Ratings based on 751 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester County, NY

Terrific hotel!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
ALMA Barcelona is an excellent hotel. My husband and I enjoyed the location and we walked to many different sites. The room was immaculate, the staff friendly, the decor pleasing, and the gardens a pleasant surprise. If we are lucky enough to return to Barcelona, we will definitely stay at the ALMA Barcelona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Centrally located with great staff

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Location and customer service
Cons: I was there during Easter, and the carpet at the entrance and in the corners on my floor could be better vacuumed.
Location: There are two Gaudi buildings within a 5 to 10 minute walk. There are exclusive shops for high end goods or window shopping and trains close by.
The staff makes you feel special from the time you enter until you leave. Alexandra, not only checked me in, but she helped me to book my museum tickets and tours. Each day Albert provided guidance on getting around and restaurant tips. The Alma quickly became a home away from home. I was on the first floor and could hear the musicians playing in the rear courtyard at night. It didn't bother me but if you like total silence at night, ask for a higher floor away from the courtyard. The style of the room is such that the bathrooms don't have doors. The toilet is separate and has a door. The towels and bathrobes are thick and fluffy. There is no washcloth. The location cannot be better. It is one building in from Passieg de Gracia, three blocks from the train and underground station, and in between two Gaudi buildings. You can walk to many things. I prefer eating around town and did not eat in the hotel restaurant. I cannot comment on the breakfast or other meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High quality throughout

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very stylish comfortable hotel in a convenient location for metro and sightseeing.The staff were helpful and friendly too.the quality of the room was definitely worth it's 5* rating. The breakfast was of an excellent standard and although we did not dine there we spent time in the garden in the evening for a drink and the ambience and wine were lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing staff, an Oasis in a perfect location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The staff are fantastic, the best hotel service I've ever experienced anywhere. Sophisticated, sincere and friendly.
Cons: Honestly met the mark on so many levels couldn't ask for more.
Location: within walking distance to Sagrada Familia, Gothic Quarter, La Rambla and all of Barcelona's top sites.
Honestly one of the best hotel experiences we've ever had. When we arrived the service was prompt, we had flown in from Toronto on a red eye and arrived at the hotel at 10 am, despite our early arrival (check in time was 3pm) they allowed us in early. The room was large with a balcony, beds were super comfortable, spa facilities excellent, wifi service was fast and easy to access, there is an outdoor casual dining area in the back of the hotel that is like an oasis in the city. The staff are incredible, they go out of their way to help you, are friendly and courteous. We received dining recommendations and both restaurants were superb. On our departure day the staff allowed us to stay and keep our luggage in our room until 2pm without penalty or surcharge. From start to finish this hotel was incredible. Would definitely return and recommend for anybody who wants to visit Barcelona in comfort and style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Stay

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Modern room decor.
Cons: Fingerprint door entry not reliable.
Location: Excellent location next to the main strip, Psg. de Gracia.
Fantastic location and very attentive and polite staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Brilliant Base

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This is a brilliant hotel. Can't recommend it highly enough. Great location, attentive staff and lovely bedrooms. It is the only place I will stay when I come back to Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Boutique hotel, perfect location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
15 minute walk from both Las Ramblas and La Sagrada, so ideally situated. Friendly, helpful staff all spoke excellent English. Great recommendations for local restaurants and bars. Definitely going back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not romantic or cosy

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: We were upgraded and given a bottle of cava for free
Cons: The whole thing could do with some warmth, even if its just a painting on the bedroom walls, or a colorful cushion. Add a floor length mirror as well
Location: Great locations, all you need to see is within 3 blocks! Great location for high-end shoppers
The hotel is very dark, the rooms are blank empty and not cosy. The rooms remind me of a bachelors pad. For a 5 star hotel there are not amenities like shower caps, and all the other bits you get when you pay that much money. We told the hotel we were celebrating our anniversary but the bed had two single duvets on it - even though it was a double bed - that was very strange. There are no full length mirrors in the rooms either. A very weird concept for a hotel! The staff were friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartagena

LOVE IT!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Eveything.
Cons: Breakfast price is a little bit high, coul be more reasonable.
Amazing location, less than 200 meters from Paseo de Gracia. Best bed an pillow ever. Free minibar with great options. 2 blocks from Casa Batlló and 1 block from La Pedrera 2 of the most outstanding of Gaudis' work. you can imagine options to eat around, incredible, kind, and helpful staff. Stayed 7 days and after a weekend in Madrid came back and stayed for three more days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Fabulous Barcelona Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Wonderful experience, ideally situated close to all attractions and shops Fabulous hotel and staff