Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic getaway

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Service was great from the housekeeper to great breakfast every morning. Front Desk “Billie” will make your day with her energy and knowledge of the area. Have great recommendations for places to eat and was very welcoming. Will definitely be returning soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Nice October outing

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Very quaint. Nice rooms.
Cons: Kleenex would be nice.
Location: Right downtown, so an easy walk to almost anywhere.
Room was lovely, though we were surprised by the complete absence of facial tissues anywhere. Apparently, we're supposed to use toilet paper for that. Other than that, everything was very well done and we'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great B&B in the heart of Bar Harbor

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, hot and varied breakfast, quietness, quaintness, fireplace
Cons: Bedding (in our room) could use some updating. Wifi-Internet was off/on and slow, but we shouldn't care much about internet while on vacation :)
Location: Acadia National Park is moments away by car. Downtown Bar Harbor in walking distance. Lots of nearby villages on Mount Desert Island.
My wife and I were looking for a cute & cozy B&B in Bar Harbor to spend a few days while touring the area, and found Castlemaine via Expedia - it was a great place to start and end long days and soak in a big tub after hikes in Acadia National Park. The staff is very accommodating and the hot breakfast provided the fuel needed for the morning/afternoon. While very close to the action of the town (all walkable), it's located on a quiet street and our room was very quiet at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Quaint bed and breakfast

Posted Oct 27, 2017
The person at the front desk was very friendly and helpful, suggesting restaurants and showing us on the map where to do, also offered to help with suitcases. The room was spacious and yet felt very cozy. This was our first time to Bar Harbor and we loved the feel of the hotel and the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuba, IL

Pleasant stay in Bar Harbor ME

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: It was conveniently located to the center of town. We were able to walk to town foe dinner and shopping. Breakfast were great and our room was lovely
Cons: I needed to know that the room I had rented was on the third floor of the inn .
Location: Shopping and dining were within walking distance. Arcadia National park was just a short drive away. Plenty of tours were available.
We spent four nights in Bar Harbor. We walked the shore trail downtown, enjoyed. several trips through Acadia National Park with stops at Cadilac Mtn., the Wild Flower garden, and Thunder Hole. Also explored Southwest Harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

perfect spot

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet. Nice rooms. Parlor had games, cards, plenty of reading material. Walking distance to great restaurants.
Location: Quiet street off the main road. Short distance to the park and to shops and restaurants.
Great place to stay off the main road - quiet. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfasts. Close to Acadia Nat'l Park and walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
I love every little detail at this place, feels more like home than a hotel. Walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire, UK

Perfect for visiting Bar Harbor

Posted Oct 11, 2017
This Inn was perfect for our visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Garden Room with a little patio, it was very nicely decorated and quaint. It was a lot larger than I was expecting. The breakfast was delicious and they give you a choice of two options. Parking is a bit awkward but every room has a parking space but it’s about right. It was only a 10 minute walk to restaurants. I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
We loved our room the staff was extremely friendly the breakfast that they provided was delicious and we love the location of that inn We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to see very close to shopping and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingsport, TN

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice stay. Would like to have better bed linens & newer pillows