Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE HARBOR MAINE

Beautiful views

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Secluded but with beautiful views of the NE Harbor Needs some updating but had lots of character and staff is very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Old inn that needs some updating

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The location is wonderful. It is located right outside the park on the harbor. It is also a quiet area, except for the road traffic.
Cons: The decor needs updating. The front staff's attitudes need changed.
Location: Near Acadia National Park, carriage roads, hiking and Bar Harbor.
Lovely location and I am sure an impressive inn in its day. However, it needs some updating. The wallpaper is peeling in places, there is no sound proofing and the rooms lack lighting and side tables. The staff were rude and dismissive, maybe because it was the end of the season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Charming hotel in the Bar Harbor area

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Dining was wonderful.
Cons: Bartender was not very accommodating and acted like we were an annoyance.
Location: Acadia National Park is a must do!
We stayed at Asticou while on vacation. It is an old inn and has some charms such as the fireplace and library room in the main house. Our room was in a separate location and was very comfortable except for the loud neighbors we had (very poor sound insulation). The best part about staying at Asticou was the excellent dining - we ate dinner both nights during our stay and really enjoyed the lobster rolls, mussels, chowder, popovers and wine list. Servers were kind and helpful - two of them recommended hiking trails and were very personable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Charming old hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
This is our second time staying in this hotel. Once again we had a very nice stay. The hotel is beautiful and has a fantastic location and a lovely view. The breakfasts are wonderful and we also had a nice dinner there. That said, we were very disappointed to be assigned to a room in a house across the street rather than in the main hotel. We were able to negotiate with the management to shorten our stay by two nights and obtain a room on the top floor facing the street. The room was fine, except there was a lot of noise in the morning as the room faced the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Lovely view. Beautiful inside. Good restaurant. Excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2014
We only got to stay one night but it was very nice. The building dates back to 1883 but has been kept in great shape or renovated to still be in excellent condition. We visited in October but in the summer it looks like there are tennis courts and a swimming pool as well as an azalea garden within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint & Charming Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: It is located in Northeast Harbor which is less busy vs. Bar Harbor (much more touristy).
Location: Arcadia National Park (via the Stanley Brook Entrance) is nearby & is fantastic. Would recommend to head to Bar Harbor for food & shops.
The hotel is actually comprised of several properties/ buildings. We did not stay at the main building (where the lobby is located at). The room was cozy but the decoration and overall condition of the building probably require some repairs/ improvements. It was also very warm (cannot adjust temperature), we kept the window open & had to use a portable fan which was available in the closet in room. However, it was comfortable and we had a nice view of the bay & hotel property from the balcony. Our room had a TV but internet connection was not the best. I really liked the location in Northeast Harbor. It does not have as many tourists which I found refreshing. However, if having restaurants, bars and shops nearby is important, stay at Bar Harbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Al from Greater Philadelphia Area

Nice Cosy place. Has Harbor View if you are lucky.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Shower gels, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion.
Cons: Doesn't have a TV. But I don't really care about that, as long as the wi-fi works.
Location: It's close to northeast harbor, which is a very nice recreational area: golfing, sailing, maybe fishing? And it is about 20min drive to Acadia.
I was transferred to this hotel by Expedia. It turned out pretty nice, nicer than I expected. I love its shower supplies, very classy shampoo and lotion. The only bad experience was a moth got in the room and I hate those things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Mark, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are happy you were pleased with your stay and the amenities. And I whole heartily agree with you on the moth!! Sorry for any inconvenience. Please come see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Pleasanton, Ca

Quiant hotel at a beautiful location

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Quaint is the best word to describe this Inn. It's old fashion and feels and looks more like a bed and breakfast. Nice location to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, and there's a nice garden across the street. Nice view of harbor from the patio and dining room. The food was good, but pricey. Our room was very quaint and resembled a bedroom in someone's house. The only thing I'd wish the room had was a TV, especially since there was a wedding that night and the bar and lounging room was being occupied. I reccomend this place for a couple rather than a family with children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Cons: Our room was not ready upon arrival
Overall good experience. Wish we would've tried the restaurant. Heard it was great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. Please do visit again. You heard correct: the dining room is excellent!