Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m. Miramar fl5florida

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Came to Barbados for the first time. Stayed in a nice room with a ocean view on the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Is this Paradise?

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: On the beach, laid back and relaxing. Towels, sunbeds, umbrellas always available. Turtles! Close to restaurants of varying types.
Cons: Rooms could do with lick of paint. Hotel could do more to educate guests on the turtles - I suggest a leaflet given out at check in.
Location: On the beach at Worthing just round the corner from Accra Beach and within easy walk of St Lawrence Gap either along the road or beach.
Visited the hotel in 2007 and 2008 and amazed that Reggie still remembered us after all that time when we returned in August this year! Hotel was quiet (but so was the whole area including the Gap) and the one bedroom apartment was good although could do with a lick of paint. The hotel is on the beach, which never had more than a dozen people on it ,and sunbeds, towels, umbrellas were easy - no getting up at dawn to reserve. Walking into the sea is like walking into a warm bath and nice and safe for children of all ages. No need to go on a trip to see turtles. We were lucky enough to see several turtles come ashore in the evening to lay their eggs. We also saw baby turtles including a whole nest making a break for it and trying to find their way to the sea. The room had full cooking facilities which we used for breakfast and lunch and was within walking distance within many decent restaurants including The Chopping Board at Mojos, which is just across the road, Stream and Castaways. We were also told about Just Grilling which was very good and also Chilly Moos Ice Cream Parlour. A couple of disappointments - St Lawrence Gap is certainly not what it used to be with many restaurants closed and not the vibrancy of the past. Several other attractions closed including The Graham Hall Sanctuary. The Soup Bowl choked with seaweed suggesting Barbados is in a bit of trouble. If you want relaxing it is definitely to be recommended. We are already looking at booking for next year.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Great location.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Most convenient location! Within walking to restaurants, shopping, supermarket and is located on an AMAZING beach! Good food at hotel restaurant. Pool and grounds maintained every morning. Housekeeping staff does a nice job. Best of all there's a fantastic view from your room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Cosy, intimate and worth the price

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Right on the main street where public transportation is easy to obtain. 1 min. walk to beach. Rooms were squeaky clean, with great views to the Sea. Vegetation and birds add to the authenticity of the environment. What a tranquil experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BDA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Nice hotel on the beach, close to shopping. Also has great live entertainment
4 out of 5
by Ronnie from Memphis

Air conditioning poor

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay air conditioning very poor
4 out of 5
by Rocio from Roberval, Canada


Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Nous sommes allez au Barbade pour un tournoi de tennis international, l'hôtel est super, la vue merveilleuse, les gens super agréables.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel at the beach..

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Location-staff-ocean view-proximity to restaurants and beaches
Cons: Ceiling fans needed in main living area
Location: Located on the main drag on the South Coast,nearby St Lawrence Gap(a good walk),close to restaurants,grocery store,pharmacy,some shopping.
Blue Orchids is in a great location,on the beach right next to Accra beach to one side and Dover beach on the other.There is a nice stretch to walk the beach,though it doesn't connect directly to Accra. Plenty of restaurants in close proximity,including Champers,Bert's and the boardwalk which includes Tapas,a great place for sunsets and good food. The hotel itself is not new,but in reasonable shape,the grounds are kept clean and maintained daily. There is a good security staff and the hotel personnel are very pleasant and helpful. Our room was an ocean view apartment which was no more than 40' from the beach,we could see and hear the waves 24/7. Overall no complaints,a suggestion would be to replace the light fixture in the main living area with a ceiling fan-A/C in the room was great,but the living room/kitchenette needed some breeze,we kept the doors to the balcony open but a fan would help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location but....

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
We booked this hotel fairly late on as we took an earlier flight (by 2 days) than planned. It was chosen because of the overall ratings and it's location close to Rockley Park and the Gap despite it being quite costly as the choice was limited. The welcome was lukewarm and we never felt particularly welcome throughout our stay albeit brief. The rooms were spacious with a wonderfully large terrace over looking the pool area and to the sea beyond. However, the floor space was limited as the rooms were overcrowded with unnecessary pieces of large furniture. The bed was so wide that there was no space for bedside tables and restricted access to the wardrobes. The bathroom was adequate. The bedroom ac was great but it was a shame it was limited to just the bedroom. Overall I felt the hotel was in need of a good modernisation and was overpriced for what it offered.