Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Perfect B&B for a weekend getaway

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a great b&b with great breakfast options, afternoon tea and very nice rooms. The staff is great and the location is perfect, in town but still very quiet at night with the windows open.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Delightful!

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
They thought of everything. Enjoyed our breakfast, coffee available early. Well kept.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Inn Fantastic Location

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. Staff was very friendly and had a lot of personal touches. The only thing they could improve is their wireless internet. Connections would drop often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bar Harbor Maine

Super stay in historic house

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We loved the comfortable bed and the period decor and furnishing. We thought that breakfasts were good.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was in the town of Bar Harbor and so was convenient for shops and restaurants. Unfortunately the town was very crowded as cruise ships docked there
We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the Primrose Inn. Our large bedroom on the ground floor was beautifully decorated and furnished in a style appropriate to the age of the house. In the evening with the lamps on and the gas fire lit, it was particularly cosy. Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cooked dishes. We also enjoyed the homemade afternoon tea items. We enjoyed talking with guests from America and abroad in the dining room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 5-Star property!

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Primrose Inn was absolutely the best experience we had on our trip to the Northeast. Everything was perfect. I would highly recommend it to anyone in the Bar Harbour area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere.
Location: Within walking distance of central Bar Harbor's shops & restaurants. A must is exploring Acadia National Park.
Primrose Inn is a relatively large establishment compared to the other Inns and B&Bs we have used on this tour (~16 rooms). On arrival we had a very friendly welcome and a tour of the facilities. We had been notified in advance that each room had allocated parking and where our space was, so we knew exactly where to go and our space gave easy access to get our baggage into the room. As is usual in Inns and B&Bs, there was 24 hour access to tea, coffee, etc - on our arrival day we had just missed "afternoon tea" when cookies, cakes, etc., are available - but there were still leftover cookies which made a fine desert later in the evening! We got good advice on local eateries, and settled on the Side Street Cafe (about 5 mins walk away) where we were so well served that we went back the following day! Like most visitors to Bar Harbor, we had gone primarily to visit Acadia National Park - which is fabulous. OK, we were there in the fall, and the weather was superb, which meant we were spoilt - but we have certainly put it on our "places to go back to" list! We didn't do sunrise on Cadillac Mountain (too crowded, and sunrise from the beach was spectacular anyway) - our highlight was driving out into the park after dark and finding a spectacularly dark sky to see the Milky Way (and a bonus of a number of shooting stars) - magical!! Breakfast in the Primrose is more than adequate - two dishes each day to chose from, plus fruit, cakes, etc. Overall - a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Primrose

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Attention to detail and all the little things they have thought of to make your stay that bit more special
The most comfortable and welcoming stay of our NE road trip so far
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable, quaint, quiet BNB

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The welcoming staff gave us a terrific introduction to the Inn, showing us everything we needed to know and all the amenities available.
The staff at the Primrose Inn are very friendly as are the other guests. Breakfast was just OK one morning, but very good the second morning. The Inn has a quiet, restful atmosphere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best inn in Bar Harbor

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
I would recommend this inn to anyone who is going to Bar Harbor,Maine. Our room was spectacular and Melissa was beyond helpful and gracious. The inn is just a short walk to town and every afternoon there is tea, coffee and home baked goodies. I would come back in a heartbeat.