Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We stayed at Harborside Marina Hotel for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious for 2 adults abd 2 children. Very clean and located in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walking distance from the shops and restaurants. Beautiful views of the ocean and wonderful amenities including the club.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel and Very Dirty

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Housekeeping and cleanliness of Room
Location: Great Location. Close to shops and restaurants.
Upon our arrival we were very excited by the location and exterior view of this hotel. Unfortunately, we quickly found out that the hotel's housekeeping leaves much to be desired. When we entered our room we found a huge pile of dirty linens on the floor. The housekeepers argued whose fault it was. We were switched to a new room that had dust caked on the furniture so thick that you could write your name in it, and I did! We alerted the hotel manager and it was cleaned within a reasonable time. Later that evening after taking a shower we found someone's hair all over the bathroom floor. Needless to say the hair color did not match either myself or my wife. We alerted management, but it was only partially cleaned up requiring us to ask again. It was clear throughout the trip that that the managers were trying to rectify the problem, but the staff was not up to the challenge. Management sent us a chocolate plate as an apology. Unfortunately, the gift was delivered while the Do No Disturb sign was on the door and my wife was on the shower. This too was brought to management's attention. I will say that management did their best to compensate us monetarily for the poor service, but in a upscale Bar Harbor Hotel this comedy of errors was unacceptable. We hope to visit Bar Harbor again, just not at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel right on the Harbor

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Very nice and clean
Location: Awesome location right on the water.
My wife and I loved this place. It is very convenient to everything downtown and they even have a very nice restaurant on premise. I would highly recommend staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel, no plumber.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Be ready to unclog the toilet yourself if it clogs. You call the reception. They take the plunger to your room and hand it to you in a clear plastic bag. Then when finished you call them so they can pick it up. Ridiculous!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
The only thing I liked about the hotel was the location. I would never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing, staff was great and very accommodating. The location was great and the price was too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Bar Harbour during govt shut down

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The positiobn just by the harbour and the facilities incluing the adjacent spa and fitness centre
Cons: An indoor pool would be good
We were so pleased with this hotel we stayed an extra day. The place was lovely and the staff very helpful. they even loaned us a wheel chair when my wife needed one for our trip to the National Park - which was closed but maybe even better because there were no cars on the road so hikers and cyclists roamed, unafraid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerstin from Bar Harbor

Great after bad experience in other hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Had bad experience in first hotel (terrible room for too much money). Booked this hotel last minute and -finally everything perfect!!!
3 out of 5
by Pat from Portland Maine

Are your standards slipping?

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Seemed a bit shabby, probably after a busy summer. A first rate bell person Fabian who very happily gave us many good tips. Initially excellent customer service in changing our room to one further from the parking lot. But terrible customer service handling our complaint about the resort fee. We never agreed to such a fee and no where in our documents was it mentioned. Did not use pool, spa, or exercise room. We wanted it struck or to see a manager. Neither happened. Would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel right on the water.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: No. ,.... Our stay was great.
Beautiful facility on the water. The people were nice, the rooms great...our room faced the parking area but we had a nice view of the water too. It is a fantastic location, the food great and our weather was sunny and warm.