Ratings based on 1,291 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Hidden gem on The ocean

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The staff was helpful and friendly. The room itself was the highlight. Sensational bed with big fluffy pillows. Gigantic TV, super clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Nice Large Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff on some nights. Excellent if you have car but bus stop is outside Main entrance. Free parking a plus. Very accommodating staff except for one Person who had an attitude when I had to update my key card on the last day. Check in process was fast and convenient. Room and hotel cleanliness could be much better. Wi-Fi was deplorable. Overall, this was a nice hotel and I enjoyed my stay but would but stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice resort hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The grounds and amenities
Cons: Update the rooms, to match the rates charged.
Location: Fantastic location with plenty of recreational activities, restaurants and local fare.
The resort had beautiful grounds, with an awesome infinity style heated pool. Restaurant was similar to a 5 star restaurant. Room was dated with mold above our window area. Guests in room above us smoked on their balcony and threw their butts onto the lawn in front of our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Front desk staff rude. Slow check in process n no information offered on the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morristown, NJ

Good hotel, but feels old

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is included in your stay; parking was easy. The view was great from the pool.
Cons: Overall decor. Everything felt pretty dated and old.
Location: Just a 5 minute drive from downtown Bar Harbor. And, "Stewman's Lobster" was right on-site by the water, which was awesome and convenient.
The hotel staff were great and helped us upgrade our room to a better view when we checked in. The view from the pool/"tiki bar" was GREAT - awesome watching the ships come in and the water just looks amazing. However overall the hotel felt a little old; could use a sprucing and refreshing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Was an average hotel, good to stay at. The views are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great ocean view. One restaurant and the pool bar were closed off season but otherwise a great stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice hotel, easy drive to Acadia NP and Bar Harbor

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Busy location within a few miles of Bar Harbor dining and shopping, and Acadia National Park. Older buildings but clean and semi-updated rooms. Excellent restaurant (La Belle Vita) and pretty setting on the ocean, surrounded by trees. Great hotel staff! Friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel, BUT ...

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Nice pool and grounds
Cons: The elevator situation (see above.) Please tell guests when they check in that the buildings with "partial ocean view" have no elevator.
Location: Near Bar Harbor and Acadia NP
The hotel is nice enough, but I was surprised to learn that the building where my room was has no elevator. It was no fun lugging two large suitcases up the stairs. It appears that Holiday Inn bought this property from another hotel chain. I realize that they cannot simply "install" an elevator, but I would have appreciated some warning at check-in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, CT

Ok place to stay

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Hotel was nice as far a the amenities outside, however some were closed all ready for the season only one week after Labor Day. The hot tub and heated pool were good. Food at the restaurant was good but was a bit expensive and when we were told they were out of an item they tried to make up for it with another item (clams vs. mussels) we decided we ate dinner there one to many nights. Building outside needs major updating inside was ok. And this is out of the hotels control but we had a couple above us that had some major relationship issues and were screaming a swearing away at each other for the world to hear. Not a good thing.