Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex UK

Nice hotel to relax

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Location for a relaxing holidy - size of the hotel - quality of accommodation
Cons: Cuisine - Big time
Location: Remote on north east cost - 50 mins to Bridgetown, but close to St Nicholas Abbey, The animal flower cave and wild life parks
Nice hotel to relax - although bus services good, need a car to explore - amenities at hotel good - spa and art gallery prices over the top - very disappointed with food though - was led to believe good quality cuisine - we ate there twice and food was cold and very small portions - good job we were not all inclusive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Small friendly hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Very friendly. Staff helpful. Set in tropical gardens fab swimming pool. Shuttle bus to take you down beach 10 minutes away. Felt menu could change a bit to much same food. The general manager should listen to comments made by guests to improve on issues
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Well kempt hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015
This is a very beautiful, well kempt hotel with lovely surrounding and very quiet location. A real difference from the traditional Barbadian experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oz

2 resorts for the price of 1

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Beautiful surrounds, peaceful, access to beach resort - adds variety.
Cons: Earlier breakfast to cater to early risers like me.
Location: Gully walk, beach,
I had 3 nights in Barbados, and spent 2 nights at Sugar Cane, my first night at Hilton (see separate review). Hotel's at the opposite end of island from airport. It's inland, on top of a hill with views of the sea. Grounds are beautiful, with cabanas/accommodations scattered around the grounds, reasonably far apart so you don't feel crowded. Saw monkey on my gully walk around the property. Take the shuttle service to Almond BEach - it's a sister resort, so can have meals, drinks there if you're on an inclusive. Sun lunch was roast beef. It was the low season when I was there so the beach wasn't crowded. The Almond BEach is also beautiful - spacious grounds, with pools adjacent to beach, and walking distance to Speightstown. Also no seaweed on beach! I recommend the all-inclusive package otherwise you'd have to go to Speightstown - food was plentiful, ranging from OK to good. Breakfast doesn't start till 8 am.
4 out of 5
by Helen from Canada

Beautiful resort .......

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Sugar Cane Club and Spa is a beautiful and well maintained property. It is located in Maynards, approx 45 min drive from the airport in Bridgetown. If you are taking a taxi to the resort, be prepared to pay $50 US each way. The resort's website quoted a rate of $50 US return and the error was only revealed to us when we were making arrangements to be picked up at the airport. They apologized for the error but made no attempts at compensation. We appreciated the wicked rum punch that was offered to us on arrival. It is one of the best rum punches that I have tasted. It is an adult only hotel and is a good ways away from the beach and the heavy traffic so it is definitely a good place to relax. The nights are quiet, there was no entertainment while we were there. There are two restaurants and the Resort provides a full breakfast which was actually good. I wasn't impressed with the dinners which we found to be very expensive and the portions were small. The rooms are equipped with full kitchens and living area; the bedroom was spacious and the bed comfortable. There is a flat screen TV and cable in the living area but the reception was poor and we gave up on trying to watch any shows. WiFi worked well in the public areas but limited access in the rooms. It rained slightly while we were there but for the most part, we enjoyed good weather.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Really friendly staff quite setting good foods Would recommend this to friend family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Best hotel ever stayed in-great food, staff, room!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach, Holetown shopping, port
Stayed all inclusive - food was varied every day and always a healthy choice! The basic garden view is still amazing - we had our own balcony, lounge and kitchen. All of the staff were super friendly, as were all locals in Barbados. The excursions and use of big hotel on beach made a difference too. We were there for a wedding which was amazing and the spa treatments we had was great - I really can't say a bad word about it!
5 out of 5
by David from West Yorkshire

Very enjoyable stay at Sugar Cane Club, March 2015

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
The accommodation is first class and all suites include a full kitchen which my wife and I made full use of as we enjoy self catering (we both enjoy cooking) and had booked a 'room and breakfast only' stay. Other guests were enthusiastic about the restaurant meals too and you can upgrade to 'all inclusive' if you wish. We had a hire car for much of our stay but also made use of the free shuttle down into Speightstown and to the sister resort where you can make use of the beach facilities. For snorkelling we found the adjacent beach of Port St Charles was generally very good, though you would need your own equipment as none available there. We made good use of the pool and the squash court on the resort, and they offer a free snorkelling trip in a glass-bottomed boat which gives you a good trip along the coast and a chance to swim with some turtles that are commonly found in Alleynes Bay. As we were largely self catering we found the best supermarket was a few miles south in Holetown. All-in-all a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tewkesbury UK

Great for relaxing.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: It is quiet, calm, peaceful, relaxing, away from noise - apart from the occasional cockerel. It is also easy to use the shuttle to the beach or town.
Cons: More rooms with walk-in showers, or at least grab handles over bath, for guests with reduced mobility. A later last pick-up by shuttle e.g 6.00pm
Location: Set in lovely grounds. Easy to get to towns for entertainment , restaurants, bars and shops. Turtle watching, snorkelling, jet-skis from some beaches.
Just returned from yet another wonderful holiday at The Sugar Cane Club. So relaxing and comfortable. The staff members, managers, reception, waiting staff, chauffeur, bar staff, gardeners, room attendants and chefs etc, are all so welcoming, perpetually smiling, helpful and efficient. We enjoyed life in a beautiful garden - at times being entertained by the Green Monkeys in the mornings, as well as gentle music on many evenings. Barbecues by the pool by torch and lamplight. If it rains, the rain is warm! Food even better this year, with a good selection of wine .. and the rum punch is just as good as before!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great trip

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely setting with very helpful and friendly staff