Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful getaway

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Lovely, small hotel with stunning views! Very comfortable rooms and beautiful pool...a really relaxing time! Thank you Casa Bonita!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DFW Texas

Amazing View Hillltop near beach.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: View , beach and river and great AC.
Cons: Deceptive pricing. Place for the guests to interact and things to do at night. Rebuild ALL the balcony rails.
This is a very unique hotel with amazing views and great staff. However there are several things that left us pretty unhappy. When we went to book on Expedia the price showed with 2 adults and 2 kids. When we got the bill it was almost double that. They charged 28% tax and large per person extra fees on top of the rate so BEWARE!!!!!!. I think the post was very deceiving and would NOT have paid what we were charged for this hotel. It is in a very beautiful location but there are no safe restaurant alternatives nearby so you must eat at the resort. Food is good but not spectacular and tends to be delivered cold often. The little town next to the Hotel is definitely not a place for tourists. The river and beach downhill from the resort are amazing but the resort is NOT on the beach. You must go down the hill to get there. If you surf, the waves are excellent.The rooms are nice and the AC is spectacular but the water is never more than lukewarm in the shower. The balcony view is beautiful but the rails looked pretty questionable and in need of repair and reinforcement. The staff is great and very helpful. The hotel has a very personal feel but there is very little to do at night so if you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Paradise in mountains and beach

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: the place and service
It is one of the best hotels we stayed. the service is amazing, food is excellent and you can relax a lot in mountains and beach view. Try to visit Bahia las Aguilas, it is the bet excursion !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great would definitely recommend

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Staff welcoming, friendliness, hotel cleanliness
Cons: Restaurant menu needs a little more variety
Location: The location is pretty good for relaxing. Not too far from San Rafael, Los Quemaitos, and Los Patos. Town is about a little drive away.
Our stay was amazing except for the service with the restaurant where the food took way too long and once we even left after eating because our juice was taking too long. Other than that everything was great. Great staff very accommodating, very friendly. They got us help to get around. Check-Out was also a headache as they charged the whole group's food on one card instead of per room. Make sure you pay attention to every detail during check-out just to make sure your aren't being overcharged but that's anywhere. Great Canopy, relaxing spa especially with the river running would be better if the riverside villas weren't in construction. Amazing yet rough beaches with great spectacular views. The Staff was great as it is a small hotel they get familiar quick.
5 out of 5
by hector

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Amazing hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The staff couldnt be more nice. Extremely helpful, attentive, and willing. The spa in the hotel is AMAZING, a total must, a complete experience. The room is clean and comfy, the food although expensive was good as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kemptville, Canada

A place to relax off the beaten path

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet, the spa by the brook, the food and the common area.
Cons: The cabins could be updated. The ceiling fans need to be replaced. Mosquito netting over the beds would be apperciated.
Location: On a hillside outside Barahona, there is little to do but relax and read and walk the trails. The spa is very good.Excellent relaxation.
The common area is "WOW!" The view is spectacular. The cabins are somewhat dated. Staff are pleasant but speak little English. Most of the other guests seemed to be native Dominicans taking a local holiday. The food was the best we had in the Dominican Republic.
5 out of 5
by paula

Relax and relax

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Bahia de Aguilas is very far but the trip was pleasant with the driver from Casa Bonita. Carlos is a gentleman and speaks different languages enough to provide some local information en route. The level of relaxation and the massage were wonderful for anyone needing a place to check out of the hustle and bustle, this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Outstanding View!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: The drive along the highway going west is along the ocean there are some beautiful beaches and stunning views.
The view is amazing and very tough to beat. The rooms are nice but small, bathrooms are modern but again small, shower only. The infinity pool is beautiful. The grounds are nice, the road to the hotel is scary and in fact is falling down the hill in one place. The food is mediocre at best and the prices way out of line. Plantain is served with everything and being Barahona grows some of the best in the country a very cheap starch. 3 dollars American for a bottle of water is crazy. Our daughter-in-law lives in area and has eaten here previously, she could not believe how much the quality of the food had changed. We were very disappointed and felt ripped off, if the food is amazing the prices are warranted, in a 2 night stay for 4 we spent over a $1000, and the quality was just not there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by JMG, Hotel Management
Un calido saludo Sr. Chalbe. Hemos analizado cada una de sus puntos y queremos comentarle que lo que respecta a a la carretera ya culminamos un camino 100% en concreto hasta la entrada. Respecto a los precios tambien hemos iniciado un analis y mejoramiento de nuestra carta del restaurante y respectivos precios. Muchas gracias por ayudarnos a ser mejor con sus comentarios sinceros. Atentamente, Equipo Casa Bonita.
5 out of 5
by Maria from Santo Domingo

Great stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. The hotel is very pleasant and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Definitely will recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your kind words and your recommendation to your family and friends. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in a near future.