Ratings based on 1,362 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Cons: YES the room service
My experience was different then i expected, we arrived to the hotel and the outside looked very nice and updated. went to the front desk and they quickly checked me in, only two people at the desk and people kept interrupting our check in. after we checked in the lady at the front desk said that we are on the third floor next to the elevator, and that its a louder room then most. once we left that hotel to go to the holiday in that was purchased by the other hotel. we were disappointed the rooms were very dated the TV had issues some of the channels. As we knew we wouldn't be in the room much during the day i would give it a 3 out of 5 stars. Where is really disappointed us was the room service one evening we called for room service due to have a child under 1 and the phone rang many times with no one picking up. Once we did get someone on the phone, the person said they were to busy and call back after 7pm which it was currently 5pm. After that we couldn't wait to get out of the hotel!!! we traveled to three different locations and this was the only bad stay we had. I would shop a little more next time in bar harbor! Dont Stay AT Holiday inn or the sister hotel Acadia Natl Park Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
3 story walk up! Key card did not work more than twice at a time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Nice view

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Resort fees are overpriced for the level of amenities offered. You check In and receive no information regarding the hotel or area other than enjoy your stay. However, once I asked a couple questions about what I could do that night the gentleman were well informed. over all beautiful view, and a clean and comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lopez Is. WA

Beautiful grounds

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The location is a short drive from Bar Harbor, but close enough to go in for dinner. The only thing we wished was different was that the restaurant closed in the afternoon. We went back hoping for a late lunch but couldn't get one. We did have appetizers later when the bar opened and that was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room with nice view.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Clean and comfortable room with bay view. Plenty of drawers, room safe with small refrigerator and coffee maker. Easy to hear neighboring rooms and plumbing. Hotel hallways need updating and stairways hold storage pictures. Breakfast buffet is $16 everyday and no other breakfast options except room service. Dinner was good. A loud cart is pushed outside rooms around 8:30 a.m. which can wake you up. Bus to Bar Harbor arrives twice an hour and is very handy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Nice resort in Bar Harbor

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It was a nice hotel in Bar Harbor. We were only there two nights so we didn’t get to use the outdoor pool or hot tub but it was pretty busy every evening. The resort is close to town and you could even walk - probably would take you 20 minutes. The Resturant has a very nice breakfast buffet which we enjoyed each morning. I had my dad with me and it had a lot of healthy selections and variety which he really liked. Our wing didn’t have an elevator, which wasn’t so bad because we were on the bottom floor. I imagine for other guests, dragging bags up the stairs wouldn’t be fun. Also the ice machine was on the third floor. So you got your walking in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harwich, MAS

Relax in style

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The location, cleanliness, and mostly the beautiful grounds.
Cons: Nothing
Location: 7 minute drive to the center of Bar Harbor which offers boat tours, whale watches, and kyack rentals. Very short drive to Arcadia park, about 15 min
Beautiful well manicured grounds. Their are many lounge chairs at the pool, they can face the water to enjoy the waterview and mountains in the distance. The hot tub near the pool was also a plus. The rooms are very clean, quiet and updated. The hotel is a short distance to the downtown area. All hotel personel were friendly and helpful. We hope to return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from binghamton, ny

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great trip to bar harbor and Acadia park. Nice area to visit. Great shops. Great trails to walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from naples, fl

Needs improvement

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Resort-style hotel without the warm feel and energy of one. It was our first visit in Bar Harbor and we were trying to figure out how to walk to the village from the hotel (a good 20 min walk) and how to book a nature cruise. We specifically asked the reception and were told they did not make reservations on our behalf... we later accidentally discovered a phone in the elevator lobby of the hotel that rings directly the Harbor Cruise company! Nobody told us there was a bus service that takes you downtown when we asked how to get there. We found some flyers on a table in the lobby later on. It would be nice and very helpful for guests to feel welcome, and to receive useful information at time of check in about the resort, shuttle services, excursions, etc. We felt we were pretty much on our own, not unlike staying in a motel. Some of the amenities were already shut down despite the warm temperatures and gorgeous, sunny weather: the bar by the pool, a café by the pier were all closed. It made the whole place feel like it lacked energy. Restaurant “La Bella Vita” inside the hotel: Poor quality. Pizza, eggplant rollatini tasted like frozen food. Service was good. Room: basic amenities. No warm touches like a welcome note, some cookies or chocolates, which we have received everywhere else on our tour of coastal Maine. At check in we asked if it was possible to get an upgrade and were told the hotel was full. Outside we saw a “Vacancy” sign. WIFI is very slow everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Pretty view

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Water view and gardens.
Cons: Rooms need to be taken care of! Interior doors were rusting, pop corn ceilings were cracking throughout the rooms. (We had 2 rooms). Softer pillows.
Location: Great location, Acadia is near by. Close to town. Good restaurants near by.
The Holiday Inn has a beautiful location, I guess that's why their rates are so high. Rooms could use updating. Landscaping & gardens are beautiful.