Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible view from our 2nd floor room and restaurant. Delicious food. Unfortunately no TV in the room:-(. The inn didn't have our reservation thru hotels. Com so we had quite a delay during checkin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Attentive staff & service; great location overlooking NE Harbor and Sound
5 out of 5
by Karen from California

Charming Inn

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
This is a 130 year old inn, so it doesn't have all of the modern conveniences of today's hotels, but it has its own charm. The location and the view overlooking the bay is beyond words. There is a lovely library/sitting room where we would sit by the fire every night and read. They would serve coffee, tea and hot chocolate. They have a beautiful deck overlooking a sweeping lawn and the bay where you can have your meals. The place was full of charm and the staff was wonderful!
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey from London

Friendly Hotel, but small bedroom and little else

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed as part of a trip to Maine. Wanted to stay in Bar Harbour, but booked too late. The hotel was OK with friendly and helpful staff but there was little else in neighbourhood and the restaurant at the hotel was uninteresting. The bedroom we had was small and not that comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Old inn that needs some updating

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The location is wonderful. It is located right outside the park on the harbor. It is also a quiet area, except for the road traffic.
Cons: The decor needs updating. The front staff's attitudes need changed.
Location: Near Acadia National Park, carriage roads, hiking and Bar Harbor.
Lovely location and I am sure an impressive inn in its day. However, it needs some updating. The wallpaper is peeling in places, there is no sound proofing and the rooms lack lighting and side tables. The staff were rude and dismissive, maybe because it was the end of the season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Charming hotel in the Bar Harbor area

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Dining was wonderful.
Cons: Bartender was not very accommodating and acted like we were an annoyance.
Location: Acadia National Park is a must do!
We stayed at Asticou while on vacation. It is an old inn and has some charms such as the fireplace and library room in the main house. Our room was in a separate location and was very comfortable except for the loud neighbors we had (very poor sound insulation). The best part about staying at Asticou was the excellent dining - we ate dinner both nights during our stay and really enjoyed the lobster rolls, mussels, chowder, popovers and wine list. Servers were kind and helpful - two of them recommended hiking trails and were very personable.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from New Jersey

Acadia Maine

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great area to stay in. Close to a lot of activities. Food at the hotel is really good. Only complaints is lack of television in the room and the walls and floors are "paper thin." You can hear everyone. Staff were incredibly helpful and nice, especially the front desk. The views from the dining area are amazing. If you can live without a TV in the room, I recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
by John

A lovely old inn with a picture perfect location

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much- this is just the sort of place we like very much! We had a water view room looking out over the lawn and garden, and beyond that, the harbor. Lucky us - we had perfect weather! It's an old building- so some funkiness is to be expected. There is a service elevator for luggage only and the guest rooms are on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th floors. The bathroom was quite small and was a tub/shower. The big porch is mostly used for the outdoor seating for the restaurant. We had breakfast there one morning and then came back on another day for the afternoon tea with the much talked about popovers. I have to admit the popovers were very good! We also had a wonderful waiter, Jon. We had only planned on being in the area for a short visit but Acadia was so wonderful and we had such a great place to stay, we extended our stay by an extra day! First time we ever did that!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Charming old hotel in a great location.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
This is our second time staying in this hotel. Once again we had a very nice stay. The hotel is beautiful and has a fantastic location and a lovely view. The breakfasts are wonderful and we also had a nice dinner there. That said, we were very disappointed to be assigned to a room in a house across the street rather than in the main hotel. We were able to negotiate with the management to shorten our stay by two nights and obtain a room on the top floor facing the street. The room was fine, except there was a lot of noise in the morning as the room faced the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
The Asticou Inn is an old gem of Northeast Harbor. The rooms are mostly quite lovely, although they are a little tired (wall paper could use some re-doing, for example). We unfortunately wound up in their smallest room and it was a little cramped for two, but this was not the norm from what we could see. Some of the rooms we saw were lovely. Jordon Pond food service has recently taken over the food and it was just great. Nice attentive food service from pleasant young summer workers. Views are sensation, probably some of the best on the island. Gardens lovely. Really can't beat the spot. I think my review would be more positive if the front desk receptionist wasn't so surly. He was a bit rude, unhelpful, and when a friend dropped in to visit, dismissed her (somewhat rudely) saying there was no such couple staying (and she tried both of our names, married and single). Really too bad as his attitude really made a dent in what would have otherwise been an ideal spot. It's still one of the very best inns on the island, so don't let this deter you.