape Town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the review! Hope to see you again in the future! Grande Kloof Team
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Good stay at Grande Kloof

Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
The tram upgraded our room and we extremely attentive. Went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Dear Ryan Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate it alot and hope you welcome you back at Grande Kloof soon. Kind Regards Jaun du Preez General Manager
4 out of 5
by Marie-Jose P

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff and a great central location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Dear Marie-Jose P Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate it alot and hope you welcome you back at Grande Kloof soon. Kind Regards Jaun du Preez General Manager
5 out of 5
by Gerard

Good adress

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Tendayi Muchena, Hotel Management
Dear Garard, Thank you for the review! Hope to see you again in the future! Regards Jaun du Preez General Manager