Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kemptville, Canada

A place to relax off the beaten path

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet, the spa by the brook, the food and the common area.
Cons: The cabins could be updated. The ceiling fans need to be replaced. Mosquito netting over the beds would be apperciated.
Location: On a hillside outside Barahona, there is little to do but relax and read and walk the trails. The spa is very good.Excellent relaxation.
The common area is "WOW!" The view is spectacular. The cabins are somewhat dated. Staff are pleasant but speak little English. Most of the other guests seemed to be native Dominicans taking a local holiday. The food was the best we had in the Dominican Republic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Outstanding View!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: The drive along the highway going west is along the ocean there are some beautiful beaches and stunning views.
The view is amazing and very tough to beat. The rooms are nice but small, bathrooms are modern but again small, shower only. The infinity pool is beautiful. The grounds are nice, the road to the hotel is scary and in fact is falling down the hill in one place. The food is mediocre at best and the prices way out of line. Plantain is served with everything and being Barahona grows some of the best in the country a very cheap starch. 3 dollars American for a bottle of water is crazy. Our daughter-in-law lives in area and has eaten here previously, she could not believe how much the quality of the food had changed. We were very disappointed and felt ripped off, if the food is amazing the prices are warranted, in a 2 night stay for 4 we spent over a $1000, and the quality was just not there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by JMG, Hotel Management
Un calido saludo Sr. Chalbe. Hemos analizado cada una de sus puntos y queremos comentarle que lo que respecta a a la carretera ya culminamos un camino 100% en concreto hasta la entrada. Respecto a los precios tambien hemos iniciado un analis y mejoramiento de nuestra carta del restaurante y respectivos precios. Muchas gracias por ayudarnos a ser mejor con sus comentarios sinceros. Atentamente, Equipo Casa Bonita.
5 out of 5
by Maria from Santo Domingo

Great stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was great. The hotel is very pleasant and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Definitely will recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your kind words and your recommendation to your family and friends. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in a near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Spectacular Ocean/mountain views

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything
Cons: Meal package price
Location: Loved Zip Lining through the forest and river. Had the most amazing massage while listening to the river flow by, and birds singing.
Casa Bonita has changed the way I would vacation from now on. Small place with huge setting wonderful food, great, accommodations, spectacular views and five star staff service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael from Connecticut

The perfect getaway resort for total relaxation

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I spent four nights at Casa Bonita, and we loved it. It is a small resort, with service that is probably equal to or better than the big resorts in the east. The staff was friendly, and always willing to help. The food was fantastic, and was available at the open-air, poolside restaurant with a perfect view of the Caribbean sea, or delivered to our room. Ñoño washed the car each morning. We took excursions to see beautiful sites of Oviedo lagoon and Bahia de las Aguilas, and a hike to the Cueva de la Virgen. Great value for the room rate, and if/when we return to the Dominican Republic (we want to) we will stay again at Casa Bonita. Note that the Wi-Fi is slow, and was not accessible from our room. But we enjoyed disconnecting from the digital world, so to us it was not a disadvantage. We did have mobile phone service (voice and data).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Absolutely amazing !!! He place is gorgeous 5 star secluded hidden gem. Coming back every year!!! Wish they would improve their food. But didn't come here for the food. Came here for the drop dead foliage !
5 out of 5
by belissa from DC

Beautiful views!

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Expectacular views in a relax and romantic environment!
5 out of 5
by belissa from DC

Great romantic escape!

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and i went for a romantic retreat and that is exactly what we got. There is nothing to do outside the hotel but the mountain views behind you and the ocean view in front you can not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port-au-Prince

Idyllic retreat with great views

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Nice location, good staff. A quiet eco-friendly retreat with lots of options.
Cons: There was an issue with the wifi, so hopefully that is resolved soon!
Location: Relax and swim at the hotel, or visit the spa, visit the beaches (not the best in DR), hike/cycle in the mountains or try the zip line.
I enjoyed my time at Casa Bonita, set in a idyllic location between the mountains and the ocean it offered a nice retreat and a relaxing atmosphere in an eco-friendly package. Nicely laid out, with good service, lots of extras available and beautifully, locally-sourced food. I would recommend Casa Bonita as a quick weekend retreat of for longer stays in which to better explore the area.