Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Worst possible hotel ever

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Should be delisted from Expedia.
We were planning to stay at la clé d'or in Barbizon. We had made a reservation 6 monts ago because we knew that the Whit sunday weekend, the hotels around Fontainebleau/Barbizon are very full because of events taking place in the area. Arriving at the hotel, with a confirmed and paid Expedia booking, the hotel owner tells us that he does not have any rooms available. our reservation was cancelled because Expedia did not pay him. we show hom our Expedia booking but he insists that we should contact Expedia and he cannot help us. 5 minutes later another couple arrives and they get exactly the same story. They also had a confirmed and paid booking from a website related to Expedia. When we have overcome our shock and ask if he can assist us in finding a new hotel, he tells us that everything around Barbizon is full and we should look for something in Paris (one hour drive). We then ask him to write us a note confirming that we did not sleep in the hotel that night to get a refund from Expedia but now the hotel owner becomes agressive an starts swearing. In a not so friendly way he tells us to get lost and that our problem is with Expedia. We call the Expedia helpdesk and they call the hotel.. However, as the hotel owner does not speak English (only French) the helpdesk cannot help us any further. In the end, we managed to find a hotel 50 km from Barbizon but the clé d'or is a place that is not worthy being listed on Expedia. The hotel is a sham and the owner a fraud.
4 out of 5
by Amos from Lexington, MA

Wonderful, family-owned hotel.

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a night in the beautiful town of Barbizon. The hotel was just as beautiful with a very nice inner garden.
3 out of 5
by Helene from Houston

Self service hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived, the owners had gone away for the weekend, so we had to ask around in the shops to get a number to call. We then had to find our way on our own into the hotel, find the key from the reception and then procede to try and find our room, which took abit of time. It'a a charming hotel in a very charming village, but it didn't feel very professional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unloved hotel in a historic village.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: The hotel was quiet and clean, had a mini fridge and its position in the village was good. Its free parking and a pleasant owner were a bonus.
Cons: Better maintenance of the rooms and garden.
Location: The hotel is in a historic site for art lovers. Walk in nearby forests, explore art shops, cafes, the lovely Barbizon museum. and viisit Fontainebleau
We were taken aback. The grounds from the car park to the hotel were neglected. In our "annex"wing room, the toilet roll sat on the floor - a broken holder, drains were blocked, an unsealed gap in the shower, between tiles and floor was disconcerting, and half a drawer bottom in an antique bedside table was a surprising. The receptionist hadn't checked on-line bookings and was not expecting guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location/area - needs TLC

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels
Great area, but room was a bit shabby - place could use some updating/TLC. At check in, desk clerk was not welcoming, did not see our reservation initially and offered no information about hotel/breakfast/dining or area. It was convenient to stay here during our visit to Barbizon plus we were heading to the airport the next morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful reception, shame about the room

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely little hotel in a wonderful village with easy access to local attractions etc. The reception area (and probably a handful of bedrooms) are nicely decorated in a chic and modern style. However. The bedroom we had was seriously dated to say the least. Nasty decor, old furniture, tired bed and dated bathroom. Shame they didn't update the entire hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dommage de laisser une belle structure se perdre!!

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Accueil surprenant,heureusement que le chef fait pour un mieux
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mauvais rapport qualité-prix

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Nous nous sommes rendus à la clef d'or à l'occasion d'un mariage. Nous avons eu d'abord la désagréable surprise de ne pas pouvoir nous enregistrer avant 19h, il a donc fallu quitter temporairement la réception pour pouvoir prendre les clefs de la chambre (l'hotel ferme à 22h). La chambre était extrêmement humide, la wifi ne fonctionnait pas, pas d'eau chaude dans la douche. Le tout pour un prix exagérément élevé au vu de la qualité de la prestation fournie.