Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
It was a very comfortable hotel with a beautiful view of the harbor. I wish I had got to stay here longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake in the Hills, Illinois

It's all about location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: If your hungry for Mexican go to Jalapeños and sit at the bar. Jeb the bartender is extremely entertaining.
You could not ask for a better hotel. The location of the hotel allows you to experience the sunrise and sunset both with terrific views of the water and surrounding scenery. It's a short walk to the sandbar to cross over to the nearby island during low tide. I'm not a fan of "resort fees" because we all feel it's just another way for the hotel to get more money from you-they should just include them in the rate-but the facilities at this hotel are right on the water with excellent views. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Bar Harbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to bar harbor. Large facility

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Wonderful upscale place Unfortunately Expedia’s price is incorrect And there are $25/ day surcharges for things most hotels include.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful hotel with incredible views and location

Posted Sep 26, 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at Harborside. This hotel excellent in every way. Gorgeous water views Spacious rooms and bathroom. Location allows you to walk to many restaurants and shops. Pools are both overlooking the ocean and harbor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Property is beautiful outside

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Beautiful location and well kept property externally. The interior and rooms need remodeling Not sure what the $25/ night resort fee is for other than a method to up charge the daily rate and call it something else Staff nice enough, but they do not look that happy to be there? Would like to return when they have at least replaced the old carpeting ( smelled a bit)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful amenities and excellent location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: many rooms have a patio/deck that only has a view of the parking lot. in my opinion the rates for these rooms should be priced significantly lower
Location: very center of Bar Harbor near absolutely everything downtown and even a few trails
great location, very nice room. staff was friendly, helpful and always available
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Andrew , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the constructive criticism and kind words about our staff and resort! Always great to hear the things we need to improve on for future guests. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year! With hospitality, Andrew Austin Assistant General Manager Harborside Hotel and Marina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We stayed at Harborside Marina Hotel for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious for 2 adults abd 2 children. Very clean and located in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walking distance from the shops and restaurants. Beautiful views of the ocean and wonderful amenities including the club.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Andrew Austin, Hotel Management
What wonderful pictures! Thank you so much for the kind words and glad to hear you had such a great time with us here in Bar Harbor. Hope to welcome you back next year! Kind Regards, Andrew Austin Assistant General Manager Harborside Hotel and Marina
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel and Very Dirty

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Beds were comfortable
Cons: Housekeeping and cleanliness of Room
Location: Great Location. Close to shops and restaurants.
Upon our arrival we were very excited by the location and exterior view of this hotel. Unfortunately, we quickly found out that the hotel's housekeeping leaves much to be desired. When we entered our room we found a huge pile of dirty linens on the floor. The housekeepers argued whose fault it was. We were switched to a new room that had dust caked on the furniture so thick that you could write your name in it, and I did! We alerted the hotel manager and it was cleaned within a reasonable time. Later that evening after taking a shower we found someone's hair all over the bathroom floor. Needless to say the hair color did not match either myself or my wife. We alerted management, but it was only partially cleaned up requiring us to ask again. It was clear throughout the trip that that the managers were trying to rectify the problem, but the staff was not up to the challenge. Management sent us a chocolate plate as an apology. Unfortunately, the gift was delivered while the Do No Disturb sign was on the door and my wife was on the shower. This too was brought to management's attention. I will say that management did their best to compensate us monetarily for the poor service, but in a upscale Bar Harbor Hotel this comedy of errors was unacceptable. We hope to visit Bar Harbor again, just not at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Resort

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful resort. Right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants. Great views.
5 out of 5
by Randolph

Great in town resort hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
A very nice large resort-style hotel in heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to everything in the town. Room was spacious, with a small balcony (deluxe rooms had hot tub on balcony!). A nice heated pool and very large hot tub plus access to the Bar Harbor club next door with a waterfront pool and hot tub and bar service at the pool. Lobby was great, with huge fireplace, etc. Had lunch in restaurant one day and it seemed good. The front desk staff was great. The room cleaning staff wasn't great, but that was the only (and very small) complaint.