Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Michelle is the soul of the hotel.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The friendly Michelle. The south beach concept which is sadly in need of some sprucing up , the friendly chef, the board walk , the beach, the sounds
Wait staff in the restaurant are pleasant. Up scale items such as lobster and steak are ridiculously over priced. Bar service is unfriendly . You have to go and get your own drinks. There is no service at your chair at the pool. There is only one towel rack in the bathroom and no place to hang up your wet beach towels. Lots of noise from the traffic on the road . Doors are not insulated.No elevator so you have to climb down 5 flights of stairs from your room to,have breakfast , lunch or dinner. The rooftop patio is a work in progress. No bar service on the beach. Chunks of wood missing in the door, black finger marks all over the doors. Definitely not up to par with other all inclusive properties in Barbados, but okay if you can get it for $300 per night, but not worth a penny more
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CANADA

Nice Hotel, close to the beach. The beach is clean

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful.The beach and Sea is very close and the place isclo clean.The meals are very good,excellent chief and staff.
Cons: An elevator is highly recommended.
Location: The Soco Hotel is close to the city Bridgetown, there are water sports such as jet skiing, snorkeling ,organized island tours and entertainments.
Had a very nice time. Staff very friendly and helpful.The Hotel is small but the love is big.Transportation for most parts of the Island is just outside the gate. The Ocean view is beautiful. I recommend Soco Hotel for a nice quiet and friendly place for a peaceful holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macomb, United States of America

Disappointing

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Michelle who welcomed us; Fabian who is one of the bartenders and by far the best bartender we have ever had, he was always in a good mood, made new cocktails all the time and knew what you would like without even asking,we never left the bar unhappy or sober when he was there,of course the views from our room were fantastic and we got many beautiful pictures.Now to what you should know before booking this hotel. The rooms are not clean as you can see in the pictures. The whole stay there was a hair that was not ours in the shower and clearly they never clean the shower since it was there the whole time. There was dirt on the walls and the tile. The sink was never actually cleaned since after killing a bug two days in it remained there the rest of the trip,never cleaned. Bath towels and beach towels were sparse some days we did not even get new towels. The entire cleanliness of the room was very poor with dirt on the walls, chipped paint in the bathroom (pic), filthy lamp shade (pic) and clearly the floors were not swept every day.The balcony is leaning.There is a a coffee pot in the room but no cups.At night after it rained there were big bugs flying around landing on our food and drinks and going inside there was a cockroach on the wall. The other two bartenders had no personality,never smiled,made the bar experience unenjoyable. And to make the bar worse they constantly ran out of booze! Last they don't have nearly enough sun beds! Good luck getting one
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Enjoyable for short stays.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: All rooms face the ocean and the view is lovely and so are the sunsets. The Staff is very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Not enough lounges for all guests, so one must be on the hop to reserve those available. Shade is evasive. Lobby could use some Bajan artwork.
Location: Not a great location for shopping. Must take bus/taxi to other areas for entertainment and good shopping.
Room was comfy, but nowhere to hang anything wet. Hotel rule- nothing to be hung off balcony, but inside offers no option. Great ocean views from the room, but back of hotel on a busy street, with honking buses/taxis. No honking through the night though. Great boardwalk for jogging/walking. No entertainment after dinner - you are on your own. Menus are repetitive, but food is good. There is a reef out in the ocean for snorkelling and this breaks the waves, so swimming area is fairly calm and shallow. Sand is deep for walking. . Enough hot water and is drinkable. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by The Soco Hotel , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, feedback is important to us. We have resolved the issue with the lounge chairs. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best place to stay to enjoy Barbados

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The facility is great the location is perfect, but what makes this place the best place in my opinion to stay in Barbados is the people that work there. The staff is so accommodating and so friendly. The food is really good.The crowd that stays there is a little older which is nice because it creates a wonderful place to just relax (No screaming kids in the pool LOL)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by The Soco Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. The Soco Hotel is an adults only boutique hotel. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice for couples or girlfriends trip

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Very clean beautiful view. There is a small beach quite just steps away. The pool is nice but small and the bar is right there. There is just one restaurant the food and staff are really good. Menu isnt too much of a variety but they switch it daily with some standard items daliy. This is a great place if you just want a vacation to relax. It more of an adult only place kids will be bored. There is just one king bed and pull out couch. Great for couples or girlfriends get away. 2nd or 3rd floor best views
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by The Soco Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. The Soco Hotel is perfect for couples and groups of friends looking for a relaxing holiday. We are adults only. We hope that we can welcome you back to Soco in the near future. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Loved it

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The friendly guests, view, and food. Waking up to the waves heading downstairs for a delicious breakfast and coming back to a clean room :)
Cons: N/a
Location: No reason to leave
Amazing will definitely come back. Great view clean and friendly employees. Michelle especially was a jack of all trades. Whether it was front desk, taking pictures, Bartenders, helping us with yours, or helping us with the menu great customer service...Thumbs up. I also can not forget the bartender thank you all very much your team at Soho are great at what they do We met some great people at this hotel definitely memorable. I really didn't want to leave but back to reality and away from paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by The Soco Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so thrilled to learn that you will definitely be back, we look forward to it! Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel and staff.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: On ocean front. Great Board walk allows beautiful path for morning walk. Bus stop in right there - inexpensive way to visit Bridgetown and shopping.
Location: Take an island tour -- 5-7 hours to get flavor of local culture and beauty
We had a great time. Resort only has 24 units so it is very close and personal -- after a day you knew all the staff and resident. Nasica is the best waitress ever !! Facilities were clean and comfy, All inclusive menu is limited but never had a problem finding something to order. All meals are cooked fresh and the quality was 3+ star. Michelle does a good job providing options to tour the island, enjoy the night life or get out on ocean to snorkel, see the turtles or watch a sunset. Turtles swimming right in front of the hotel daily. Weather was a bit iffy in Oct but showers passed quickly and the sunshine returned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

perfect stay!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Very intimate. Guests very sociable. AMAZING FOOD
Cons: A little TOO quiet. Low music at the pool. No entertainment or activities. But many day and evening activities/events nearby
Location: Very close to airport, Oistins Fish Fry (a MUST), Bridgetown & St Lawrence Gap. Nice strip of local bars
This is a very laid back quiet hotel!! There is no daytime or evening entertainment. But was the perfect relaxing vacation. Beachfront. Very calm and clean waters! Beach is public but not populated. FOOD WAS AMAZING!!!!! PERFECT LOCATION. Rooms/hotel very modern. On the boardwalk that takes u to other beach bars. Would def come stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Beach and food.
Cons: Entertainment on premises.
Location: The Gap, catamaran cruise, and a lot of local restaurants and bars.
SoCo hotel meet my expectations. Pictures do not do the beach justice. Overall my favorite amenity of the hotel. Beach is a public beach so open to locals. Food was phenomenal!! 5 star. Not too many young visitors at the hotel so if you're looking to "party" this is not the place for you, however very relaxing and the perfect place to disconnect. I would definitely be returning to Barbados and will use this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by The Soco Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us at The Soco Hotel in Barbados, we are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that hopefully one day we will be welcoming you back!