Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by kay from new york

I love barbados!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
This statement pertains only to the Sourhern Palms and particularly the day staff. We did not have this experience anywhere else in Barbados. I must say the place is lovely, the beach is beautiful and the location is really good. The problem was the staff. The bartenders were friendly and helpful but the rest of the staff were quite the opposite! Their attitude made you feel like you were bothering them by your very Presence. They were totally inflexible and not accommodating at all. The food is expensive and not very good. I have been to Barbados several times and the people are lovely and very friendly. The southern palms does not represent the country well at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families and couples.

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: The beach is excellent. A relaxed atmosphere where everything is tended to quietly, efficiently. The afternoon tea and cakes are great too.
Cons: Going home
Location: Good for easy access to local, excellent restaurants and transport.
Nothing is too much trouble. The staff are courteous and friendly and very helpful. We feel relaxed and at home at The Southern Palms. The location is perfect for walking to local restaurants in The Gap and the food in the hotel is good. There is plenty of varied entertainment which is enjoyed by the local people too. The gardens are well tended and the bourganvillia were particularly beautiful this visit. We have stayed there at least three times and are already looking forward to our next visit.
2 out of 5
by Bill from Naples, FL, USA

Not worth it.

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Beach
Cons: Condition of rooms and common areas
Hotel was overpriced. Common areas were rundown and tired and not well maintained. Rooms were ok, but not at the price we paid. We were also charged $3 per day for in room safe. No in room coffee, could not get a cup of coffee in the restaurant until 7:30 am and no containers to take coffee to your room. Bar staff, some restaurant staff and some front desk staff had an attitude and not friendly. Beach was very good, but again not well maintained. Would never go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

no better place for a amazing long weekend

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: excellent well priced drinks & unbelievable beach
Cons: not a single thing
Location: The Gap is fantastic for just about everything, food, nightlife, beaches
The laid back atmosphere takes a bit to get used to coming from the past faced high strung NY area, but the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcomed. Though the local area is amazing & though we chose to venture out a few times, there really was no need. The food and drinks were excellent, the beach was unparalleled and the overall experience was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bapu from Paris, France

Hot water

Posted Jan 26, 2012
Pros: beach and bar
Cons: plumbing defective and took two days to fix
Location: excellent
Excellent, except that the hot water in our room was off for two days running.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Peaceful + Great Location

Posted Jun 15, 2011
This is a comfortable hotel where you can relax on an uncrowded beach. The location is great because it is walking distance to restaurants but not close enough to be disturbed by noise. When we 1st arrived the oceanview room they gave us had a huge tree growing in front that blocked our view of the ocean. We told them we were not satisfied and they showed us two other rooms for us to choose from. Both with nice views of the ocean with a balcony. A couple of evenings evening we sat on our beach chairs on the beach and watched the sun set as we sipped rum punch and munched on fruit and nuts. The stars were amazing and the water hitting the shore relaxing. During the evening they had different bands playing at the outdoor bar on the beach where you could have a drink and a meal and catch a breeze. Some of the area restaurants are expensive. If you are looking for value try "The Ship Inn" Restaurant buffet for lunch or dinner. Each day at 3pm they have complimentrary afternoon tea with a pastry. A nice touch. Not a luxury hotel but comfortable and clean with a friendly staff. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NYC

Next time Barbados will definately stay her again

Posted Mar 16, 2011
A short-cut from airport thru a not-so-nice neighborhood to hotel plus being told our king bed request wasnt granted, seemed to start things off on wrong foot. happy to say all else from that point was great! staff was awesome, location is great - walk to choice of 12 bars/restaurants, where locals couldnt be more friendly !! this is not 4 or 5 star but if you want a nice hotel (could use fresh coat of paint), on beach, great location and affordable, this is the perfect place! if i ever go back to Barbados, i wouldnt stay anywhere else !! i appreciate reviews with suggestions so...McBrides and Ragae Bar - great bands, very nice dinner at Champers + friday fish fry is a must. rented a car (Moke) 1 day - all i'll say is good luck getting around (no signs) but fun time !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

HOME RUN WITH THIS HOTEL

Posted Oct 8, 2010
If I didn't say enough above, we love to travel and the adventure of going to new places and finding gems along the way are what makes the adventure even more special. The Southern Palms was a gem. I kept taking pictures out our balcony and it was always the same, absolutely beautiful! Very clean beach, very peaceful setting. The place next door had a crowded beach and then ours started and had maybe 1000 feet of shoreline that was dotted with palms. They have a great corner on prime real estate and the beach is stunning. Turtles were spotted every now and again and the water was beautiful. Nice bar under a low slung roof, took a bucket of beers to our chairs one afternoon and just vegged out. Some may like all inclusive, but our drill is explore and meet the locals for advice on the places to go and experience the culture. Bridgetown a good half day explore and then get Alwin to take you around the island for a good look into Barbados. Don't buy a coconut from the vendor across the street if he looks raggedy, he just started hacking with his machete and wouldn't listen that we only wanted one not two and don't buy anthing without knowing the price. We didn't pay for the 2nd, but it felt awkward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Southern Palms Resort stay July 2010

Posted Jul 28, 2010
We just returned from 5 nights at the Southern Palms and we very much enjoyed our visit. We had a second-floor beachfront room in the new section (room 209) and we were most satisfied with the accommodations. Our room was nice and the beach/ocean view was spectacular. We did not purchase the meal plan because we prefer to sample the local restaurants (which were all very good but a little on the expensive side- relative to the other islands we have visited). While the resort's breakfast buffet was sumptuous, it was very expensive ($26.50 US, I believe) so we elected to eat breakfast at Happy Days Cafe across the street (pancakes, bacon and coffee for a very reasonable $7.50) or order ala carte at the resort restaurant (where the above ran $10.00). We checked our e-mail and used the internet in the resort's computer room (no charge and seldom in use when we went there). The resort's pool, beach, landscaping and buildings are beautiful and in excellent condition! There was very nice live music 3 of the 5 nights which was very nice and the bands were quite good. The resort's location is excellent and was one of the reasons I chose to stay here; it is very close to some nice shops, restaurants, bars, etc., as well as a bus stop (cheap and fun way to get to Bridgetown). Our only complaint about the island, and to a lessor extent the resort ,is that some of the tourist industry people were not overly friendly, as they are in the 6 other Caribbean islands we've visited.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

OK

Posted Feb 3, 2010
The location was great, very close to the Gap. However the Gap is starting to show it's age. The nightlife was very strange, the bars were empty unless it was "their night" and still empty until 11:00. The hotel staff was so UNfriendly, even the bar tenders! No greeting, no thank-you's, just a blank stare waiting for your order. Dale, the waiter was the only staff that was friendly. The frozen drinks were very weak, we bought a flask size of rum to add. The beach has no umbrellas and only a few palms to sit under. However, this does make the beach not crowded, as compared to the surrounding hotels. So all in all, the hotel was fine, but not great.