Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2018
Very comfortable room. Pleasant and helpful staff and good facilities
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Plymouth City Centre near Hoe and Barbican 4 star

Posted Feb 28, 2018
Pros: hotel has a pleasant ambience. Decent bar restaurant facilities
Cons: Bathroom could do with refurb and made larger
Location: Excellent location near Hoe barbican and city centre
Good location. Generally a good experience commensurate with one of Plymouths better hotels. The hotel has a pleasant ambience. Underground and outdoor car park. Comfortable room, bed and furnishings, but bathroom showing age. Our bathroom was very small with a bath/shower that was more two star than four star. Amazing views from penthouse bar /restaurant. Good breakfast although fruit selection was limited.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Fabulous view from the restaurant for breakfast. Helpful courteous staff, spacious comfortable room, spotlessly clean - We had a family room for 3 - Good value for money.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great stay

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Most notable - hotel staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful Clean and comfortable room. Good food in hotel restaurant. Overall a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been better

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: Ground floor bar and nearly all of the staff
Cons: See above comments
Location: Fantastic location
Great location and welcome in grand ground floor reception. However we had to wait for our bedroom to be made up, the swimming pool was undergoing building work so we had to walk through the Gym reception area when dripping wet and there were no showers in the men's changing rooms. Room was dusty, shower/toilet cramped and dated, and the beds uncomfortable and collapsed to one side. Finally when we checked out we were charged £5 for parking which had not been made clear at the time of booking or on arrival. While I don't mind the charge given the location it would have been preferable to have been made aware when we checked in and the attitude of the receptionist was regrettable. Overall, what should have been a memorable experience left a sour taste in the mouth.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hemel Hempstead

Visiting family

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: The Hotel had great views and is positioned beautifully for getting around Plymouth.
Cons: The restaurant was very disappointing. For an evening meal, please make sure food advertised on the menu is there.
Location: Visited family, but there is a lot to see and do in Plymouth.
The staff were excellent very attentive and friendly, the beds and room were lovely and clean, with views over Plymouth Barbican. However, as I am eighty one I struggled with getting in and out of the shower, it was of a peculiar configuration, perhaps an oversight on my part when booking Ishould have asked about disabled rooms. My family and I went to the penthouse restaurant and were I’m afraid disappointed to say the least. Although it provides terrific views and the staff were great, almost everything I wanted was not there, though still advertised on a the menu! Two out of three soups not there, one of the desserts not there, mains not there, in the end I settled for some leaves and tomatoes and some cheese cake (which I didn’t really want.) our waitress had to apologise so many times I felt embarrassed for her.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

A great place to stay

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: Fresh and modern
Cons: It was all very nice
Location: Enjoy fabulous tea and cakes at The Boston Tea Party
Our trip to Plymouth was made very special staying at the Crowne Plaza. We were extremely comfortable in the modern tastefully designed rooms. The bed was particularly comfortable.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Brilliant hotel right on Plymouth Hoe

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Very good hotel, staff brilliant, on site car park in basement. £5 daily charge, Beautiful penthouse restaurant with sea views overlooking Plymouth Hoe, calm & relaxing atmosphere, city mins walk away My son had a interview to study medicene at the University, & he loved the experience
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Couldn't fault a thing!

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Drink prices could be slightly reduced
Location: Didn't venture out I'm afraid
We stayed here for 1 night when we were attending the South West Wedding Awards Gala Finals on 19th January 2018. I couldn't fault a thing! Check in was quick and easy with friendly staff. The room was decorated and equipped to a very high standard and the bed the most comfy ive ever slept in. The breakfast was absolutely lovely, massive range of foods. There was nothing you could have wanted that wasn't served and the staff were all very friendly. If I was really nitpicking... the drinks were very expensive but was to be expected in a hotel so I wasn't surprised.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from luton


Posted Jan 22, 2018
I had a fantastic time at the hotel all the staff are super friendly, Emma in the call centre made sure I could change my dates with ease , the reception staff and concierge staff made sure that my children and I had a great time to the staff in the pent house which was a great experience catered for the kids and us in every way. All round worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Steph, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you had such a positive stay. Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future. Best Wishes, Steph Reservations & Events Manager