Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - small beach

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Location: The location is nice for older couples (which is who was mostly there) since it's far from bars/restaurants. Cabs are expensive.
My boyfriend and I visited Waves for vacation in February. The weather was beautiful (except rain one day in the morning and rain once at night). The hotel accommodations were very nice. The balcony overlooking the beach was so lovely to eat and have drinks at and watch the sun set in the evening. However, I'm a big beach person, and the beach is very small. The lounge chairs are pretty much on top of each other, so you have little privacy from the people next to you, which I disliked very much. The beach also fills up quickly, so if you go on an excursion in the morning, and come back later, you're stuck with whatever space is left available (and likely minimal).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best Resort in Barbados

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Waves is an incredible resort! It is right on the beach and from inside the lobby you have the most magnificent view of the sky, palm trees, beach, and sunset. The staff is beyond amazing really taking the time to get to know you as their guest and doing anything and everything to make sure you are comfortable. My friend and I had to check out on a Saturday for a flight that was at 4:00AM on a Sunday morning. We were waiting in the lobby for our taxi to the hotel at 1:00AM and we were both exhausted. The manager put both of us up in a complimentary room for a few hours so that we could get some sleep before our flight. They are incredible beyond words and I would recommend them to anyone. I cannot wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Beautifully updated hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Amenities, food, drink, staff
Cons: The beach area can be rocky, although a small portion is available to walk into.
Location: Water activities, tours, food
After finding out in short notice our availability for vacation, we decided to make our first trip to Barbados with little time and research. With this is mind, we just wanted a short get-away from work and the weather, and could not have picked a better hotel. We were surprised throughout our stay by the friendliness and attention that the hotel staff persistently provided. They knew us by name after the first day, helped set up a tour, and helped in multiple other small ways throughout our stay. The hotel was recently updated and had a modern, beach vibe with pastel colors and natural wood. The rooms are spacious with comfortable bedding and sheets. The outdoor patio overlooking the ocean was beautiful, with lights and torches augmenting the setting sun. The drinks were always very good and the bartenders would make any drink that you wanted, including smoothies or milkshakes. The servers would go to the beach or to the outdoor patio to help get your order. They had multiple outdoor activities, which includes a small sailboat, water skiing, water tubing, SUP, snorkeling or kayaks. We did the small sailboat, water tubing, SUP, and snorkeling twice, all of which were fun and easy to organize and arrange. These activities are included in your stay. In addition, the hotel has free water transfers from their hotel to 3 of their other properties, which each offer different amenities. A great place to relax and enjoy some good food and drinks!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Boutique style all inclusive

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We chose this hotel as the pictures looked lovely and it was a VIP hotel with Expedia, I need to not put much weight on what Expedia has for VIP hotels, as this is not the first time there is nothing special about a hotel or anything extra given or mentioned about being VIP, we did mention this to the front desk and manager they seemed to know nothing about VIP with Expedia... I had received an email prior to getting there saying I would receive a complimentary appetizer, which is ridiculous as it's an all inclusive hotel!.... and never received..... a few other things to note, they said there was a spa package included and on check in we got six vouchers to use which were worth $60.00 each. But you have to book six services on six different days to use them all, so only one was used... a bit pathetic, Our room had nice decor, A lovely ocean view, room was quite small but we didn't spend a lot of time there, a bar Fridge was there, but nothing in it, there was instant coffee, and tea and a kettle which we never used either, Food was okay not great but just fine, very limited as an all inclusive. Restaurants only open certain hours and coffee shop with snacks was small we only ate one dinner there on first night, also to note the garden view rooms and nice pool are actually across the street!! I had not seen any mention of that before...beach was beautiful. Quite small but lovely, Service around the pools and beach was quite good....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Would return in future very nice hotel staff very friendly and food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Beach holiday Barbados

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Hotel recently refurbished and has been done with quality fixtures and fittings. Rooms very comfortable and well equipped Helpful / friendly staff generally Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that. Beach on the small side but the free water taxi gives access to 3 other hotels. Food good but would have liked bit more choice at breakfast Wonderful sunsets from the balcony Kayaking / sailing / snorkelling all available on site Nice walks along the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel on the beach, staff were great

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Hotel was marvellous staff were polite and extremely helpful . Hotel was in great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The staff were very nice and the food was very good. Customer service overall is excellent. However the beach was so so. Hop on the free water taxi and they will take you to nicer spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Small but great hotel!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Staff Food Room Adults Pool Spa
Cons: Expand to provide a larger pool on the beach side of the hotel
Location: We visited Holetown and Bridgetown on the reggae bus 1USD each per journey, a must!
My husband & I stayed at Waves for a week. From our arrival at the hotel we were well looked after by the friendly & hospitable staff. We had an ocean view room which I would highly recommend. The room was light, airy, spacious & attractively decorated & the bed was so comfortable. The beach is quite small but perfect for the amount of guests & we didn't struggle to secure sun beds, the beach staff just get more sun beds out if it appears they are all allocated. There are two swimming pools one of which allows children on the beach side of the hotel. This pool is very small & has only a couple of sun beds & about four double day beds which have canopies around the sides to keep you out of the sun. On the opposite side of the road is the other rooms of the hotel, the Asian restaurant, the spa and the adults only pool. This pool is great and very quiet but much bigger than the pool over the other side. In my opinion if you are travelling with children and they prefer the pool to the beach then you may be better off up the road at Crystal Cove. The water taxi takes 10 minutes to get there so you can have the best of both worlds using their facilities. Evening entertainment is generally a singer/band. It was a different act each night we were there and they were all very good. Bottled water is available from the bar and the food is great. Most spirits were not brands I recognised. We had three free spa treatments each which were great. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Coastal elegance in a relaxed beach setting!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
It was our first time in Barbados with so many choices, and I am thrilled I picked the right one for my husband and I. From the casual coastal elegance feeling to the friendly and warm, yet professional staff, who felt like friends by the time we left, it was perfection! Excellent food, although I do wish they offered more seafood, a day at the beach always causes me to crave seafood and I just feel since they are directly on the ocean the seafood selection should be bountiful. The chef has a flair for Mediterranean/Greek and Thai cuisine which was very pleasing, however many choices were available at all meals, something for everyone. The dress code for dinner was a refreshing positive! Women wore nice vacation wear, beautiful dresses, men in tailored shorts or slacks with dress shirts or polos (no t-shirts, sweats, cargo shorts or swimwear allowed at the evening dinner)! The beach was beautiful, although a bit small.Found no problem getting beach chairs or reserving time slots for woter sports but motorized and non, plenty available. Staff very helpful and kind! Big plus is the water taxi that you can take to the sister resorts further up the west coast. 40 minutes up the coast my husband and I visited the colony club which had a very lovely beach and it was also close to the marine sanctuary which offers great snorkeling!! We also got to see the famous green monkeys! The $40 speed boat trip to swim with the sea turtles and snorkel at the ship wreck was fantastic too!!