Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Beautiful views of the harbor, and what a bonus to have the free shuttle running to central bar harbor (and back to the hotel) every half hour. No need to worry about a parking place in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Good place to stay in Bar Harbor

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Bar Harbor is a great place to visit. Breakfast room service needs to be reevaluated and improved.
Location: Everything anyone would want to do is close by. Island buses go pretty much anywhere and given the difficult parking conditions, buses are way to go.
I would stay again here. Air conditioning was weak but many more pluses than issues. Next time I would try to use the free island bus shuttle for most travel. Difficult to find parking spots downtown. Hotel breakfast isn't worth fighting the mob. Second floor Oceanfront room with private balcony is good choice here, first floor not so much due to public walking traffic. Lots of highway construction was taking place. Would have appreciated an email from hotel in advance of stay, along with a map of any alternate routes to assist my travel. Obviously they knew about the roadwork but didn't say anything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass.

Our room opened to the ocean which was nice

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The ocean view and its proximity with downtown. It was also very quiet. The grounds were great.
Cons: The room we were in needs refurbishing and another couple we met were also disappointed in the condition of the Atlantic view rooms.
Location: Very close to downtown Bar Harbor. One mile. The town was great and worth all the time we spent there. Restaurants were great and people friendly.
I was disappointed. The wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off at the bottom near the tub looked not at all like the expensive place it was. The bed skirts were at different levels on the two beds one about only 6 inches and the other to the floor. This made the room look sloppy and for the price paid I was looking for perfection. The Associates at the front desk were snotty, uppity, very nervous and defensive. Had dinner and wanted no potatoes as I am a diabetic and was told I would get extra vegetables and no potatoes. I was served 3 stalks of asparagus and a large portion of cold mashed garlic potatoes. They ran out of bread which for me was fine as I should not eat it anyway. The wait staff was courteous and pleasant a welcome change from the check in staff. I am glad we were only locked in for two nights as I was very disappointed. It was grossly over priced. The view from our room was beautiful but the room no better that a 2 star motel. Restaurant needs someone in charge. The buffet breakfast was a joke, set up with everything in the middle and customers all around the middle not allowing others to go by as they were waiting for toast to be done The food was fine but a terrible set up. You need to get someone knowledgeable to reset it.The flow was terrible. I was so disappointed in the experience there and was so looking forward to the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg VA.

Beautiful ocean view.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location, view and breakfast.
Cons: Bed could be more comfortable.
Location: Easy access to Arcadia national Park and Bar Harbor with it' shops and reasruants.
The hotel delivered all that was promised. Great view from a nice room. Superb breakfast each day with wonderful blueberry muffins. Convenient location to Bar Harbor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, it is much appreciated and we hope to have you stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Arizona

Beautiful hotel with Superior staff and service!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Fabulous views! Terrific amenities. Great room, with excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel just outside of bustling Bay Harbor

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Nice location, just outside Bay Harbor. Accommodations were pleasant, the staff was very helpful and pleasant. Morning complimentary breakfast was above average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear your stay here was enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was almost perfect to me.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Everything was almost perfect to me. Strongly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
So happy to hear of your great stay here. Thank you for your review, we here at Atlantic Oceanside appreciate it, and hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful view, filthy bathroom

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The view and location were great.
Cons: The bathroom needs to be cleaned and updated. The room needs a good, thorough cleaning.
Location: Location was close to Bar Harbor and Acadia. Great hiking, biking, sailing, sightseeing, shopping, and dining. Free shuttle was great.
The view off our porch was beautiful! Getting our luggage to the room was difficult with several stairs to navigate. We appreciated the large room, but the bathroom was gross. The floor was filthy, the commode and tub/shower were old. Cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling in the bedroom. My slipper slid under the bed and was covered with dust/dirt when I pulled it out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
So sorry to hear of your experience here at the Atlantic Oceanside. If there's anything we can do to make your stay here next time a better one, please don't hesitate to call us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downingtown PA

Great view

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Beautiful view of the ocean right from our room. Convenient and discounted boat tours right from the hotel. Very close to Bar Harbor. Room was clean, great shower and nice granite tops in the bathroom. WIFI connection not the greatest for your phone, no issues for my laptop. Breakfast included in the price was good. Air conditioning unit was a little loud and temperature setting a little confusing. Beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Overall would rate as a 4.5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudson Valley, NY

Very Nice Hotel, but Avoid the Restaurant

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The view was the best.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: Loved hiking in Acadia National Park. Enjoyed kayaking in Frenchman's Bay. Sailing and nature boat cruises were cool too. Also enjoyed shopping.
Loved the hotel. Great space in the room. Very comfortable bed. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub. Lovely grounds and beautiful view. Made the mistake of going to the restaurant the first night just because it seemed easy. Food was mediocre at best, waiter did not get order correct, and the pork chop one us ordered was extremely dried out. Take the bus into Bar Harbor and have a choice of much better dining.