Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

nicely located with an amazing staff

Posted Oct 19, 2016
The colony is a great hotel, the location is perfect the beach is very nice. Amenities are nice though maybe in some areas TLC would be needed. Who cares cause the overall is just what you need for a perfect holiday. Breakfast is very good and has a lot of selections. What makes the Colony Club very special is the staff. They are just amazing and caring they will try to make you happy and will go out of their way to please you with a smile. It's our second time here and we will come back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southwest Florida

First Visit to Barbados

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Appearance of the hotel in terms of architecture, upkeep of buildings and grounds, beach area, food quality and variety. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: More info or assistance in tours available. I like the old way where there would be someone at the hotel who would arrange tours.
Location: Nice area of island with a beautiful beach. Within walking distance (approx 15-20 minutes) of Holetown for shopping and restaurants.
We were very pleased in our choice of hotel upon our arrival at the Colony Club. Overall, the condition of the property is very good, landscape very lush and appears well cared for. Each building had their own pool area for the most part. There is a beautiful pond surrounded in stone with koi fish and water lilies near the reception area. An open air/indoor restaurant (The Laguna) and an outdoor restaurant (Sunset) is available. The room was pleasant, plenty of hot water for showering, mini bar and good air conditioning system. Our stay was for 6 nights and we used the restaurants at the hotel for most all of our meals. Breakfast was included and the food selections each day was somewhat varied and very good. The hotel has a very good chef and the food served for our meals was excellent and of consistent quality. The beach was gorgeous- no grasses/weeds, clean sandy beach, crystal clear water, plenty of beach lounge chairs, towels. The hotel does offer some complimentary sport activities like stand up paddle boarding and small sail craft. The staff were really great people, friendly and accommodating if you needed anything. There were adequate staff at beach area, restaurants and public areas. Each day an information sheet is provided letting you know what activities are available that day provided by the hotel. We went on two tours arranged by the hotel - Mount Gay Rum Distillery and an Island tour going north of the hotel area and over to the east coast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Nice, staff very pleasant, however twice there were dirty cups, plates and utensils left outside our door from the other room and were not removed for a day even after we asked that they be cleaned up. I am sure they were seen by staff members.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The beach, a lot of open space.
Cons: The breakfast can definitely be improved both in quantity and quality.
Location: Holetown is in 15 min walk distance, and 5 min by taxi/car. Taxis charge 20 BDS for that distance. There is a shopping mall and restaurants there.
It was good overall. The room was very clean and spacious. There was room service twice a day. The exterior of the hotel wasn't in the best condition but that was because of the high humidity, nothing they can do about it. The staff at the reception was warm and welcoming but I can't really say the same for the other staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Wonderful staff made for a wonderful stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Not only was the staff very friendly but the food was great, resort is very accommodating and lots to do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

An excellent boutique hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a charming room with a lovely balcon. Breakfast buffet was a dream. The beach is wonderful, clean and very relaxing. It was an outstabding experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I think other reviewers were a bit generous...

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here based on other reviews (on Hotels.com and TripAdvisor) and while we had a good time - we definitely wouldn't go back. Why? I think the hotel had a major refurbishment in something like 1994 - and it shows! The rooms definitely aren't "suites" - in that they are just big rooms, the air conditioning is a bit hit-and-miss, and we only worked out after 10 days that there was an extractor fan in the bathroom - it just didn't work. Our biggest issue overall is that the food is, at best, mediocre. This may be our taste buds - but having stayed in St Lucia a couple of years ago - we found the experience was completely the opposite and we were actively trying to stop ourselves from eating more - rather than actively trying nearly every item on the menu to find something palatable. I would say my overall rating is probably 3.5 - but had to make it a 3 as for what ended up being £850/night (2 adults and 2 children) I did expect a *lot* more - especially from the food - but also the overall quality of the hotel. Saying that, can't fault the location - but agree with some of the comments regarding availability of sun loungers and having to get up at a ridiculous hour to reserve them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Just perfect for weekend get away
5 out of 5
by Kathryn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels