Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Florida

No bang for your buck.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
First impression wasn't good, check-in was terrible no orientation was given at all. Luckily the cleaners and ground staff were very friendly and gave us the run down on the resort and points of interest to visit. Our room was in a great location but unfortunately it was mouldy and the ceiling was collapsing in the bathroom due to a water leak from the above room. No blanket only a sheet (ok if traveling through Asia on a budget). That is the reason for a low score for cleanliness and comfort, mould can kill. Breakfast was good with different items daily. Overall good location and friendly service/ground staff but not the bang you'd expect for your buck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

The food was tasty! Not a beach you can swim in!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The food was tasty.
Cons: It can be cleaner!
We got in around 8:30pm on a Saturday night. The room was small, plantation room! No balcony, no view. Entry door not secure as it is an old building. The sheets on the bed was dirty and had stains on it. The bathroom could have been cleaner. I did get a sheet from reception and had to make it up myself. The grounds could be cleaner! The resort is an old resort with lots of vegetation. The layout of the pool is interesting and I think the rooms around the pool might be nicer than the Plantation room. These rooms are not for single females. The thermos used for hot water was dirty and had lots of hard water stains and scale. .98xbnm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port-of-Spain, Trinidad

Grimy Hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, beachfront access
Cons: The overall cleanliness of the hotel and quality of food served.
Location: Near to several beaches, the Garrison, shopping centres and several restaurants.
Good location with direct access to a lovely beach and several nearby attractions. However, the hotel itself has a grimy appearance. The carpets and tiles are dirty throughout the hotel and a smell of stale food and oil pervades the main building.The bathrooms are very basic with inferior amenities. The access to the restaurants and beach is via a network of staircases which can prove hazardous in the rainy season. The elevators takes one through a network of dirty, back corridors. The food at the hotel is generally of poor quality and very basic with a very poor presentation and menu choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidas

Nice Hotel great amenities

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Breakfast was fantastic! Pool was lovely Beach rocky
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was very nice and accommodating.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Minimal beach area. Beach was very rocky. Location was okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel..rooms are comfy. .bathrooms are dated

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Cleanness and privacy
Cons: Lots of stairs to climb..notforphysical challenged unless on first foor
Location: On the ocean but not a good beach
Meals were good and varied..lots of confusion what restaurant was open and closed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pool and beach access

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
The pools and beach access are great. The food is not good and they only serve during certain hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Average hotel in a good location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was great. They made dinner reservations, called a cab, etc. to make our stay easy.
Cons: The food and service at Rachel's!!!!
Location: The location was okay. There were a few tourist spots within walking distance.
The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. The restaurant staff at Rachel's could use pointers from the front desk staff. I dined at Rachel's for breakfast and dinner and was disappointed with the service and the food. The best part of Rachel's is the view of the pool and the beach. I stayed in the "plantation" section of the hotel, which is the old section. The room was smaller than I expected based on the photos on the website and it definitely needs to be upgraded. The toilet didn't flush well, the tub became clogged (maintenance had to plunge it), and the shower curtain was dingy. For the rate paid, the room should be more comfortable. The lobby also needs work. The "business center" is one computer within view of everyone. To print a document, i.e. boarding pass, you have to email the document to the front desk and they will print it for a fee. Again, based on the rate paid, guests should be able to print 2 sheets of paper. Overall, Savannah Beach was okay but I'll definitely stay somewhere else on m next visit to Barbados.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice Beach resort

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: location, staff, grounds
Cons: upgrade bedding
Location: we were limited on time but squeezed in the Mount Gray Rum Tour which was excellent
Great location, close to transportation and shops. Easy check in process and friendly staff. I loved the design of the grounds - 4 levels, wrap around pool, and nightly entertainment. The room was quiet, spacious, and meticulously clean. Had fridge, safe, and TV Only complaint is the mattress and pillow were old...would love a pillowtop. Beach was a bit small but has special vip section for those who want a better beach experience. Food was overpriced - as it is on the whole island - and nothing special. Overall, I would stay here again - but get a better view next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
The buildings were beautiful and beach was a slice of heaven. However I did see a lot of empty glasses everywhere. Service was low because our meal at the drifters restaurant was not good. Perhaps we arrived too late (one hour before closing) and servers were preoccupied and food old. However they compensated the meal after a brief call to desk.