Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON

Nice beach, that's about it for the positives.

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The beach only
Cons: Everything except for the beach
Location: Nothing nearby, need to drive at least 35min to anything
Terrible food, same everyday, barely any fruit, little selection. No bar or any service at all by the beach, it's a long walk to the bar. Staff didn't see to want to be there, then again neither did we after the first day. The hotel needs major updating, very old furniture, curtains were disgustingly dirty (at least they were in room 5210). VERY QUIET, no music or entertainment at all, you can't see a single soul past 10PM. Although they call it all-inclusive, it isn't when compared with other resorts that I've been in the past. We ended up going out to different beaches everyday seeking a more lively atmosphere, meaning we ended up only having breakfast at the resort. It cost us a significant amount of money for meals and transportation we weren't expecting. Also note that to go to the busier spots of Barbados, you're into a minimum 35min drive at a cost of 25-35USD each way. Would not recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Methuen,Ma

Beautiful beach

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Beach !
Cons: Staff could be a lot more friendly. Made the stay very unpleasant !
Beautiful beach . If you are looking for peace and quiet that is the place to go. Food ... Entertainment ... Drinks .... just ok . Staff very unfriendly :( . Only a few were pleasant . Too many rules . We knew the place needed TLC . If the staff was a little bit more friendly our stay would of been more pleasant . We made the best of it !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Almond Beach

Posted May 8, 2017
Our recent stay at Almond beach was Okay, staff tried their best to make our stay comfortable. The staff are constantly cleaning especially in the pool areas, with the wind always blowing it's a constant battle against the leaves falling from the trees. The food is consistent and is better than some we've stayed at in other countries. If you picked this resort up and dropped it in say Cyprus it would be 5 star but in it's current state its more 3 going on 4. The entertainment was great some very talented singers and entertainers. The hotel is on the verge of possibly being taken over by Sandals so if you want a nice resort to stay before it gets to expensive there are worst around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous resort, for an 'alone' female

Posted May 5, 2017
As a 21year old female who travelled alone to Barbados I would highly recommend Almond beach resort , as well as booking through Expedia. WHY? Expedia seemed to be the easiest and cheapest route to plan my holiday. Getting the all inclusive deal was great and couldn't have asked for more, the wide selections and choices of having buffet or a la carte meals was nice as well as the unlimited drinks. The staff were so friendly I felt like I was someone who they had met before, with every interaction I was made to feel even more relaxed and comfortable and although they acknowledged that I was alone it was done in a manner that allowed me to embrace my lonesome and enjoy the lovely vibes around the resort and the beach as it was seconds away from my room which I loved! I had the pleasure of going on all the excursions that were booked including the jeep safari, swimming with the turtles and the glass bottom tour and getting up close with the monkeys! The beach also had jetskis, snorkelling gear and kayaks that we could use.. I quickly familiarised with the resort and all of its contents but giving a map and a few documents with further info once I had checked in was very helpful and madme feel at ease as I did not have to pluck up the courage to ask for directions from others. Overall, I Wish I could have individually thanked everyone individually. It was an amazing experience and has encouraged me to travel loads more too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metro-Atlanta, GA

Wonderful Staff!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The hotel needs updating.
The entire hotel staff was very professional and pleasant. They go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Family friendly resort

Posted Apr 13, 2017
My wife, daughter (2 years) and myself loved this resort. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were great and tasty especially at the Reef and Horizons. The rooms were clean and well maintained. House keeping didn't meddle with our personal belongings. The pools were always clean. There were plenty of activities for the entire family to enjoy. The local vendors and sales personal were not aggressive and didn't hassle us. We wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, amazing beach, good food, nice staff

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Everything - rooms, food, staff, location, beach, entertainment
Cons: Nothing
Location: Speightstown is nearby, also Holetown is a quick bus ride away (there is a designer shopping centre if that's your thing), 40 minutes from Bridgetown
A lovely hotel - amazing for the money. Beach front rooms, beautiful white sand and reefs with fish and turtles, lovely staff and great food. What's not to like?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great return visit

Posted Apr 4, 2017
I returned to this resort with my husband this time after a great week spent with my girlfriends last year. The hotel itself is in need of some upgrades, but the staff, food , beach and scenery are just what I ordered. Everything is clean, the staff friendly and the beach is perfect. This is by far the hottest island I've been to, I love that the beach is a few feet away or you have 5 pools to choose from. I am not sure though what type of bug is there, no see ums maybe but I have several itchy red bites. I would definitely return but hear this is the year that big business is coming in to ruin the Almond Beach Resorts charm. What a shame!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

GREAT beach!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: Building renovations - food options
Location: Speightstown is a short walk away. The hotel is about a 45 minute drive from the airport. One-way taxi is $50.
The beach is wonderful. Loved the coral reef just off the shoreline. Everyone says the hotel is being bought by Sandals so a lot of renovations are being put off. The hotel itself could definitely use some work. However, my room was gorgeous and the view was amazing. The a la carte meals are great. The buffet - not so much. Loved having free excursions. Most of the staff were awesome, while a few seemed a bit rude at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Mar 22, 2017
It has a great local feeling decor to it but needs some repair attention. Some staff was very nice and fun to interact with and some were very rude. Rooms were always cleaned well but there were cracks in the borders and rust in the bathroom. Bathrooms were terribly small. Amazing balcony views!! The food was hit or miss. The beach couldn't have been more perfect!