Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but unsatisfactory otherwise

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Only 5 minutes walk to metro station and 5 blocks to Sagrada Familia.
Complex self check-in - you must get door and booking ref.codes in advance or face a lengthy wait on the pavement. Minimal furniture and tiny second bedroom. Only welcome pack is a bottle of water. Need to provide all your own food and beverages and even items such as tea towels and dish washer tablets. Otherwise apartment is spacious with adequate kitchen and main bedroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Beware of check-in problems

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Apartment is nice an and comfortable, on a quiet street.
Cons: Check-in procedure.
Location: Close to Sagrada familia and to the flea market.
We have stayed here before and have always been happy. On this occasion however the check-in (which is automatic) turned into a nightmare. The machine could not realise that checking in after midnight should not be a problem - but, machine being machine did not understand it. Hence phone calls followed and finely, after waiting for have an hour, keys were delivered by taxi. Basically, if you plan to check in after midnight, do not select this accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Good value for money, but not perfect

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The accommodation is not suitable for a long stay (we stayed three weeks), since the equipment is somewhat rudimentary. For example, there is no washing machine, iron, etc. What there is in the kitchen leaves a lot to be desired - the only types of glasses we had were the wine and whiskey glasses, a single pan, etc. The internet is incredibly slow and hence, if you want to do work online, find another place. On the positive side, the flat is very quiet and the staff are nice. The problem we had with the air-conditioning was solved efficiently and quickly. The location is good for Sagrada Familia, there is plenty of public transport within five minutes and the beach is only 45 minutes away using your own feet - the walk takes you through pedestrian streets of Carrer de Roger and Rambla de Pable Nou, with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester. UK.

Could have been good if the basics were in place

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Roomy, well positioned for trains, metro, bars, restaurants etc.
Cons: Room service, replenishment of consumables, kettle and more kitchen equipment.
Location: well positioned for trains, metro, bars, restaurants etc.
First impression of the apartment was very good. Nice, big & reasonably well furnished. The kitchen had a good range of appliances, (including Dishwasher, Microwave & fridge/freezer). The bedroom & bathroom were both a good size & well fitted. I was a little less impressed when I realised there was no kettle and the pots, pans etc. were quite minimalist. I also had to unblock the wash hand basin before it was useable. After this things seemed OK. for a couple of days, until we did not get any room service at all. This meant that we had no clean towels, no replacement loo rolls, no bins emptied, and no room cleaning. There was no facility anywhere in the building to dispose of waste, and no where to replenish towels & loo rolls. After 6 days I saw a cleaner and asked her for some replacements, and she said that she would come and sort the room, which she did, and things returned to how they should of been. I do not think that I should have to tolerate dirty bins, towels & poor service in a hot country, especially when this was far from one of the cheapest accommodations in Barcelona. Overall we had a fantastic holiday would recommend Barcelona to anyone, but stay away from Apartaments Suites Independencia until they get there act together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Excellent accommodation, but there are some caveat

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Location: This is accommodation some way away from the city centre (which we were happy with) but close to Sagrada Familia and to Encants market.
If you expect to see a receptionist, you will be disappointed. There is not one and the accommodation is not manned at all. So, be prepared to have to use the phone to get in touch - this includes check-in, which is self-check-in. The catch is that you need an entry code to access the self-check-in facility and we were not provided with one (booked through Expedia). Hence this is the first time you have to use the phone to get in touch and be given the code. Since hotel staff is invisible (and non-existent, to some extent) it is difficult to rate this part of the service. We did meet a guy when we needed help with the keys (those famous magnetic ones, that stop working for no obvious reason) and he was very helpful and expedient. The apartment is excellent and spacious. We had a very quiet room and that was pleasing as well. The double-bed we had was really pleasant, and, importantly very wide, 180-200 cm probably. The only aspect that was annoying was the internet. Yes, it is wireless and it is free, but it was often very slow and not straightforward to connect to. Considering the rate we paid, it was an extremely good deal overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Least favorite apartment in Europe I have stayed.

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Overall the place is nice and was a adequate for our needs. Nothing fantastic, but not poor either. Here goes the good and bad... Bedroom - Well furnished, plenty of storage and size is good. Bed is very firm, just a step above sleeping on the floor. No additional pillows or blankets provided. Since it was winter and in the low 40's at night, we had to leave the heat on all night long, which made it very dry and the fan blew on half the bed all night. Living/ Dining Area - Furnished with your standard Ikea furnishings. Nice size. Kitchen - Comes with most everything you need to prepare meals. Coffee maker is the one cup Italian style. Here is the thing that got me. No sponges, paper towels, salt, pepper, sugar, oil... nothing. You have to purchase EVERYTHING. I have stayed in many apartments throughout Europe and this is the first one that came with absolutely nothing. They do not sell singles of paper towels or sponges in the markets there, so you end up spending quite a bit for items you will never use. For the hotel to provide this it would cost very little to nothing for them per room as I know I had to buy a 6 pack of sponges for example and used one, leaving the rest. Staff - Non-existent. We were there a little after 2 to check in and no-one was there. He finally showed up at nearly 4. We stayed for 8 nights and only saw the guy at the front desk once. Check out? Ha. I just left the keys and bailed. Oh, and he only speaks enough English to check you in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Apartment

Posted Mar 24, 2012
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: n/a
Location: good
Superb location and quality,great price and metro 5 minutes away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Great value for the money!

Posted Jun 16, 2011
We had a great apartment on the 4th floor with fully equipped kitchen. Amazing view at Jean Nouvel's building - Torre Agbar. We stayed only 2 nights - they changed our towels and the maid had the dishes done and cleaned the kitchen - which we didn't expect. We felt very safe walking at night in our neighborhood. It was easy to get around - there was a bus stop nearby that took us straight to the Park Guell and La Sagrada Familia was 10 min walk away. The only problem was that the metro closes at midnight and then you have to take a cab to get back. to the apartment, but the ride was pretty cheap since we walked all the way back to the top of La Gracia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peppon from makati

GEM OF A HOTEL

Posted Apr 30, 2011
Great location, safe neighborhood, very comfortable, new and modern apartment. Had all the comforts you'll need for a short stay. Stayed there 4 days with my daughters, prior to our cruise. The apartment is a mere 5 minute walk to the nearest metro stop...or a 15 minute leisurely walk to Sagrada Familia. Easy to miss the entrance of the hotel because there is no signage. Don't arrive before 930 AM though as the front reception opens at 930. The guys manning the reception are all quite friendly and will help you with whatever concerns you have. WiFi is available for a few USD a day. There are stores and supermarkets nearby and a laundromat a block away. Will definitely go back there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Osprey, FL

Modern, Clean Apartment near Sagrada Familia

Posted Sep 29, 2010
Apartments Suites Independencia are modern apartment suites in the Eixample District. There are two metro stops very close to the apartment, lots of shops and restaurants, a huge mall and the Sagrada Familia is a 5 block walk. We had a two bedroom apartment. One room had a king and one twin beds. Very modern kitchen. We were only there two nights so did not really use it so couldn't say if it had everything you might need. Shower had excellent water pressure and lots of hot water. We had a terrace but the view was just the back of other apartment buildings. As mentioned we were barely in the room. We loved the automatic blackout shutters. We had our best night sleep there but they are dangerous if you don't set a clock. I woke at 9:40 and thought it was the middle of the night. There is a flat panel tv but no channels in English. It was the perfect set up for a family traveling with a child.