Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Location: Right now it is to far away from everything. Nothing close. have to drive or get a ride to everyting.
Check in was terrible. Clerk was not there. had to call on phone. When he came he said I didn't have a reservation. Asked if I booked online? I told him I did. He said he canceled expedia. He stated he will honor it but was very upset.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
it’s a decent lower cost hotel with very good front office staff in my (limited) experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turtle Lake Saskatchewan,Canada

Nice motel conveniently located in Baraboo

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Booking and check in process was made very easy by the terrific front desk people. Close to main features of downtown Baraboo. Would recommend the Thunderbird to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The front desk staff were very nice, they appeared to own/live in the motel. However, the keys were difficult to use. The room had a very obvious, hard to escape moisture smell. As well, after my stay I developed a rash.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Oct 1, 2017
They don't follow the itinerary. We were booked for Sept. 25th to the 26th per our itinerary but wete forced to leave with pounding on the door at 11am telling us we needed to leave. Showed them the itinerary but they didn't care. I want my money back. We were there less than 12 hours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Motel was overbooked....did not have a room for us

Posted Sep 24, 2017
We got there about 4pm and were told that they overbooked and would have to go to another motel (Campus Inn) across town. This was strange as there were no cars in the lot and the place looked sort of run down. The Campus Inn was acceptable for a one nite stay. They advertised a pool but there was no water in it and it was in the 90s. Also we had to take a 2nd floor unit and they did not have an elevator and it was a little tough as we are both 76 yrs old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Cons: A lot.
Beds were clean; bathroom was clean. Carpet was dirty and needs replacement; shower curtain had mold on the inside; and faucets on sink needed tightening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by vasant, Hotel Management
Sorry about you experience. Thanks for let me know so we can fix it right way.
2 out of 5
by Jeff

Musty

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very musty. Carpeting not very clean
5 out of 5
by Amy

Must stay in Baraboo!

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised about the cleanliness of this motel. Comfortable beds, large spacious room, nice high shower head!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Everything was fine. Very quiet. Nothing more to say
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by vasant, Hotel Management
thanks you for staying with us.