Ratings based on 1,105 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Washington, NY

Great location in Bar Harbor

Posted May 16, 2017
Perfect place to stay when visiting Acadia National Park. Less than 5 mins to the park as well as to the downtown waterfront/restaurants. Rooms are clean with nice balconies overlooking the water. Friendly and professional staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff was courteous and room was clean. Located close to all activities on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Very clean,nice staff, great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Had a small issue at the restaurant (45 minutes for lobster with only 4 people in the restaurant) waiter gave us 50% off the bill. Very classy staff. Location was awesome and the view amazing..CLEAN ROOMS!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Lovely view of the ocean. I enjoyed the extra service of holding my bags when my flight was later in the afternoon. The staff were really nice. It's close to the town 10-15 mins walk so its very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - close to Acadia National Park

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Location: Our main goal was to visit Acadia National Park. The hotel was conveniently located to the park.
This was a nice hotel, and it was close to Acadia Park. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Nice hotel, terrible customer experience

Posted Mar 30, 2017
We stayed here for three nights in the big family room. Our daughter was tutoring COA. On the last day we asked for late check-out and offered to pay extra. We were first told by the front desk receptionist that no extended check-out was possible even though the hotel is almost entirely empty. She said, "Things are different here." After we packed up, I saw the the manager and he said we could have check-out up until 1:00 AM, after which we would have to pay for a full night. When our daughter goes to COA for the next four years we will make a lot of visits to Bar Harbor but will stay at other places. Really, an empty hotel can't find a way to offer extended check-out times for a fair price?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: Quite a bit of small detail repairs need to be maid. Missing moldings, paints shipped, etc. Definitely an aging place but it has character.
Great view. One of the only places with rooms available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

nice hotel, great location for many activities

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great food.
Location: We skied and snowshoed in the park and surrounding trails. Beautiful location.
We utilized many of the amenities, hot tub, pool, dining room and continental breakfast. All were met with great satisfaction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean hotel right on the water

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: It was easy to find, well situated to the town and right on the water.
Pretty, hotel on the water, 2 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor with its many cute shops, good restaurants and fun activities. Room: Nice sized with actual queen-sized beds (not those awful double beds). Very comfortable mattresses. The room was heated perfectly, so no waking up in the middle of the night shivering. The furnishings were attractive. The bathroom was clean, but rather small. My suggestion is to place a weather mat there by the door. We were there in February and tracked snow into the room, so that area by the door was wet and messy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We asked for towels for the floor inside the door and a roll-away bed and they were brought to us immediately. The balcony looked out on a beautiful view of the bay. The hotel has more amenities than expected - nice restaurant, great indoor pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine

Snowstorm Stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Beautiful view from my first floor room in the main building, staff was friendly and very accommodating. We arrived during a snow storm and the staff let us check in two hours with no problem! Later on during my first day there I went into the lobby to inquire about the pool where they had fresh baked warm cookies waiting for me! Overall such a beautiful hotel!