Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by kay from new york

I love barbados!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
This statement pertains only to the Sourhern Palms and particularly the day staff. We did not have this experience anywhere else in Barbados. I must say the place is lovely, the beach is beautiful and the location is really good. The problem was the staff. The bartenders were friendly and helpful but the rest of the staff were quite the opposite! Their attitude made you feel like you were bothering them by your very Presence. They were totally inflexible and not accommodating at all. The food is expensive and not very good. I have been to Barbados several times and the people are lovely and very friendly. The southern palms does not represent the country well at all.
5 out of 5
by Pete from Buffalo

Great trip!

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels
Staff could not have been nicer. Some very neat complimentary events - tea served daily at 4PM and a manager's reception were simply extra whipped cream on a great sundae. Beach and Pool offer up relaxing views to soak in some rays. Many amazing options in the vicinity for food (have to give both the pizza place across the street and Oceans 15 down the road positive reviews as well). There are many comments about "The Gap" and you only need a few moments into your first walk to understand - the locals are unique: it's a pushy kind of friendly. You are very very safe they just want to talk and sell you EVERYTHING (you can fight it, but you're not going to win: just laugh it off and keep on heading to your destination).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families and couples.

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: The beach is excellent. A relaxed atmosphere where everything is tended to quietly, efficiently. The afternoon tea and cakes are great too.
Cons: Going home
Location: Good for easy access to local, excellent restaurants and transport.
Nothing is too much trouble. The staff are courteous and friendly and very helpful. We feel relaxed and at home at The Southern Palms. The location is perfect for walking to local restaurants in The Gap and the food in the hotel is good. There is plenty of varied entertainment which is enjoyed by the local people too. The gardens are well tended and the bourganvillia were particularly beautiful this visit. We have stayed there at least three times and are already looking forward to our next visit.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Naples, FL, USA

Not worth it.

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Beach
Cons: Condition of rooms and common areas
Hotel was overpriced. Common areas were rundown and tired and not well maintained. Rooms were ok, but not at the price we paid. We were also charged $3 per day for in room safe. No in room coffee, could not get a cup of coffee in the restaurant until 7:30 am and no containers to take coffee to your room. Bar staff, some restaurant staff and some front desk staff had an attitude and not friendly. Beach was very good, but again not well maintained. Would never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

no better place for a amazing long weekend

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: excellent well priced drinks & unbelievable beach
Cons: not a single thing
Location: The Gap is fantastic for just about everything, food, nightlife, beaches
The laid back atmosphere takes a bit to get used to coming from the past faced high strung NY area, but the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcomed. Though the local area is amazing & though we chose to venture out a few times, there really was no need. The food and drinks were excellent, the beach was unparalleled and the overall experience was fantastic.
4 out of 5
by john

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay, beach was great, location was good, beach bar was good, steel band on Sunday was excelent, room and TV were small, balcony was great
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach for swimming but my room was too hot.

Posted Jun 26, 2012 on Hotels
Soft white sand with beautiful water. The pool was large but too warm. The food was good with good service. My air conditioning was more like a fan. My room was hot when I arrived and was a long walk from the pool, restaurant, and lobby. The air automatically cuts off if you leave the room more than five minutes so your room will be hot every time you return. It never did get comfortable. I asked for an upgrade but was denied. It didn't look full to me. No drink or snack machines and a long walk to a store with panhandling and street vendors nagging you all the way. Plenty of catamaran and jet ski rentals on the beach. Nothing for snorkelers to see. Be sure to have Barbados currency for the street vendors for the best price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bapu from Paris, France

Hot water

Posted Jan 26, 2012
Pros: beach and bar
Cons: plumbing defective and took two days to fix
Location: excellent
Excellent, except that the hot water in our room was off for two days running.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Southern Palms - upgrade!

Posted Aug 12, 2011 on Hotels
We booked a 'garden view' room to begin with.....the room itself was small but clean, and even had an ocean and pool view - we were pretty pleased, until we discovered the AC didn't work - at all. After a VERY hot first night, we talked with the front desk folk (VERY nice!!) and decided to upgrade to a 'junior luxury suite' for $50 more a night. What a difference!! It was basically a one-bedroom apartment, complete with kitchen, dining, living and bedroom areas, and a full bath. Extremely clean, beautiful views and quiet. Room 237 - ask for it! We LOVED it, and will be back - someday!! Staff was wonderful everywhere!