Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Overall good experience

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros - a la carte, size, tours, activities, food, location, snacks brought to you on the beach by staff, good free wifi, good beach loungers with individual shade options Cons - rocky beach, bathrooms are clean but could use updating, staff need to bring around alcoholic drinks to guests - no service here, not a lot of loungers around the pool
5 out of 5
by kenneth from bury

wonderful treat for our silver wedding

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
this was a special trip for our silver wedding anniversary and we were overwelmed with the service, and quality of food. The staff were helpful & friendly at all times. We enjoyed the watersport options on a few days and managed to swim with turtles in the sea opposite the hotel on a couple of days. Quite understand why they have so many repeat bookers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Awesome staff, very friendly and helpful Clean facility
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bit rough around the edges

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Food, beach and extra activities (e.g watersports and kids club)
Cons: The staff, I feel awful mentioning them here as some are so friendly. But they are slow, and the service is terrible. The decor is old and dated
Location: Great location, wonderful beach
I had a great holiday but unlikely to go back to this hotel. The food – I thought it was delicious. The menu is varied, and there is no chance to get bored as the food is changed daily. My only complaint is the food at lunch at the restaurant on the beach. This was tasteless and had been sat there a while, so stick to the main restaurant. Extra activities - The variety of free water sports available and the staff that work there are amazing. So helpful, and accommodating even for beginners. This was the same for the KidsClub. It was a great space with loads of toys, and they were so wonderful with my 1 year old daughter. The babysitters were also fantastic. Community feel – It is a small hotel, and as an all exclusive residence people don’t leave. I really enjoyed seeing the same faces regularly and all the guests are very friendly with each other. HOwever, the staff are slow and can be rude, you have to ask for things 3 times and they still don't come. Try telling a 1 year old her food is coming on Caribbean time. The decor is awful, and the whole place needs a refurb. Also it is not family friendly. This place is no good if you have children in a buggy. There are steps everywhere so it is just not practical. Also, people smoke around the pool. There was no where to escape with my baby to avoid this blowing in her face. I would suggest smoking and none smoking swimming pools. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

An exceptionally welcoming hotel!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Closeness to beach, free use of watersports
Cons: Room bathrooms, showers are a little tired looking. Mini bar in room, could at least be stocked with bottled water, however this is available from bar
Location: Great restaurant the Cliff is a 5 minute walk away.
Very friendly staff, beautiful location beside the beach, with great access! Hotel bathroom could however do with upgrading, the showers are a little tired, and our plug hole was blocked. It would also be nice if there was a stocked up mini bar with water etc. There's a wide range of watersports available from waterskiing, sailing to banana boats! Watersports staff can be a little short tempered, but they are approachable! The food is good, not fine dining, but acceptable. Breakfast were probably our favourite. Overall, for value, I would recommend this hotel to others!
3 out of 5
by Carol from New York City

Not the "Luxury" We Expected

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had expected Crystal Cove, the most expensive resort we visited, to be the highlight of our week in Barbados. We expected elegance and pampering, something really special. And the check-in lived up to our expectations: we were immediately offered comfortable seats in the courtyard and a rum punch. The staff member responsible for check-in brought the paperwork to us. Luxury! Unfortunately, the rest of our stay was a letdown. The biggest disappointment was the teeny tiny cramped room. We had just come from another resort where we had a huge suite for much less money, so we were kind of shocked. The small room did provide fast free Wi-Fi, good air conditioning, and reasonably nice toiletries in the bathroom (though not enough for two people). The resort is all-inclusive: meals were decent, though not outstanding; drinks, however, were another disappointment. None of us are big drinkers, but my beverage of choice is sparkling wine (not high-end champagne; cheap sparkling wine is just fine). At Crystal Cove sparkling wine was only available as part of a mixed cocktail; if you wanted a glass by itself, you had to pay extra. That hardly seems “all inclusive” to me. It seems ungracious; cheap. The atmosphere was restful, quiet; almost like my (fantasy) image of an English colonial club of another century. I can see that Crystal Cove can be a very pleasant seaside retreat for many people … but for us it just wasn’t worth the expense.
3 out of 5
by Carole

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Staff lovely and extremely accommodating. Room was extremely small--don't think worth the price. Food was ok.
4 out of 5
by Mike from Canada

Crystal Cove

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice resort. Beach was brown sand with some good swimming areas. Some areas were a little rocky. The atmosphere was relaxing and the pools were unique. The food was a little disappointing however. There was some effort there but not what I would expect for a resort at that price point. The room was comfortable with great beds and a balcony with a view (had a ocean view suite). Was only a three night stay as we stayed at another resort for the first 10 days. Might have become a bit dull for longer than 3 nights. Lots of fun with the water sports (banana boat/rings) but was closed one day due to very small waves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

We were really impressed

Posted Dec 7, 2015
my friend and me booked it last minute, to leave the cold for a weekend. We were really impressed by this hotel. Watersports are free and we did it all day long, the beach is amazing, so so beautiful. The food was great, drinks and alcohol all day long. if you wanne rest and have some fun you are right here. :-) i am definitly coming back here. xx Brenda
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Very average

Posted Nov 28, 2015
Small pools. Very limited food options. One restraunt had to fight off the flies and birds constantly. Hate having dress codes. You should be able to relax and feel comfortable when in a hot climate and you are on holiday. Staff were great. Room was spacious but not the cleanest.