Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Beautifully updated hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Amenities, food, drink, staff
Cons: The beach area can be rocky, although a small portion is available to walk into.
Location: Water activities, tours, food
After finding out in short notice our availability for vacation, we decided to make our first trip to Barbados with little time and research. With this is mind, we just wanted a short get-away from work and the weather, and could not have picked a better hotel. We were surprised throughout our stay by the friendliness and attention that the hotel staff persistently provided. They knew us by name after the first day, helped set up a tour, and helped in multiple other small ways throughout our stay. The hotel was recently updated and had a modern, beach vibe with pastel colors and natural wood. The rooms are spacious with comfortable bedding and sheets. The outdoor patio overlooking the ocean was beautiful, with lights and torches augmenting the setting sun. The drinks were always very good and the bartenders would make any drink that you wanted, including smoothies or milkshakes. The servers would go to the beach or to the outdoor patio to help get your order. They had multiple outdoor activities, which includes a small sailboat, water skiing, water tubing, SUP, snorkeling or kayaks. We did the small sailboat, water tubing, SUP, and snorkeling twice, all of which were fun and easy to organize and arrange. These activities are included in your stay. In addition, the hotel has free water transfers from their hotel to 3 of their other properties, which each offer different amenities. A great place to relax and enjoy some good food and drinks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Would return in future very nice hotel staff very friendly and food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Beach holiday Barbados

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Hotel recently refurbished and has been done with quality fixtures and fittings. Rooms very comfortable and well equipped Helpful / friendly staff generally Didn't use the spa so can't comment on that. Beach on the small side but the free water taxi gives access to 3 other hotels. Food good but would have liked bit more choice at breakfast Wonderful sunsets from the balcony Kayaking / sailing / snorkelling all available on site Nice walks along the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Nice hotel on the beach, staff were great

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Hotel was marvellous staff were polite and extremely helpful . Hotel was in great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The staff were very nice and the food was very good. Customer service overall is excellent. However the beach was so so. Hop on the free water taxi and they will take you to nicer spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Small but great hotel!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Staff Food Room Adults Pool Spa
Cons: Expand to provide a larger pool on the beach side of the hotel
Location: We visited Holetown and Bridgetown on the reggae bus 1USD each per journey, a must!
My husband & I stayed at Waves for a week. From our arrival at the hotel we were well looked after by the friendly & hospitable staff. We had an ocean view room which I would highly recommend. The room was light, airy, spacious & attractively decorated & the bed was so comfortable. The beach is quite small but perfect for the amount of guests & we didn't struggle to secure sun beds, the beach staff just get more sun beds out if it appears they are all allocated. There are two swimming pools one of which allows children on the beach side of the hotel. This pool is very small & has only a couple of sun beds & about four double day beds which have canopies around the sides to keep you out of the sun. On the opposite side of the road is the other rooms of the hotel, the Asian restaurant, the spa and the adults only pool. This pool is great and very quiet but much bigger than the pool over the other side. In my opinion if you are travelling with children and they prefer the pool to the beach then you may be better off up the road at Crystal Cove. The water taxi takes 10 minutes to get there so you can have the best of both worlds using their facilities. Evening entertainment is generally a singer/band. It was a different act each night we were there and they were all very good. Bottled water is available from the bar and the food is great. Most spirits were not brands I recognised. We had three free spa treatments each which were great. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Coastal elegance in a relaxed beach setting!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
It was our first time in Barbados with so many choices, and I am thrilled I picked the right one for my husband and I. From the casual coastal elegance feeling to the friendly and warm, yet professional staff, who felt like friends by the time we left, it was perfection! Excellent food, although I do wish they offered more seafood, a day at the beach always causes me to crave seafood and I just feel since they are directly on the ocean the seafood selection should be bountiful. The chef has a flair for Mediterranean/Greek and Thai cuisine which was very pleasing, however many choices were available at all meals, something for everyone. The dress code for dinner was a refreshing positive! Women wore nice vacation wear, beautiful dresses, men in tailored shorts or slacks with dress shirts or polos (no t-shirts, sweats, cargo shorts or swimwear allowed at the evening dinner)! The beach was beautiful, although a bit small.Found no problem getting beach chairs or reserving time slots for woter sports but motorized and non, plenty available. Staff very helpful and kind! Big plus is the water taxi that you can take to the sister resorts further up the west coast. 40 minutes up the coast my husband and I visited the colony club which had a very lovely beach and it was also close to the marine sanctuary which offers great snorkeling!! We also got to see the famous green monkeys! The $40 speed boat trip to swim with the sea turtles and snorkel at the ship wreck was fantastic too!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice, well equipped hotel, right on the beach.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The view from the hotel is amazing. The staff are lovely and attentive. The water taxi is a must-do.
Cons: WIFI! It really only works when you are in your room, doesn't reach to the beach or common areas. The food is ok.
Location: Great restaurants/bars close by/taxi, small supermarket within walking distance (fridges in rooms are empty). Can take bus to Holetown easily.
The Waves hotel is located right on the beach - booking an ocean front room is definitely worth it for the amazing views, and gorgeous sunsets. The rooms were recently renovated, clean, modern and a good size. The beach itself is quite narrow (loungers can become a premium) but gets sun all day. The sea is beautiful - clean, clear and for the most part not too rough. The free water sports - tubing, paddleboarding etc. were always available, and easy to reserve. The food was ok, nothing too crazy, what you would expect from an all-inclusive (just don't let the birds eat your breakfast). There are some terrific restaurants and bars within walking/short cab ride away that are worth checking out, as are the sister resorts that you can access by way of the free water taxi that runs during the day - worth using!! There were a few families staying, the hotel is nice and quiet, with mainly older guests/couples (not a young crowd!) The family pool does not get day-round sun, like the beach, but the adults-only pool across the street does. The wifi is spotty at best, which could be improved (better at the Colony Club). There is no kids club, which would be a good option, but there is one at Crystal Cove, just up the coast, which you can reserve and get to by boat. We enjoyed our stay and will likely be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect low key/relaxing hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The staff
Location: Mullins Beach Bridgetown Hole Town
The hotel was a perfect hotel to relax and take it easy. The hotel staff was the absolute best from the bartenders Ramon and Kenrick to the Bellmen to the staff being very attentive when you dine for breakfast,lunch and dinner. The service was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A-OK hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Reception: short staffs make many guests keep waiting. They deal with guests as well as answer phone calls at the same time, seem very busy. Room: clean but very noisy from outside traffic on the roadside room. With bumps at the shower room very shallow, water leaks into toilet. Restaurants: menu is lack of variety. We couldn't have fried flying fish, signature dish in Barbados, during our stay. Dishes are sometimes dirty. With Staffs busy clearing table, they keep new guests waiting to direct to tables. If you make reservation in the late afternoon, only 6:30pm and 9:00pm are left available. Bar: generous staffs satisfy every guzzler. Taxi: very expensive. US$35 to Harrison's cave, US$50 to the airport even US$35 from the airport. Porter: doing nothing, just looking. Beach: very nice. Brilliant sunset available every evening.