Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful Hotel Great Location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in to the Primrose. The Hotel is historic, 1800s, but has been meticulously refurbished & maintained. Every detail was attended to including free water and soda and snacks. Melissa is a great Inn Keeper! The breakfast daily was well Prepared and delicious! They serve tea in the afternoon. The Inn is centrally located so you can walk to town and drive to Acadia National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis MD

The perfect place to stay!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My husband and I could not have had a more enjoyable stay. Melissa and her staff are most hospitable, professional, and eager to help make a vacation fantastic. Close to EVERYTHING, delicious food, cute, comfortable room, great bed! So sad we could not stay longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Charming place to stay in Bar Harbor

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Personal service. Charming decor. Location.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Main street of Bar Harbor is close by. All the shopping, restaurants and beautiful scenery is just a few blocks away.
The Primrose Inn was absolutely a perfect choice for our visit to Bar Harbor. We arrived late, but pulled in to our designated parking spot. No valet or fighting for a parking spot. We were warmly greeted and taken on a tour of the Inn. Every detail has been thought of to make your stay here as pleasant as possible. We were just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants so the location was excellent. There are so many little touches and attention to detail, that it's hard to list them all. The most outstanding thing may have been the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone we met associated with Primrose Inn. They did their best to make us feel comfortable and at home. The morning breakfast and afternoon tea were both tasty and it was nice having a fridge with cold water for the guests. Our room had a private porch so we were able to sip our morning coffee in a rocker just outside our room. Overall, our visit was wonderful and just too short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville IL

Close to everything

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Room was on first floor which made bringing in suitcases and taking them out.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots to see and do. Shopping and eating places everywhere.
Wonderful breakfast served by Melissa! Maureen was so nice and always seemed genuinely glad to see us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great space in a wonderful town

Posted Jul 23, 2017
I have nothing but great things to say about our experience at the Primrose Inn. Wonder people, clean rooms & one first class breakfast. We can't wait to come back next year !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice B&B. Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Staff was warm and friendly. They provided excellent suggestions on restraints and local activities. Location was excellent. Walking distance to town. We were in room number 9 and would choose this room again. Felt like home!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from world

Near everything, rooms like going back in history

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, location
Cons: not a thing
Location: everything nearby including Abbe museum just a block down the street.
the details and decorative taste in our room was extraordinary. Going back a hundred years but with all the niceties of today. Staff was chatty and always available. Breakfast out of this world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Easy walk to town. Friendly and helpful staff. A great travel experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Amazing B&B Experience

Posted May 31, 2017
Cons: I understand the In is for sale. I hope they are able to continue to run it or that the future new owners keep the same standards and staff.
Location: We enjoyed the Inn just as much we enjoyed our time at the Acadia Park and downtown Bar Harbor. We never used the car in town, walked everywhere.
Primrose Inn was one of the highlights of my trip to Acadia this past Memorial day weekend. Melissa (the Inn keeper) emailed me a week in advance to confirm the booking. I had the change to confirm that it would be 3 of us (girls weekend) and that we would be doing a late check-in. From the moment we arrived we were impressed that the property is impeccable: designated parking, beautiful garden, adorable décor in and out, very clean, neat and charming common areas (lobby, living room and hallways). The bedroom and bathroom were also in perfect state - double points to the bedding!!! Throughout our 3 night stay, the experience just got better: delicious breakfast, friendly staff and tea time was just an adorable touch to our days. The only issue we had, we caused it: we turned on too many hair appliances at once and the power went out. They fixed it within 5 minutes. Everything is from a walking distance! Definitely coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Cozy and warm

Posted May 27, 2017
Loved our stay. Breakfast and afternoon tea wonderful. Staff welcoming and delightful