Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Disappointing

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Location and views.
Cons: Variety of meals provided.
Location: Location is approximately half hour away from major attractions on the Island (Caves, Oistins, Bridgetown, Lime Grove)
The Hotel has a great location directly on the Beach with great views. However during our stay the elevator was out of service (we were advised that it was being 'service') and the larger of the two pools was not functional. Additionally, on one of the days of our stay the Hotel hosted a vacation camp for many young children, the hotel and restaurants for the entire day was noisy and disruptive with guests receiving minimal attention and no prior notice of this camp. The one working pool on this day was also completely taken over by the Camp. The Hotel is also split between two locations which is not very convenient and the restaurant menus needs some work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/All-inclusive

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The beach was connected to the hotel which was great, the food is amazing, the staff are friendly, the views are breath-taking. My only con would be the lack of activities and entertainment at the hotel, out of all the nights I stayed, we only saw one entertainer. Otherwise, overall great experiences
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Nice hotel on the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was tasty. Only downfall no air conditioning through the entire hotel, only in room. Lobby and restaurants are open ventilation with ceiling fans. Seaport restaurant one can feel the breeze from the ocean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

GOOD FOR A QUICK GETAWAY

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The people. Brenda is amazing and Sou Chef, Nicholas is Fantatic. Appreciate everything he did to help my daughter on a school project!!
Cons: The food was ok but there was only one restuarant open per night. There was no snacks throughout the day for kids and tea time changed daily..strange
Waves was not what we expected according to the pictues and as an all inclusive hotel. The people there were all friendly and couldn't have been nicer and accomondating. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and the room was spotless with good A/C. We were able to swim with the turtles, jet ski and snorkle all from the beach at the hotel. There were many other activities as well..some free and some not. All in all it was a good trip but definitly would stay at a resort for a longer stay in barbados.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Ocean view room

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Very deceiving photos for advertising. We have been to many carribean all inclusive hotels including Aruba, Curacao, Riviera Maya, Bahamas, Punta Cana and Ocho Rios but this by far is the worse hotel we have ever stayed in. Most people staying are from UK and few fellow Americans but all we talked to were equally as disappointed as us.Heres why, its split into 2 parts. Ocean view building , where there are 2 restaurants ( oliver Twist & Seascape) and a smal pool for adults and children . The 2nd building is acros the street ( day time gets very busy and needs some patience to cross, some Bajans do drive awefully fast!) This building has the spa , adult pool and " East " restaurant (asian cusine)Best one of all. spa or pool view is by far the worse in our opinion . The pool had a stench , especially the part close to the spa. No one ever sat near it ! Pool water was visibly dirty, the whole time we stayed we did not see anyone cleaning or maintaining the pool&surroundings. Spa service was mediocre. Food is horrible and bland. Oliver twist serves Bite size servings! Everyone walks out hungry! NO fresh room towels daily as per management. Beach towels can only be changed at 4:30 daily if u miss it u wait the next day. Locks for rent is $150 refundable when returned. Mean workers. Vendors will harass u even when u say NO. Wear water shoes ! A girl stepped on a sea urchin & had a bad cut on her foot. Tree nearby that causes bad rashes! only beautiful part is the small beach area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Aug 13, 2015
The staff at Waves is wonderful, especially Jackie, she was helpful in scheduling all of our excursions. The room was clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The private beach was a plus as well. Highly recommended.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by The Team at Waves, EPC
Thank You for your review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados & Waves in the not to distant future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Good food, right on the beach, water sports, easy access to public transport.
Cons: The check in time was advertised as 2pm on Expedia and thew hotel website but it's actually 3pm. The website should be kept up to date.
Location: Short bus ride away from malls (10mins). West Side mall, Lime Grove mall(designer duty free shopping mall).
Overall, it was good. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by The Team at Waves, EPC
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay with us at Waves. We pride ourselves in delivering the highest standard of service and accommodations and want to thank you for reflecting that in your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Waves when your travels return you to the beautiful island of Barbados
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and great experience

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Had a wonderful experience. The friendliest staff and exceptional service. The receptionist, Jackquline (Jacky) was amazing in providing services interms of tours and spa appointments as well as directions. Definitely will be visiting again.
Comment from EPC
Aug 18, 2015 by The Team at Waves, EPC
Thank You so much for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Jacky, she will be very happy to learn her services were so helpful to your stay and overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, NY

Decent Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The views of the beach were beautiful; I felt safe; the managers party on Monday night had delicious barbequed food; pretty pool area.
Cons: The pool shouldn't be across the street; the mixed drinks were not good; attitude of the front desk staff was poor; needs more food options at buffet.
Location: Location of Waves is boring compared to rest of Barbados. Easy to travel country with local bus. Oistins has great food. See the turtles!
Waves has beautiful views of the beach, which it sits right on; the rooms are pretty, the food is good and most of the staff is stuck up. Traveling with my family (11 people) we were not warmly welcomed upon checking in; the woman at the front desk was asking for confirmation documents or confirmation on my cell phone - I have traveled within the US and all over the West Indies and have never been hounded for a confirmation number. It's 2015 and I would expect my information is in their computer system. We had ID's available if need be. We were able to check in but I was told she'd need the confirmation numbers later - I had no intention of doing that and they never asked again. My aunt, who is very sensitive to smells and has nasal issues, was put into a room that wreaked of cigarettes and was told by hotel staff that they cannot do anything about it because that is the room Expedia booked for the package. The room was eventually changed but the issue had to be pushed. The food at the hotel is good but nothing to rave about. Some surprises when getting there - the buffet is only available for dinner on certain nights; there are a few hours in the afternoon when no food is available but room service is for a $5 fee; the pool is across the street from the main part of the hotel which you have to cross a road to get to. The hotel is boring and entertainment is limited to a few nights a week. With the exception of a few, the staff is not friendly. I wouldn't recommend Waves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

The view is unbeatable!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: We upgraded to an ocean view room thanks to a very helpful Ms. Gaskin. The room was very comfortable and the ocean view was totally worth it!!
Cons: Some staff were extremely pleasant while others seemed to have an attitude. I'm not sure if that is the norm but a smile goes a long way!
Location: We took the local buses around the island. They were easy to navigate and were frequent enough so that we never had to wait more than a few minutes.
This was our first all-inclusive hotel vacation. We weren't sure what to expect and ended up having a wonderful time. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere and is a great place to decompress. Pros: amazing beach, activities/equipment prepped and ready to go (kayaking, snorkeling, etc), comfortable room with ocean view (!!), yummy drinks. The hotel isn't overly fancy and I enjoyed the simplicity of everything ranging from the food to the gym. Cons: Some of the staff were not too friendly. The activities schedule posted was slightly off but we just asked the staff for updates. There were solicitors who would come on the beach and try to sell boat/jet ski rides. They were a little aggressive in my opinion. *We didn't have internet available in our room but it wasn't a huge deal breaker. We went down to lounge areas every once in a while to order drinks and use the wifi. I would definitely come back again :)