Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Easy walk to town. Friendly and helpful staff. A great travel experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Amazing B&B Experience

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: I understand the In is for sale. I hope they are able to continue to run it or that the future new owners keep the same standards and staff.
Location: We enjoyed the Inn just as much we enjoyed our time at the Acadia Park and downtown Bar Harbor. We never used the car in town, walked everywhere.
Primrose Inn was one of the highlights of my trip to Acadia this past Memorial day weekend. Melissa (the Inn keeper) emailed me a week in advance to confirm the booking. I had the change to confirm that it would be 3 of us (girls weekend) and that we would be doing a late check-in. From the moment we arrived we were impressed that the property is impeccable: designated parking, beautiful garden, adorable décor in and out, very clean, neat and charming common areas (lobby, living room and hallways). The bedroom and bathroom were also in perfect state - double points to the bedding!!! Throughout our 3 night stay, the experience just got better: delicious breakfast, friendly staff and tea time was just an adorable touch to our days. The only issue we had, we caused it: we turned on too many hair appliances at once and the power went out. They fixed it within 5 minutes. Everything is from a walking distance! Definitely coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Cozy and warm

Posted May 27, 2017
Loved our stay. Breakfast and afternoon tea wonderful. Staff welcoming and delightful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Perfect B&B for a weekend getaway

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a great b&b with great breakfast options, afternoon tea and very nice rooms. The staff is great and the location is perfect, in town but still very quiet at night with the windows open.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful!

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
They thought of everything. Enjoyed our breakfast, coffee available early. Well kept.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Inn Fantastic Location

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. Staff was very friendly and had a lot of personal touches. The only thing they could improve is their wireless internet. Connections would drop often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bar Harbor Maine

Super stay in historic house

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We loved the comfortable bed and the period decor and furnishing. We thought that breakfasts were good.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was in the town of Bar Harbor and so was convenient for shops and restaurants. Unfortunately the town was very crowded as cruise ships docked there
We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the Primrose Inn. Our large bedroom on the ground floor was beautifully decorated and furnished in a style appropriate to the age of the house. In the evening with the lamps on and the gas fire lit, it was particularly cosy. Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cooked dishes. We also enjoyed the homemade afternoon tea items. We enjoyed talking with guests from America and abroad in the dining room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 5-Star property!

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Primrose Inn was absolutely the best experience we had on our trip to the Northeast. Everything was perfect. I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Bar Harbour area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere.
Location: Within walking distance of central Bar Harbor's shops & restaurants. A must is exploring Acadia National Park.
Primrose Inn is a relatively large establishment compared to the other Inns and B&Bs we have used on this tour (~16 rooms). On arrival we had a very friendly welcome and a tour of the facilities. We had been notified in advance that each room had allocated parking and where our space was, so we knew exactly where to go and our space gave easy access to get our baggage into the room. As is usual in Inns and B&Bs, there was 24 hour access to tea, coffee, etc - on our arrival day we had just missed "afternoon tea" when cookies, cakes, etc., are available - but there were still leftover cookies which made a fine desert later in the evening! We got good advice on local eateries, and settled on the Side Street Cafe (about 5 mins walk away) where we were so well served that we went back the following day! Like most visitors to Bar Harbor, we had gone primarily to visit Acadia National Park - which is fabulous. OK, we were there in the fall, and the weather was superb, which meant we were spoilt - but we have certainly put it on our "places to go back to" list! We didn't do sunrise on Cadillac Mountain (too crowded, and sunrise from the beach was spectacular anyway) - our highlight was driving out into the park after dark and finding a spectacularly dark sky to see the Milky Way (and a bonus of a number of shooting stars) - magical!! Breakfast in the Primrose is more than adequate - two dishes each day to chose from, plus fruit, cakes, etc. Overall - a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Primrose

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Attention to detail and all the little things they have thought of to make your stay that bit more special
The most comfortable and welcoming stay of our NE road trip so far