Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

I love the Crane, doing a timeshare!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Perhaps bathrobes in the rooms.
Location: Easy access to a gas station and grocery store. Great restaurant, Marco Polo next door--get the lion fish and macaroni pie.
A great place. The setting and grounds are just beautiful. Our room--a deluxe suite was lovely--beautiful furnishings and patio with comfy chairs. A fully equipped kitchen. The beach was the best. Pink sand, a cliff to jump off from, and nice waves. Restaurant were all good--not overpriced and delicious. The staff was friendly and great. I am going back again, I decided to do a timeshare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that we have taken note of the area suggested for improvement. We look forward to welcoming you when you return as an owner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thought we had an ocean view but it was a garden

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Cons: Booking experience was unclear as I thought I was getting an ocean view and an all inclusive
Location: Nothing to do nearby. Very isolated and dated/run down. Nearest activity was over 45 minutes away.
Horrendous. Thought we had an ocean view and turned out it was a garden view for over $900 per night! Thought it was incisive and turns out it wasn't. My daughter got found poison. Needless to say, a very unpleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
The Crane's removed location on the South East Coast of Barbados is perfect for those who wish to get away from it all on their Barbados vacation. While we are disappointed The Crane did not suit your needs, we hope you'll return to our beautiful island to experience more of what it has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach, FL

The Crane - Outstanding Property

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The Crane is a complete resort with everything you need in one place... and no traffic concerns and a great staff to take care of all your needs...
The Crane is a jewel in the Caribbean... a must see and experience... the beach, pools and the rooms are fantastic.. I highly recommend this resort. The southeast coast is beautiful and peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Wales

Elegance & history in a breath-taking location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: The apartments we've stayed in are generously proportioned with well-equipped kitchens and enormous bathrooms. Staff are friendly & helpful.
Cons: Some of the furnishings are beginning to look a bit tired, eg. the mattresses on the sun loungers on our terrace really were pretty grim.
Location: There are 3 good restaurants at the property - others are a 20-30 minute drive away. And it's very handy for the airport!
We have visited the Crane many times but last year and this year we actually stayed there. When the site was first developed we thought it would never work - 'It'll be a white elephant!', we said - but happily, we were wrong. 20 years on, the development has matured well and is still growing. The gardens really are fabulous - it's like being in the tropical house at Kew - and the way the original buildings (dating back to the 1800s) have been integrated into the scheme is just delightful. What you don't realise until you're a resident is that the site is enormous and contains several swimming pools as well an outside bar and restaurant. There are elegant classical sculptures in the grounds, and as you wander over the headland you can look down into the aquamarine water and spot turtles and rays swimming off the rocks. There's usually a lovely breeze, and at night, the main restaurant terrace is a great place for star-gazing! The beach is justly famed for its beauty, though it's not great for swimming. We'd booked a garden suite this time but in fact our apartment had an amazing ocean view, so presumably that was an upgrade (thanks!).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Crane. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The views of the ocean and the hotel garden is amazing
This hotel was amazing. Very serene and relaxing. The five restaurants at the hotel were all great. The hotel gift shops and the jewelry store were very convenient. My Spa experience was very relaxing and a nice treat while on vacation. The ocean view was breath-taking and just magnificent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Crane. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good but cheesy

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was nice and people were overall attentive but it's a timeshare place and some of the areas look very cheesy and contrived. Beach setting is gorgeous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are happy to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. It is shocking that you found some areas to be “cheesy”, as this is a departure from the usual descriptions of our property. Thank you for choosing The Crane. It was our pleasure to host you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Destin, USA

Amazing

Posted Nov 20, 2016
From the staff to the resort to the amazing beach, it was truly an amazing experience. I would recommend it to anyone. Very quiet and low key.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

World Class Crane Resort

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: I love, the Beach, Castle Hotel, Restaurants, Breeze, Pools, Steel Drums Music, Sound if the waves and tree frogs at night, and all the people that work at this resort! Safe secure and simply sensational!
Cons: There is nothing I did not like, but I don't want everyone to go there because I like it quiet and private! Lol
Location: Harrison Cave is a fun visit but truly the resort is my one stop and I don't want to leave!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We are happy to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. Please be assured that we have also taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The all-inclusive package was excellent with several restaurants to choose from.
Cons: Some of the wait staff were rude at breakfast. The ocean was very rocky and full of kelp. The ocean on the Caribbean side may have been more pleasant.
Location: The trip to Oistins was nice on Friday night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review. We are happy to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. Please be assured that we have also taken note of the areas you highlighted for improvement. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Would not go back.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The restaurants are good and the beach is lovely.
Cons: Our room had a leak in the ceiling and it took 4 phone calls,over 3 hours and a walk to the front desk to finally get someone to look at it. And even after they looked at it they did nothing to remedy the problem. Basically if you have a problem your on your own. Also the entertainment options were horrible. Your only options were to go to the beach or the gym. This hotel is not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by CraneBarbados, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased to note the areas you enjoyed during your stay. While we are disappointed The Crane did not suit your needs, we hope you'll return to our beautiful island to experience more of what it has to offer.