Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Bar Harbour during govt shut down

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The positiobn just by the harbour and the facilities incluing the adjacent spa and fitness centre
Cons: An indoor pool would be good
We were so pleased with this hotel we stayed an extra day. The place was lovely and the staff very helpful. they even loaned us a wheel chair when my wife needed one for our trip to the National Park - which was closed but maybe even better because there were no cars on the road so hikers and cyclists roamed, unafraid.
5 out of 5
by Kerstin from Bar Harbor

Great after bad experience in other hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Had bad experience in first hotel (terrible room for too much money). Booked this hotel last minute and -finally everything perfect!!!
3 out of 5
by Pat from Portland Maine

Are your standards slipping?

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Seemed a bit shabby, probably after a busy summer. A first rate bell person Fabian who very happily gave us many good tips. Initially excellent customer service in changing our room to one further from the parking lot. But terrible customer service handling our complaint about the resort fee. We never agreed to such a fee and no where in our documents was it mentioned. Did not use pool, spa, or exercise room. We wanted it struck or to see a manager. Neither happened. Would not return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel right on the water.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: No. ,.... Our stay was great.
Beautiful facility on the water. The people were nice, the rooms great...our room faced the parking area but we had a nice view of the water too. It is a fantastic location, the food great and our weather was sunny and warm.
4 out of 5
by Sally from New York

Outstanding location, good with kids

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: Location and amenities were great.
Cons: The staff was not as welcoming and friendly as I expected having stayed at other hotels in the chain (Sagamore staff is unbeatable)
Location: Great restaurants (kid friendly and good food) are steps within a block. Water views and access to water activities (also steps away) were amazing.
We enjoyed our stay at Harborside and we would go back. The location is excellent-you can walk to everything in town-you are literally steps from some of the most excellent restaurants. The concierge helped us figure out the day trips we took in Acadia and how it was best to get there (car or bus). The two pool options are excellent and both are welcoming to kids. The rooms are nothing special, but comfortable. Free guest laundry was a major plus.
4 out of 5
by WanderingJude from Atlanta, GA

Great location, nice stay

Posted Aug 1, 2013
Pros: Location
Location: Bar Harbor is small. You can park your car and walk everywhere! It's only a 10 minute drive to the entrance of Acadia NP.
Beautiful exterior and traditional style interior. The hotel is only 3 floors but sprawling; it's quite large considering how small Bar Harbor is. It's location in Bar Harbor is awesome. It has a lovely lobby with real fireplace so first impression is impressive. On the ground level, there is laundry facility (free) so if you are on a long trip it's nice to have a chance to do a load of wash. There are 2 pool areas, one near the street side and another near the club house which is larger and overlooks the harbor. Try to book a room with harbor view and not on the ground floor. We stayed 2 nights and were spending most of our time in Acadia so didn't spend extra for a view we'd hardly enjoy but next time I would. It would be nice to sit and have a drink on the balcony even at dusk or early dawn and watch the tides. I'd recommend this hotel to others, and it's nice, but for some reason it doesn't quite have a "sumptuous" feel to it (that the rates would make you expect). That's not to say we didn't have a very nice stay. You will too.
5 out of 5
by Katharine from Philadelphia, PA

Good location with a great view of the bay

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: We enjoyed the view and the convenience to town.
Cons: The price of the room is more expensive than some other hotels, but we thought it was worth the price.
Location: There were many activities, something for everyone. We hiked, rented kayaks, went on a whale watch, eat lobsters, and drove up Cadillac mountain.
My husband and our two teenage boys spent a week at Harborside. The hotel is within walking distance to Bar Harbor's town and free shuttles to Acadia National Park. Even though my boys are very different, they found more than enough to do. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tubs, when the weather was cold and pools when it was warm. At night, we could walk a few feet to see a amazing sunsets. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The two double beds were very comfortable and our room also had a pull out sofa bed. The restaurant next to the hotel is expensive but the breakfast was worth the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Impressions and billing procedures

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Location: nice location, right in Bar Harbor near the water, shops, etc.
The Harborside Hotel was a nice hotel but I was under the impression that the room rate was $179.00 per night. What was not told to us when we booked the room was that the amenities was an extra $25.00 per day, which we were not expecting. Whenever I booked a room the rate included all amenities which included such things as parking, coffee in room, swimming pool, etc. For this reason, our first impression was not a very good one. You should be upfront with all the extras.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top Quality Hotel in Bar Harbour

Posted Jun 12, 2013
An excellent top rate hotel offering all leisure facilities and situated right in the town. Couldn't be a better location. Would recommend to anyone wishing to spend a few nights or longer in this area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent for visiting Bar Harbor

Posted May 19, 2013
Cons: Rooms are a little small, customer service could be better.
Great ammenities and walking distance to downtown.