Ratings based on 1,096 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was excellent, and the surrounding grounds were relaxing and beautiful. Enjoyed the Tiki bar!
Cons: Communication between Expedia and the actual hotel.
Location: Short trip to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbour.
The restaurant was excellent, our only complaint about our stay is that we booked (requested) a room with a view of the ocean, and our room had a view of the road. When we asked the desk about it, they said that our request for a view was not in the booking information from Expedia. As it was prime vacation time, no other rooms were available. And they wouldn't adjust the price for the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice location to see the sunrise at Cadillac mountain
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Agawam, MA

Quiet respite where you can recharge in style!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Views are breathtaking, rooms wonderful, and great for families. Fitness center is the only downfall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
The room was not ready by 3 pm as mentioned during the check in time. the room cleanliness in second day was satisfactory.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

great location close to town and acadia

Posted Aug 22, 2016
had a great time at this spot. room was clean and typical size but a bit dated with respect to decor, carpets, etc. great ocean views. pool could use more seating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern Shore, MD

The view and landscaping are why we returned.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The grounds are absolutely magnificent and view is worth a million dollars, never stayed any place that even comes close.
Cons: Housekeeping staff training. Dining Room service.
Location: Too much to see and way too much to do. It's just a fantastic resort town.
The hotel and grounds are as nice as before but the makeup of the staff is entirely different. The Tiki Bar and main bar staff were excellent but some of the breakfast staff were not up to par. There was no salt, pepper, sugar or sweetener on the table. We were seated without menus, which took our waiter 10 minutes to bring us. Service was slow, used tables remained uncleared throughput our meal, night and day from our last visit in 2014. Some of the locals said the food and service in the main dining room (La Bella Vita) was not as good as the Regency's sister location, Harborside Hotel. If true, that is sad because we tried the Harborside Bella Vita and it was most disappointing. The service was inconsistent and slow, a $32 NY that was actually tougher than a lower grade top sirloin and a wood fired pizza, the bottom of which reminded one the aftermath of CA wild fire, blackened.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Very nice Hotel,

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Oceanside restaurant
Cons: check in
Location: Acadia Park
Room wasn't ready when we arrived at check in time, had to wait 1 hour 20 minutes. Room wasn't room we booked, they gave us a ADA room. (Americans with Disabilities Act) No bath tub, no chairs or couch to watch TV. just desk chairs. I wish they told us we were getting a different room, I feel like they tried to pull a fast one on us. they did comp breakfast for us one day. It was a clean room though. they obviously overbooked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and switch

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The free shuttle to downtown Bar Harbor.
Cons: When booking the unit that we were clearly notified, with pictures, what room we were paying $200/night for. We ended up with a 2.5 star room!
Location: Bar Harbor and Acadia Park are definitely beautiful to visit.
We were visiting Bar Harbor for the first time and thought that the pictures we viewed were the hotel. However, once we arrived we were told that our room was in an adjacent building and on the 1st floor. There are zero amenities in the building and have to walk a good distance to the restaurants and pool. Quite irritating when it rained. Additionally, the air conditioner drips condensation from the upper units all day long which made it difficult to sleep. Having a room on the 1st floor felt very unsecure as people would be walking on a trail right beside our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westfield , NJ

Clean and good pool

Posted Aug 10, 2016
We have stayed here about 15 years ago and knew what to expect. Very clean , good pool. Would stay again .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW MI

Beautiful property on the water with pool.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The grounds, pool, and waterfront behind the hotel.
Cons: Better quality beds and amenities in the rooms. Price reduced to one reflective of the facility and service rendered. Earlier check in time.
Location: Beautiful area - many activities to participate in: hiking, biking, boating, tours, beachcombing, in Acadia National Park. Great restaurants in BH.
Looking for lodging in Bar Harbor in order to enjoy Acadia National Park. Only chose this hotel because it was the only one of two available for that night, and it had double beds. The room was no nicer than a standard hotel room with two double beds other than it had a great view overlooking the hotel grounds and water front. Way overpriced. A couple of nice amenities where the pool, great pizza from the on site Italian restaurant (brick oven baked), and available tennis rackets for the tennis courts. At this price would not return. If it was in the sub 250/night range, then I might consider it.