Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, downeast delight

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: 3 lobsters shacks walkable and grocery 1/2 mile
Owner greeted and checked us in, we were behind a rather rude guest that wanted something he didn't pay for, and I found the owner to be very professional with the situation, and was in no way ruffled when she moved on to us. You should read the room descriptions of what you are booking so that you know your room type as they have several. We had a motel room, small fridge, large flat screen, dresser, 2 chairs with small table and a/c heat unit. I read reviews before booking that called the rooms spartan (not sure what else they would like in their room) and yet another that said they had too much furniture in the room! So to each their own I guess. The prices during October were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Road noise is relentless.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Priced right and quick trip to MDI. Check-in staff not very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Cottages

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It was close to all we wanted to do.
The cottage was cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay. Close to Acadia and we use it as a base to visit the park and Bar Harbor. The owner gave excellent advice on great places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

The cottages were cute

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: nothing really to do nearby but we were there on the off season. 20 minutes to Bar Harbor where there are some cute shops to go in.
Rooms were very clean, we stayed in the motel portion for 1 night and a cottage for 2 night. I prefer the cottage. Everything was nice but needs to be updated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sidney, ME

Modest but perfect

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Clean and low price.
Cons: For me having a way to heat tea water in the morning without running water through a coffee maker (coffee taste) would be nice.
Location: Right on the edge of MDI so convenient to Acadia NP.
Small motel room on the European model but perfect for one who simply wanted to shower and sleep before the next day's hike. Good food within easy walking distance. Don't let the low price mislead you into thinking that it might be less than desirable. Road noise settles down nicely after rush hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Lynn, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. As a fellow tea drinker I feel your pain! We do have an electric water kettle in the lobby for guests to make hot tea, with bags provided. There just isn't enough counter space in the rooms for more appliances.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great budget option near Bar Harbor

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location.
Very nice motel/cottages short drive from Bar Harbor. Grounds and room were well maintained. Room was very clean and freshly painted. Air conditioner kept room comfortable despite unseasonably warm and humid weather during our stay. Easy drive to Acadia National Park. On busy road - but traffic noise was not an issue for us. Close to great seafood restaurants - including a great lobster pound right across the street. Great value in Bar Harbor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Small but convenient location

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Small rooms but very easy to get to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Pleasant staff and very clean rooms. Great for a short trip but I wouldn't stay in the rooms long term. The cabins may be better though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oldsmar, FL

One Night Stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We were looking for a place to stay over night while traveling the coast of Maine. We weren't looking for anything fancy but were pleasantly suprised with this room. Very clean, comfortable mattress and at a reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Rooms Efficiencies & Cottages

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We had a great time. Beautifully decorated rooms. If you want a cottage, make sure you click the right button if booking online. We went thinking it's a cottage and got a room. We were on a three week road trip and I haveissued that during bookingame. This place gets booked fast. I booked in April for August. It's two minutes from Acadia National Park. Very convenient location. Lots of restaurants too..very vlean and brand new BBQs around the property for people in the rooms and cottages have their own.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

smelly

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel room smelled like wet carpet. The room was dingy and didn't seem to be very clean. The staff was nice and refunded our money, as there was no way we could stay there
Comment from Hotel Management
by Manager, Hotel Management
We did explain and apologized on the air conditioner leak and refunded your money. However the room was indeed clean, we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. You cannot find a review by any guest on any site that found a room to be unclean.