Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kim from Turlock, California

A great little space!

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Another great stay with AinB.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not comfortable!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
The bed was extremely hard and the elevator that opens directly into the room had me nervous all the time! One time the cleaning staff opened the elevator onto us sleeping, we also walked in on them cleaning our room without notice. Check in is super tricky. You need to go to the main building for check in which wasn't specified. Therefore I carried my 23kg backpack between the apartment and the main office, which was about 500 metres either way! Check in staff were good, even watched our bags while we explored Barcelona before check in!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Georgina, Hotel Management
Dear customer. I am sorry to hear the bed did not fullfill your expectations. Sorry but its specified in expedia that the check in is done in the main reception in order to make it easier and give better service like free luggage storage until anytime, etc..reception is just 5 minutes from the apartment. In any case were are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service and location. Looking forward to receive you in the near future again. AinB Apartments
4 out of 5
by Bethany from isle of Man

Barcelona trip

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
Difficult to find reception , received a nice upgrade
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Georgina, Hotel Management
Dear Bethany Thank you very much for your comment about the apartment. We are really located at a wonderful situation inside Barcelona's Gothic Quarter. I hope to see you soon on your next vacations. Kind Regard, AinB Team
3 out of 5
by Clive

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lisa from California

No amenities, horrible staff, but nice rooms

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: The rooms are nice, clean, full kitchens, and very clean.
Cons: Staff friendliness and efficiency. Don't say buffet breakfast when there is none. Internet needs to be fixed.
Location: Picasso Museum, Barcelona Cathedral, Beach, La Rambla. Very centrally located. Almost everything is within walking distance.
The room is a 10 minute walk from reception, and they do not help with carrying bags to your room, so you are on your own. The elevator opens directly into your bedroom, and on one occasion the cleaning staff came up from the elevator to find us half naked taking a nap in the middle of the day between seeing the sites (very uncomfortable). The hotel confirmation included buffet breakfast. There is no buffet breakfast, and we actually had to fight with them in order to get a voucher for a croissant and coffee from a café down the street. The confirmation listed free wireless internet. There was no internet working the entire time we were there. We complained on 3 different occasions about it and it was never fixed during our stay. We ended up spending 25 dollars to use our own internet access via our phones because this amenity was not available. There was also no phone in the rooms, so we spent another 25 bucks just making calls locally on our personal cell phones because there was no phone available there, any the staff was unwilling to make calls for us. Staff was slow, and did not take care of our issues or concerns.
2 out of 5
by ABC from UK

Tiny room

Posted Apr 27, 2013 on Hotels
Most of the room was taken up with an elevator! The galley kitchen was about 30 cm wide, so almost impossible to use. Twin beds when a double was requested. Wifi didn't work. Only saving grace was the great location. Overall very poor.
1 out of 5
by Vlad from Stamford, CT, USA

Never book this hostel

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Pros: Just its location in Barcelona downtown
Cons: Room size and furnishing, extremely poor service
Location: Location is perfect, but it is very difficult to find this hostel for the first time, even taxi drivers don't know where it is.
This is the worse hostess you can meet! The room is extremely small, the wardrobe is just a tiny box with 4-5 wire hangers, no any drawer or shelves. There is no bed stands or drawers at all. There is no telephone in the room, so you can't contact the owner or any other staff person with your questions or request. The kitchen area is very small and the set of dishes is poor.. The entrance door is constantly closed and when you come first time to get in you have to call phone number shown on the door and ask somebody to come and let you in. We had to wait over 1 hour until the woman (owner?, consierge?) came from the city to open the door. One more trick - you get only 1 key for the couple and this key is for entrance door, for elevator,which brings you directly into your room, and for turning on the electricity in the room.So, if you are a couple, you have to leave the building together or to stay in together, otherwise the person, which leaves the building without the key can't get in or if you will take key with your other party will sit inside without the electricity. The room gets slightly cleaned once in 2 days, no bedding has been changed for all the time of our stay #4 nights). Summarized all said we would never recommend anyone to choose this hostess for stay, although its location is perfect for Barcelona visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Georgina, Hotel Management
Dear Vlad I can see your feedback its made in 2012, These last year 2015 , we have make a completely renovation of the apartments, we have changed all the furniture and the layout of the apartments trying to make them much more cozy and nicer. So I invite you to come again and feel the difference. I am sure you will like it. Best wishes,
2 out of 5
by Mairead

Posted Aug 17, 2012 on Hotels
Apartment tiny sparsely equipped. Sheets were never changed during the week. It was two single beds even tho it was advertised as a king size. Cleaning was minimum. Towels were changed every second day. The location was great cud walk to main street La Rambla and the square catalunya. Staff were very helpful. Enjoyed our stay but wud not go back to Borm Damas again.
3 out of 5
by Jane, S

5 star location... Good if you only need a bed

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels
Great location in amongst the Gothic Quarter, we needed up staying in the Corders apartments listed by the same company (three streets over from the Born-Damas apartments). After a very frustrating and confusing start to getting into our apartment, we finally got in- the apartment was small but all we needed and the apartment company was so apologetic about the confusion with the change of apartments they bought us a bottle of champagne and chocolate. Great location if you're there to see the beach, gothic quarter and Las Ramblas. Ask for level 6 - it has it's own private rooftop!