Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Perfect B&B for a weekend getaway

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a great b&b with great breakfast options, afternoon tea and very nice rooms. The staff is great and the location is perfect, in town but still very quiet at night with the windows open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bar Harbor Maine

Super stay in historic house

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: We loved the comfortable bed and the period decor and furnishing. We thought that breakfasts were good.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was in the town of Bar Harbor and so was convenient for shops and restaurants. Unfortunately the town was very crowded as cruise ships docked there
We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the Primrose Inn. Our large bedroom on the ground floor was beautifully decorated and furnished in a style appropriate to the age of the house. In the evening with the lamps on and the gas fire lit, it was particularly cosy. Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cooked dishes. We also enjoyed the homemade afternoon tea items. We enjoyed talking with guests from America and abroad in the dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly atmosphere.
Location: Within walking distance of central Bar Harbor's shops & restaurants. A must is exploring Acadia National Park.
Primrose Inn is a relatively large establishment compared to the other Inns and B&Bs we have used on this tour (~16 rooms). On arrival we had a very friendly welcome and a tour of the facilities. We had been notified in advance that each room had allocated parking and where our space was, so we knew exactly where to go and our space gave easy access to get our baggage into the room. As is usual in Inns and B&Bs, there was 24 hour access to tea, coffee, etc - on our arrival day we had just missed "afternoon tea" when cookies, cakes, etc., are available - but there were still leftover cookies which made a fine desert later in the evening! We got good advice on local eateries, and settled on the Side Street Cafe (about 5 mins walk away) where we were so well served that we went back the following day! Like most visitors to Bar Harbor, we had gone primarily to visit Acadia National Park - which is fabulous. OK, we were there in the fall, and the weather was superb, which meant we were spoilt - but we have certainly put it on our "places to go back to" list! We didn't do sunrise on Cadillac Mountain (too crowded, and sunrise from the beach was spectacular anyway) - our highlight was driving out into the park after dark and finding a spectacularly dark sky to see the Milky Way (and a bonus of a number of shooting stars) - magical!! Breakfast in the Primrose is more than adequate - two dishes each day to chose from, plus fruit, cakes, etc. Overall - a fine place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Primrose

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Attention to detail and all the little things they have thought of to make your stay that bit more special
The most comfortable and welcoming stay of our NE road trip so far
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable, quaint, quiet BNB

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The welcoming staff gave us a terrific introduction to the Inn, showing us everything we needed to know and all the amenities available.
The staff at the Primrose Inn are very friendly as are the other guests. Breakfast was just OK one morning, but very good the second morning. The Inn has a quiet, restful atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Wonderful B&B! Great location, wonderful breakfast and fabulous staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowling Green Kentucky

Wonderful location - friendly staff.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We enjoyed the Inn and were very satisfied with our room. The location of the Inn was perfect. We were out of the way and could walk everywhere in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice place to stay close to harbor.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Food was great. Assigned parking place for each room. Very comfortable and cozy atmosphere.
Location: Lots of tourist shopping and restaurants. Short walk to the harbor for boat rentals and tours.
Great place to stay in Bar Harbor. Breakfasts were awesome, and the snacks at afternoon tea time were an added touch. Staff members were always friendly and accommodating. Located just a few blocks from the stores and restaurants in downtown Bar Harbor. No smoking allowed, which was greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Bed & Breakfast Exceeded My Expectations

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The management & staff and how they pampered you in the beautiful, restful surroundings of this bed and breakfast. Close to the best restaurants.
Cons: Nothing. Just perfect place to stay, in my opinion!
Location: The location can't be beat- a short walk to the center of town and Village Green, where you can catch the free Island Explorer buses.
My stay at Primrose Inn, in late July, was like a dream—beautiful historic home with lovely antique décor, but with all the luxuries of modern life. Utmost detail went into creating a memorable stay for guests, from the impeccably kept rooms & premises, to the hearty welcome from Melissa and her team, who make you feel like family. Each day, in their bright & comfy dining room, you had a new choice of hot breakfast plates, which were scrumptious, and there were many other breakfast items to choose from, including home-baked goodies from their kitchen which knocked my socks off (when I wasn’t wearing sandals). And you didn’t feel in a rush there—one day I was still there later than the stated breakfast hours, but there was no sense of rush for one to clear out of the room. Just a wonderful relaxed environment all the time. Had wonderful sleep here in a room on the 2nd floor which was quiet and the bed so comfy. The staff was happy to provide information about Bar Harbor & activities available, which they also supplied through the local magazines and other materials in each room and their library area. Even if one hadn't made plans to go hiking & see the sights, they would not have had trouble feeling perfectly content spending their days at Primrose Inn, just sitting on the lovely porches & soaking-in the surrounding gardens. Great place to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Very clean and food was excellent
Cons: I would have liked our bed made the second day just like I arrived. The comforter wasn't put back on and the show pillows weren't put back on.
Location: Walking distance to mostly everything on the main street
Convenient to Main Street. Very charming and cozy. Staff very helpful