Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London,UK

Convenient quality hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Very good hotel, well positioned. Good breakfast. Nice pool area. Helpful staff.
Cons: Minor problems in room - some bedside lights not working.
Location: Very convenient. Near sea-front.
Spent great 4 days in Cape Town. Recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

President Hotel Jan. 18

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Good beds. Food was very good as indeed were the prices. Breakfast menu has been thought through very cleverly. Dinner quality & presentation = 5*
Cons: Security door leading to bedroom corridors very temperamental with the card keys working very irregularly. They need to get this fixed.
Location: 5 minutes from the promenade, great for after-dinner walks. The bustling Regents Road is also 5 minutes away with coffee shops & restaurants.
Quiet hotel close to shops and sea but disappointed with the lack of sandy beaches. Reception staff were efficient but could do with smiling a little. Swimming pool area too small so packed out with beds. Pool well maintained and clean throughout our stay. Waiters chatty but very busy so not always prompt to take an order. Rooms were too small for the price paid. Two of us in our bathroom was a ve tight squeeze. .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Terrible. ZERO customer service. Management think they are wonderful and are always right. Hotel is old and tired. The gym is in some whole in the wall with no working aircon. DO NOT STAY THERE.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
The overall of our stay at President Hotels was good. Would've been excellent however there were a few issues. Firstly at check in, I learn that we have to pay for parking which quite ridiculous as you show up to check in and you are told you need to pay even more and I booked a sea facing room which already is a bit pricey. The room we originally been put in had problems with the bathroom, extractor fan did not work and toilet did flush properly. The tv's in both lounge and room were not working properly. However due to a wonderful guest relations coordinator Yasmin the duration of our stay was comfortable as she moved us to a refurbished room which was still sea facing. Hats off to her for her excellent service!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Good

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Good and close to beach. Room floors need to be mopped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Very lovely hotel close to the beach and Waterfron

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe do buffet for dinners
Location: Nearby restaurants, beach, malls
I had an Amazing experience staying in this hotel loved everything about it. Lovely and professional staff, very good service, comfortable bed and room. Pool area excellent, loved everything about it Wifi very good. Will definitely recommend it to anyone and would consider staying there in future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Such a wonderful experience and pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating! Beautiful property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Very nice. We always stay there. Amazing breakfast

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Amazing and very comfortable. Best breakfast ever.
4 out of 5
by simone

great hotel and vibe

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
great hotel and vibe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible customer service!

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
I had great expectations for the President hotel as I had stayed there within weeks of it opening in the 90s. Boy was I wrong. We arrived and somehow the hotel had a system glitch and the room book was "unavailable" despite a booking 3 months in advance. We booked a double sea view room (I had even called to confirm the room a couple of days in advance and all looked good). When we arrived we were given a twin mountain view room which was TINY. Our luggage barely fit. We were told by the front desk manager Kassiem that we should check back the next day for our originally booked room type and that we would recieve a discount for the 2 nights. A day goes by and no room available. Finally on the second day we were moved to our booked room type helped by Thomas (who actually was very helpful). The breakfast was good but service lacking as it took 20+ minutes to get some coffee....Upon checkout the front desk associate had no record of any discount we were supposed to get and back and forth emails from Kassiem have not resulted in any successful discount despite him saying its been processed and confirmed with Expedia/Hotels.com. How on earth can you run a business and not have the ability to provide a discount/refund?! It is absurd and its been 2 weeks now. I'm starting to think it was a farce to calm us when our room wasn't available. Will not be back!