Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midwest

Don't stay here

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: About 18 miles from Acadia NP
Cons: It needs a compete overhaul
Location: near Acadia. Ellsworth is a nice little town with a nice Main Street.
We stayed here on a Saturday night, 10/1/2016. Everything in the area was booked and the only campground at Acadia was full, plus rain was forecast. We paid $179 ($195) with taxes. I'm not complaining about the price, it was supply and demand, and the only other available rooms were more than 40 miles from the the park. But this place is a dump. It's not just dated (dated can be charming), but it smelled bad, carpet was soiled, fixtures and trim were worn out and needed replacement. The walkup price was $79. So if you can get a room for $79 you can be more forgiving. But even at that price I wouldn't want to stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
This hotel is expensive for how run down it is. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Basic, but really fine

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Last hotel room apparently available in town on a Saturday in September. The guy at the desk was totally nice, though harried. The room and hotel in general were basically clean and completely fine, but the beds squeaked, the room smelled of cleaning products, there was no way to vent the room without leaving a sliding door open to the parking lot all night, and the lobby reeked of cigarettes (no smoking in there, but people must smoke immediately outside or something)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired bones but price is right

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Price, bed, pool
Cons: Install the ac so the drapes don't cover it up; get a better shower head that still saves water.
Location: Bar harbor close by.
It was quiet, it was low cost, the bed was just right. 3 guests checking in at 530 pm shouldn't overwhelm the desk; the room ac should be on before I get there when it's 85 degrees; the smoking shack smell shouldn't be drafting thru the facility of nonsmoking rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it was quiet

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The pillows were flat had to go buy two pillows.The back window had a block of wood to keep the window from sliding as for a lock.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, NY

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: price
Location: Acadia National Park - approx. 12 miles
Room was in "Annex" building behind the main building . Overall just not very nice. Absolutely not worth the price. Definitely would not recommend this motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book elsewhere

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Would not recommend. Not terribly clean, and not a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Afton, NY

In serious need of updating!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Air conditioning work even when part of the room lost power
Cons: Remodel bathroom (and possible electrical wiring) , get new mattress.
Location: Acadia National Park about 30 mins away.
I can only speak of the room we were in, and it was not a positive experience. The tiny bathroom had so much water damage, there was not much the poor, overworked housekeeping staff could do make it look clean (around tub walls, on floor, behind toilet). And don't look at the mattress! While it was comfortable, it looked like it was second hand or as old as the hotel itself (I always check mattress for signs of bedbugs). The power in half our room went out (TV side), but the staff was very apologetic, helpful, and problem was fixed by morning. (Good thing we were too tired to watch TV). Hotel was way over priced for the condition it was in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Close to all attractions

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs to be updated...but then the price would be much higher. Overall a nice place to stay and get a good nights sleep. Quiet to boot.
Location: In the middle of everything...Acadia Park was incredible, Bar Harbor and Restaurants.
Great Staff Friendly & Knowledgeable...nice cheap place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
Location: Great location to Ellsworth shops and Acadia.
This place is old, gross and has stinky rugs. No service. They house poor, welfare folks. The owners collect cars and motorcycles but obviously don't invest in the business or paying enough to keep folks employed. When we were there the cleaning services were non existent . There were only a couple people trying to keep things going.