Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

great location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: cruises, shopping, hiking, water sports
The grounds are nice. Per check in staff tip, walked early morning to watch spectacular sunrise on the lookout point.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near water

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Beautiful hotel within walking distance for all things Bar Harbor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Bar Harbor

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Booked through Expedia way early made sure I was in the correct room, when we checked in we were put in the old building next door we complained to front desk and manager and we were told the very thing that you HEVE want to hear! SORTY YOU BOOKED THROUGH A THIRD PARTY! If that is how these destination places feel I will never book with Expedia again! We have booked many travels in the past I will gladly pay a little more. It to be treated like a second class citizen!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else!

Posted Oct 8, 2016
We booked a room in the "Eden House" at the Holiday Inn Resort. We didn't realize until we arrived that the Eden House is an annex building not connected to the main hotel; any hotel amenities are only available in the main building. There was no complimentary breakfast, or even a place to get a quick cup of coffee in the morning. Our room needed a deep clean -- there was a lot of mildew in the bathroom, no screens (but lots of cobwebs!) on the windows, and just an overall dingy feel. The pictures on the hotel website are misleading; if you're coming to Bar Harbor stay somewhere else!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful spot in Bar Harbor

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Great upgrade
Cons: Could here the guy in the next room snoring (all night). Was happy to have my earplugs!
We were upgraded to the bridal suite in the Stone House.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms and great view

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was helpful and nice, the rooms were clean.
Cons: Communication, checking in the at the Regency when booking at the Holiday Inn was somewhat confusing when we go there.
Location: We visited Bar Harbor about a 1 mile away, checked out the shops and did the Boat Cruise right down the street which was nice.
We stayed just one night, the room was clean and the view from the back of the hotel was beautiful. Customer service was great. We had a parking lot side room, which I don't recommend. You hear cars coming and leaving, doors and trunks closing, alarms beeping when people lock their doors. I recommend a beach view room if possible. We did not care for the restaurants food, dinner or breakfast. I would recommend finding food elsewhere. The pool and hot tub area were very pretty, we went in October so we did not use the amenities but they looked nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The Hotel was nice and clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. This was a family vacation for us and had two children 3 and under so the heated pool was a must. We would totally come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Comfortable beds, large rooms, quiet.
Cons: Wifi access, more outlets n the rooms.
Location: Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor
If you're not willing to spend the bucks or can't get reservations downtown, this is a very nice hotel. It's about a 5-minute car or shuttle ride to downtown Bar Harbor. The rooms were clean, spacious, quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The grounds and views of Frenchman Bay are beautiful. Sadly, wifi access was pretty much non-existent (we were in the middle of the 3rd floor) and there were insufficient outlets in the room for standard electronics. There's no free breakfast, although the breakfast buffet at La Bella Vita had many decent food choices and was very good for $14.95. Unfortunately, the other 2 restaurants on site had closed for the season after Labor Day (we were there in late September). Aside from the aforementioned drawbacks, we had a very nice and comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo, Ohio


Posted Oct 2, 2016
Clean hotel, friendly staff, close to town with convenient shuttle...I would stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Location: Close to Acadia and bar harbor town center
Very nice hotel and friendly and helpful staff/ bus shuttle is great advantage