Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Convenient hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: On Beach, close dining.
Cons: A few more beach chairs.
Location: The beach at Carlisle bay was the nicest to walk on. It was about 1.5 miles long, as long as you can duck under the pier at Ramada.
It had almost 1/2 mile of fairly nice beach. The far end can be hard to walk except at low tide. Blue Orchid is at the best end of the beach for water access, as the middle has a rocky ledge to get over. A 2 min walk up the street gets you to another beach which is really a bunch of smaller beaches connected by a boardwalk. Although much of the boardwalk is buried in sand so it's not as easy of a walk as it sounds. Our favorite restaurant, Tiki was on this beach. We liked it for the atmosphere being right on the beach and swimsuit friendly, more so than the food. But the food we had was good. There are also several other dining options within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel. Ground floor room in back was nice. It had plenty of room, with a kitchen. I could see rooms closer to the road getting traffic noise. Parking is limited at the hotel. I always found a spot, but not by much. A small car helped. The same goes for the beach and pool chairs. Most days there was at least one chair available at any time, but would be tight with a full hotel. A second hotel, Coral Mist shares the beach chairs and parking. Although both hotels have a pool and separate reception desk, which is odd in the architecture and buildings look to be the same. The restaurant is in Coral Mist, but the game room is in Blue Orchid. I did not get around to finding the exercise room. Dining was busy at breakfast, less so at lunch, and we rarely saw people eating in the evening. A bar also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missiassippi

Blue Orchid Gem in Barbados

Posted Jun 11, 2017
What a gem!! My mother and I shared a one bedroom (twin beds) with full kitchen for a lovely week. This hotel is wonderful -we woke up everyday to a view of the aqua ocean and the sound of the waves crashes the sea wall. The hotel is small, quiet, and every room has an ocean view which is simply beautiful. We had a ocean breeze everyday and enjoyed sitting on our porch. The hotel is close to two markets, many restaurants, farmers market (Wednesday and Saturday),and wonderful beaches (besides the beautiful beach just steps from your room) all within walking distances. All the staff (Blue Orchid and sister hotel) are wonderful especially Reggie (activity director) , Stephen (driver), and the security staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

small pleasant hotel right on the beach

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: well situated and close to restaurants, bars etc
Cons: the hotel bar restaurant service could be speeded up
Location: On Worthing beach - with local restaurants and clubs close by and only a short distance from Bridgetown. A car would be very useful
we were a party of around 13 people and everyone enjoyed their stay. The staff was friendly and helpful although the bar restaurant service was rather slow.We mainly used the pool because the sea was rough with a strong breeze blowing nearly all the time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel right on the beach

Posted May 2, 2017
Great hotel right on the beach. Our room overlooked the pool/garden area. You can see and hear the ocean. At night it was quiet. Wonderful staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

King Size Bed??!

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Older crowd mostly
Cons: Move smoking areas away from rooms
Location: 5-10 minute walk to stores etc.
The reservation said king size, I paid for king size, I got two little beds pushed together. I asked about this at the desk but was informed that was all that was available. I spoke with the manager four days in when she replied to a problem I had with the remote on the first day, (The bathroom sink that barely drained never was attended to) I asked about the bed, and again, that was what they had available and they were the same size as a king size bed. I looked down and informed her that at 6 foot 6 I am very aware of the lengths of beds and any bed that my feet hang six inches off the end of is not King size. I let this go because they can't provide what they do not have. The rub is they do have king size beds. On my last morning I was speaking with a couple that arrived the night before, and they had an actual King sized bed, (no line down the middle, just one big bed) !!!!!? I checked out and asked the desk and was told those beds were not available for singles!!!!? Would I stay here again, nope, not a chance. Not being able to get a good nights sleep very negatively affected my vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the Beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Had a room right on the beach, which was upgraded from our booked room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location on the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Bottom line is - I'd happily stay there again. Only criticisms are that the Hotel looks a bit "tired" and could use a refurb, and the bar/restaurant is very small. However it was comfortable, staff were excellent - helpful and accommodating and everything worked including good WiFi in rooms. Gym, Pool, Beach, Sea and an excellent restaurant nearby. They also offer, subject to availability, late 3.00 pm and 6.00 pm checkouts for additional fees - $50 and $100 respectively, which is great for people catching a late transatlantic flight and don't mind paying the extra fee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Staff, Beach, Views on a budget price tag!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Only stayed 1 night here , due to arriving a day earlier on the island. The beach is beautiful, good waves but no undertow really; staff friendly and kind; view from room amazing!! Ocean front, could hear the waves crashing, had the best nights sleep in 10 years here!! Room itself is aging and needs renovations. Had to move to another room due to aircon "flood". The 2nd room was identical to the first, same condition. Very small beach restaurant was lively for breakfast and drinks. Not far from restaurants and St Lawrence Gap, we walked to the Gap for dinner and drinks! Berts Sports Bar close by for major sporting events (Super Bowl Party!) Not luxurious but I'd recommend it if you want to keep the price down and still have a nice resort, good enuf!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Check in was fast. Room was clean and environment peaceful and relaxing. Hotel is located on the beach which a plus. Great location, close to amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T STAY HERE!!! NIGHTMARE.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Booked in advance through expedia. Showed up after a long flight late at night only to be told they couldn't find our reservation and we're all booked up. Expedia confirmed they had been sent the reservation. Front desk staff was rude and dismissive. When it became apparent they would be responsible to pay for the new hotel I'd be sent to by expedia, I was pressured by the front desk staff to stay at an "apartment" just down the road for 100+ dollars (when I had booked and paid for a hotel room for over 300 dollars). As I waited on the phone with expedia to find a more suitable option than an apartment, the front desk clerk continued to come up to me while I was ON THE PHONE and suggest I just stay at the apartment she suggests because "they have to pay for it". She continued to ask me "did they (expedia) find a place and how much is it?" When I aseed if the hotel would transfer us to our new hotel (since we had already paid for and she's taxi to take us to this hotel which lost our reservation), I was greeted with a smirk and "NO". It took expedia over an hour to find an equivalent hotel room on short notice at 11pm athe night in Barbados (while I sat outside in the chilly night because the front desk clerk was harassing me to the heart point I needed privacy). The hotel is IRRESPONSIBLE, the staff was RUDE and pushy, and the hotel was disappointingly dated for the hehe outrageous price they charge (the areas we saw anyway). The hotel we transferred to was much nicer!