Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Swen

einfach und praktisch

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Einfach und praktisch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Very dated and a bit run down. The owner has several dogs which I was not made aware of before my stay. Hidden fees are everywhere, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay you'd be better off spending a bit more up-front to avoid the fees.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good value for money, near beach

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The garden setting. The cooking of Chandra. The quietness of the room.
Cons: The decor in the could be updated.
Location: The location was quite far from the airport. We visited Hole Town, and Speightstown. We also walked to Daphne's restaurant one evening.
We were met at the airport in Barbados, by Sandra, who had been sent by Chandra, who owns the Angler Apartments. On our arrival we were greeted at the gate by Chandra, and one of her friendly dogs. We were shown to our apartment, which had a fully equipped kitchenette, and bathroom. Chandra offered to cook us a meal, which we accepted. An hour later we were sitting eating delicious fish cakes, in a garden setting. The food was so good we arranged to eat there again the next night. We slept very soundly each night we stayed in the apartment, as there was no noise. Even though Chandra has four dogs, we were never disturbed by any of them barking. The bed was very comfortable. During the day we visited Hole Town and Speighstown. To get there we used the "Reggae Buses", which cost $2 (Barbadian) approx $1 US to go anywhere. A small beach was a short walk from the appartments. All in all a great stay.
5 out of 5
by Harriet T.

peaceful place- welcoming and relaxing

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Ebookers
We were welcomed by Chandra-who was very helpful. The acommodation is simple and had everthing we needed. Angler is a really relaxing place and i would love to visit again one day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Von Mäusen und Menschen

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Die Unterkunft besteht aus zwei Häusern. Die Ausstattung Zimmer ist sehr einfach. Die wlektrischen Geräte haben das Ende ihrer Lebenszeit bereits erheblich überschritten. Kochen wird zum Abenteuer, ein Menü ist nicht drin. Wir hatten ein Studio gebucht und bekommen. Des Nachts hat sich ein hungriger Nager an unserem Toastbrot gelabt. Am nächsten Tag bekamen wir dann eine Maus zu Gesicht, die sich wieder über unser Brot hermachte. Chandra gab uns nach einigem Zögern auf unsereN geäusserten Unmut hin ein Zimmer im anderen Haus. Dort war zwar auch noch der wine oder andere Mäuse-Poo zu sehen, doch Besuch von Nagern bekamen wir nicht. Die Angler-Appartments sind schön gelegen an der hochpreisigen Westküste. Wahrscheinlich findet man ähnliche Probleme auch bei anderen Unterkünften dieses Preisniveaus. Wir würden uns beim nächsten Mal eine andere Unterkunft suchen.
4 out of 5
by Leila R.

Great Stay off the Beaten Path in Barbados

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Orbitz
I spent 4 days/3 nights at the Angler Apartments in Barbados and was very happy with my stay! Chandra was a gem and so nice to arrange a pick up from the airport (I was going to rent a car, but honestly this place would have been difficult to find w/o GPS in the daytime, let alone impossible at night) so I was glad Chandra talked me out of driving myself from the airport and arranged a personal pick up at the airport instead $35 for a private car w/the driver waiting for you as you exit with a name sign was a bargain, considering it was about a 30mins drive from airport to Angler. The property itself is very quaint on a quiet neighborhood street. The room I had was just what I needed for the time I was there. The A/C did leak/drip the first night I was there, but stopped after the 2nd day and the room was nice and cool my entire stay. My room was very clean and every amenity was provided including pots/pans/dishes/cutlery for the kitchenette a beach towel and even shower gel was also included. The only issue I had was the night before I was to leave, the smoke detector start chirping loudly at 10pm and kept doing so every 20-30mins. I had to sleep w/earplugs the last night because the ceilings were too high for us to reach it to change the batts, other than that small snafu, however, it was a wonderful stay! Chandra's dogs were super sweet and very socialized and well-behaved. And it was fantastic of her to offer some of the mangos that had fallen off her tree. They were delicious! Chandra also arranged for a rental car for me and the guy she uses dropped off the car at the property and allowed me to leave the car at the airport for pickup. Very nice service! The folks she has working around the property are also very sweet and approachable. I am terrible w/names, but the lovely gentleman that was working on the property the day before I left was kind enough to help me wash out my shoes w/the hose to remove all the sand. The main selling point and what makes this place such a bargain is the key you get to the private beach across the street. This in and of itself was worth every penny! I had the beach to myself almost every evening and it was one of the few beaches that wasn't covered in seaweed...just beautiful, secluded, turquoise Caribbean waters!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Jewel in Real Barbados

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Superb location, very chilled, garden magnificent with key to private beach.
Cons: Nothing. Leave it as it is. Some online agencies have location just off. Clearer location directions by them helpful
Location: Located on best beaches of Barbados. Use,the buses. $1 per ride anywhere on island. St Nicholas Abbey a must. Night cricket in Bridgetown.
Visited Barbados with team to review hotels. Anglers personal choice as wanted to not only visit 5/4 star hotels, but get the real feel of this island. Hit the jackpot. Situated in BEST section of island, Chandra patron friendly, helpful and welcoming, accommodation simple but has everything you need. Dogs no problem, and great guards so make you feel very safe. The garden is very lush, attracts beautiful bird life and gives very calm atmosphere. AND you are given key to gate that takes you onto private beach, 2 mins walk away. As good as Sandy Lane's with not intruding camera lens. Paradise. This is a lovely location for families too. Loads of space for kids to play, own kitchen so remember big hotels add 150% on imported goods thus trip to local supermarket keeps budgets sensible and each apt has outside dining facilities plus picnic tables in the gardens. Just loved staying here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A great budget stay & most excellent location!

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: It was quiet, we had privacy, the beach was AMAZING, the bed was very comfy and the shower powerful! FAB location for access to the rest of the island
Location: Secluded beach, snorkelling, swimming with turtles, 'The Cliff' restaurant, water skiing, Jet-skiing, diving, bus stop right there, local shops, cafes
Angler Apt's was perfect for our week's stay. We were on a tight budget as were here for a friend's wedding therefore this worked out great for us as a very reasonable rate for the week and we could self-cater. All the staff were really lovely and Chandra (owner) was most helpful and accommodating. She arranged a transfer for us both ways from the airport and she offered some catering services too. She even ensured there were beers in the fridge on arrival! We felt very welcome! The room was simply furnished, very clean and well appointed. Everything worked and was in good order. The kitchen area was fully fitted and the shower was nice and powerful. We had our own veranda with a table and chairs, air-con and a ceiling fan in the room. The biggest selling point, which we didn't know about when booking, is that there is the most beautiful secluded beach just a hundred metres away!!! The sand is nearly pink, the sea turquoise, and the sunsets immense! Just gorgeous. We were there every day and miss it a lot now we're home! The snorkelling is great; lots of fish and sea-life to see plus the sea is very shallow, calm and safe. We were able to stroll up and book our boat trips and water sports from the Crystal Cove section of the beach, with very few people ever venturing down our end (bliss!) We were also next door to the islands most exclusive restaurant 'The Cliff' and a short walk from cheaper eateries and bars and bus stops which took up to all major towns.
1 out of 5
by Scottie

Tired and dated

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Ebookers
Get what you pay for... Cheap but underwhelming. The apartment was clean but we couldn't escape the dark, dingy feeling from being in a very dated, musty accommodation. Location is good and the private beach was a bonus.
4 out of 5
by marsstar1 from ontario

Close to the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyed it for the value it offered. Close to the beach at a good price.