Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Easton,MD

Clean and reasonably priced!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: A comfortable,clean bed and room and the view in our upgraded room!
Cons: Could use a remodel to update things! But then again, we didn't visit Maine for the hotel!
Location: Within walking distance to the harbor and shopping! The free shuttle bus is nice! The best time to visit seems to be September! Less crowded!
A bit dated,but clean! We stayed here last year without any problems.This year we had a problem with bees entering the room through a space near the window.After a sting on my toe,I requested a different room! The gentleman in the office changed our room to the Oceanview! That room was really nice! I think I need to rent this room from now on! They are a little more up to date,near the Looking Glass Restaurant ( up on the hill ) the continental breakfast is nice too & all the beds were comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect 10

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great view and easily accessible to area attractions. Cordial and responsive staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, PA

Close to Bar Harbor

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Convenient, clean, pleasant, and reasonably priced. Nice, courteous, and helpful staff. Free bus transport into town and back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: We are very low maintenance people so it was just right for us, not too fancy. Just comfortable, clean and priced right.
Cons: We had no complaints
Location: Boat tours, park tours, island ferries, great restaurants, shopping, a very walkable town
Not having been to the area before, we truly were lucky. We were right outside of both the downtown area of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Our hotel was on the Island Explorer route with free transportation to downtown approximately ever 30 minutes. Once you were downtown you could hop on another bus to proceed to another destination on the island. The schedule was easy to follow, the drivers very helpful, friendly and courteous. The hotel staff was very helpful. A delicious continental breakfast was available every morning with hot coffee, tea or ice water available 24 hours. We enjoyed our little balcony with a room that was advertised without an "ocean view" however we found the wooded view we had to be very nice. We had an amazing time
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Wen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for you comment. We really appreciate you for taking time to write this review. The management is working together to make our guest happy. Please let us know for your visit so that we can help your stay here more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from The Villages, FL

Great View from the "View Priced" Accomodations.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The view, The view, The view, The view, The view, The view, The view, The view, The view!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Laundry facilities...located down the hill and shared by employees. Disappointing.
Location: N.o end to things to do. If you are the outdoors type you will want to head to Acadia National Park where you can see some truly spectacular scenery.
We stayed at Wonder View for the View and it certainly did not disappoint. The restaurant had a spectacular view; better than the room. The food was good but nothing special. It is quite a long walk from the madness on the Harbor, and I do mean madness. We were there on a Friday. Had forgotten Friday is the day of the week when cruise ships are in. Need I say more. We were actually able to find a parking place that was less of a walk which we appreciated. We did NOT know there was a shuttle that will take you to many of the places you want to go. We have been to Bar Harbor before but remained ignorant of that fact. We did take it to the Portland Head Light and it also goes to Acadia, I believe. Have Fun and make some great memories. It is a delightful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

nice hotel, close to Acadia

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Friendly staff, nice hotel, we truly enjoyed our stay, name of hotel Wonder View truly speaks for its name - wonderful view, will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Comfy bed, beautiful view !!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The Wonder View Inn is lovely sprawling property about 1/2 miles outside of downtown Bar Harbor. There are several motel style buildings, most with private balconies, some with a stunning view of the harbor, and the sunrise. It is not new, but it is lovingly maintained, spotlessly clean, and very reasonably priced. The continental breakfast included hot breakfast sandwiches, and hard boiled eggs, and it is available until 11:00. The shuttle bus stops right at the door. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. We had a delightful stay at the Wonder View Inn, and hope to return many times!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the bus route to down town.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: the location worked for us and our visits to the National Park.
Cons: the restaurant was mediocre and they did not tell us about the specials.
Location: Acadia National Park is superb, with days worth of sites to see and things to do.
As parking is almost impossible, being on the bus route is convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice enough, close to downtown.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice but dated, we stayed two nights and liked that it was close enough to downtown we could walk or take the bus that stops at the hotel and is free. Nice continental breakfast and great view from the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Don't believe the ad.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Needs heavy remodel at very least.
Location: It is close to downtown Bar Harbor but there is no view of anything except the tree line in front of the rooms.
Badly in need of maintenance if not a complete rebuild. Not compatible for people with laptops and tablets. Very few outlets to plug into and recharge devices. Walls must be paper thin, hear every move other guests make even two or more units away. Jalousie window on front and rear doors allow any outside sound in. The porch/deck is wooden and badly in need of seal coat, also conduct sound the entire length of the deck from other guests moving chairs and the like. Paint around windows pealing and quite a lot of bare wood exposed. Carpet was wet at front entrance.