Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Nice enough but a few disappointments

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel is ugly from the outside but not bad from in. There is a beautiful view and access to a lovely beach. The staff were generally grumpy and unhelpful, they made you feel 'in the way' The drinks at the bar were poor. They tasted bad and we ended up paying for better quality wine. Some of the food was delicious but terrible food in Oliver's Twist. We were very disappointed to find the pool was shut and the lift was broken. They were showing no sign of trying to fix them. Barbados is beautiful and the hotel was ok, it's a shame that there were quite a few things that made it disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Enjoyed snorkeling right from the beach.

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The beach and snorkeling
Cons: The elevator fixed
Location: The bus stops right by the hotel and is very reasonable.
Staff was helpful. I have artificial knees plus asthma & could not do the stairs when the elevator was broken so thankfully they found us a room on the main floor. Enjoyed the entertainment in the evening. I left some clothing & the manager is going to see that it is returned. The guests were quite friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not a 4 star all inclusive! 2 stars, at best.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location and water. The hotel really has great potential given the setting, but the management does not appear to care about making it a nic
Cons: EVERYTHING.
1- NO wifi in room. This is 2016- really??? 2- No gym, as advertised on multiple sites. 3- Vile food- let me repeat that- VILE food. I am willing to bet that your high school cafeteria had MUCH better food. The breakfast and lunch looked like the staff had prepared it at home and brought it in. Very bad and unsanitary presentation, very few options, and in general AWFUL quality. Very few fresh fruits, which was shocking given that we are in the Caribbean! They actually had canned fruit- gross! The restaurants at dinner were all awful as well. We actually walked out of Olivers (I think that was the name of it), because their "tapas" were frozen and microwaved. Disgusting. The Asian restaurant (Feast) looked nice, but was also very bad. First of all, there was nothing Asian about it, the dishes were all prepared with Caribbean, not Asian, 4- Awful staff. Probably the worst we've encountered in the Caribbean. 5- Waves advertises 3 bars, when there is in fact ONE bar, usually with ONE bartender. 6- NO beach towels. 7- No beach service 8-This place calls themselves an "all inclusive" property. Umm no. All inclusives have mini bars stocked with water and soda, even beer. Not here! You have to pay for bottled water and there is no mini bar. To summarize all of the above, the management seems not to care about guest satisfaction whatsoever. They skimp and cut corners at every possible opportunity, resulting in disgusting and poor quality food, nasty staff, poor amenities, no towels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Not pleased to say the least

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: need towels, staff need to be accommodating and helpful, breakfast and lunch options need to be enhanced
visited the week after Christmas and was beyond disappointed. There were a few members of the staff who were pleasant Valerie and Pamela along with the housekeepers. Everyone else was rude and definitely did not make you feel like you were on holiday. The hotel had a limited supply of beach towels. You would not get a new one unless you turned yours in and that was on a good day if they had clean ones. The dinners were not bad however the food at breakfast and lunch were not impressive. I did not feel the kitchen area, dining areas and bar were well kept. Another item to note is that the hotel is separated by a main road which to be honest is not ideal if you are going back and forth to the main building to get food and drinks. Overall we were very dissatisfied with our stay and would consider this a 2 star resort and a 4 start hotel at most. Location is nice and the beach is amazing however the place needs a complete overhaul. If your used to other all-inclusive resorts this will not be up to your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grenada

very nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and cosy and made you feel relaxed
Cons: Need to use shower curtain
Location: Nice location, big super market, on route buses to Town and anywhere else I wanted to go.
From Home to Home excellent service, staff very very pleasant, enjoyed the food good variety.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Emsworth England

Not the Hotel it was in 2014, but great location.

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Location & Staff
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location and lots to do all around with good low cost buses.
They had reduced a lot of the included extras like minibar over last year and which were shown in their spec: We had 3 rooms because of poor maintenance. 1st Room patio door wouldn't open. 2nd AC packed up. 3rd no water from shower. Lift only worked for 6 days out of the 14 day stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach, very quiet environment

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Bar, spa
Cons: Food, water activities, entertainments
Location: Scuba, snorkeling
Not for families with kids, no entertainments, boring evening, poor food variety
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Friendly Staff, Close to the Beach

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach, Great Ocean view from our room balcony, Friendly Staff
Cons: this is a little nitpicky, but as an all inclusive... the a la carte menu left a little to be desired, and Wi-Fi is limited to the hotel lobby
Location: Island Safari was probably the most memorable, they pick you up from the hotel lobby and its a great way to see most of the island
My wife and I stayed here for our Honeymoon this past September and were really happy with our choice to stay here. We stayed for a little over a week and had a chance to interact with many of the staff who were all very friendly and welcoming. Make sure to get a room with an ocean view as they are incredible! Bartenders are good, the food was decent quality and the prices here were reasonable... can't think of any good reasons not to come back. The spa was also really nice and the proximity to the beach really made for an incredible experience! Will definitely visit again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, Florida

Full of Sun and Sea

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach.
Location: Shopping and restaurants are just a bus ride away.
This was our first experience with The Waves Hotel. The hotel staff was adequate. The check-in process was smooth. The room was clean. The pool was beautiful. The beach was very inviting. Between experiencing the food and watersports and other activities, you will stay fit and trim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely location. Nice hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: The Ocean view room, location and inclusive facilities
Cons: The consistency of the food. The hotel is a little tired in some areas. This didn't affect us enjoying the holiday.
Location: Location is great. Other top class restaurants and bars just a short ride away, should you fancy a change.
The hotel is on a beautiful beach. They offer inclusive facilities such as snorkelling, turtle trip, hobie cat, which was a bonus. The staff were very helpful. The Ocean View room was definitely worth the upgrade for the view.