Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but unsatisfactory otherwise

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Only 5 minutes walk to metro station and 5 blocks to Sagrada Familia.
Complex self check-in - you must get door and booking ref.codes in advance or face a lengthy wait on the pavement. Minimal furniture and tiny second bedroom. Only welcome pack is a bottle of water. Need to provide all your own food and beverages and even items such as tea towels and dish washer tablets. Otherwise apartment is spacious with adequate kitchen and main bedroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
The apartments are very central, a great base to come back to after a day of seeing the beautiful sights of Barcelona.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Beware of check-in problems

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Apartment is nice an and comfortable, on a quiet street.
Cons: Check-in procedure.
Location: Close to Sagrada familia and to the flea market.
We have stayed here before and have always been happy. On this occasion however the check-in (which is automatic) turned into a nightmare. The machine could not realise that checking in after midnight should not be a problem - but, machine being machine did not understand it. Hence phone calls followed and finely, after waiting for have an hour, keys were delivered by taxi. Basically, if you plan to check in after midnight, do not select this accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Good value for money, but not perfect

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The accommodation is not suitable for a long stay (we stayed three weeks), since the equipment is somewhat rudimentary. For example, there is no washing machine, iron, etc. What there is in the kitchen leaves a lot to be desired - the only types of glasses we had were the wine and whiskey glasses, a single pan, etc. The internet is incredibly slow and hence, if you want to do work online, find another place. On the positive side, the flat is very quiet and the staff are nice. The problem we had with the air-conditioning was solved efficiently and quickly. The location is good for Sagrada Familia, there is plenty of public transport within five minutes and the beach is only 45 minutes away using your own feet - the walk takes you through pedestrian streets of Carrer de Roger and Rambla de Pable Nou, with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops.
3 out of 5
by James from Berkhamsted

Comfortable, spacious and good value apartment

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Checking in was very confusing. Found the right door, then buzzed to get in. Had not realised there was no Reception whatsoever - you have to enter your details into a computer screen in the hallway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester. UK.

Could have been good if the basics were in place

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Roomy, well positioned for trains, metro, bars, restaurants etc.
Cons: Room service, replenishment of consumables, kettle and more kitchen equipment.
Location: well positioned for trains, metro, bars, restaurants etc.
First impression of the apartment was very good. Nice, big & reasonably well furnished. The kitchen had a good range of appliances, (including Dishwasher, Microwave & fridge/freezer). The bedroom & bathroom were both a good size & well fitted. I was a little less impressed when I realised there was no kettle and the pots, pans etc. were quite minimalist. I also had to unblock the wash hand basin before it was useable. After this things seemed OK. for a couple of days, until we did not get any room service at all. This meant that we had no clean towels, no replacement loo rolls, no bins emptied, and no room cleaning. There was no facility anywhere in the building to dispose of waste, and no where to replenish towels & loo rolls. After 6 days I saw a cleaner and asked her for some replacements, and she said that she would come and sort the room, which she did, and things returned to how they should of been. I do not think that I should have to tolerate dirty bins, towels & poor service in a hot country, especially when this was far from one of the cheapest accommodations in Barcelona. Overall we had a fantastic holiday would recommend Barcelona to anyone, but stay away from Apartaments Suites Independencia until they get there act together.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Tourist Stay!

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
For tourist this is not the place to stay. It look forever to checkin and had to wait 30 min(thats a long time considering how far I walked and travel time you just want to check in as fast as possible) till someone came out to ask for help. And when the receptionist finally came out he said he would come to the room and check me in but never came back! And I had a balance of .72euros and gave him 1euro and never got change back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Excellent accommodation, but there are some caveat

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Location: This is accommodation some way away from the city centre (which we were happy with) but close to Sagrada Familia and to Encants market.
If you expect to see a receptionist, you will be disappointed. There is not one and the accommodation is not manned at all. So, be prepared to have to use the phone to get in touch - this includes check-in, which is self-check-in. The catch is that you need an entry code to access the self-check-in facility and we were not provided with one (booked through Expedia). Hence this is the first time you have to use the phone to get in touch and be given the code. Since hotel staff is invisible (and non-existent, to some extent) it is difficult to rate this part of the service. We did meet a guy when we needed help with the keys (those famous magnetic ones, that stop working for no obvious reason) and he was very helpful and expedient. The apartment is excellent and spacious. We had a very quiet room and that was pleasing as well. The double-bed we had was really pleasant, and, importantly very wide, 180-200 cm probably. The only aspect that was annoying was the internet. Yes, it is wireless and it is free, but it was often very slow and not straightforward to connect to. Considering the rate we paid, it was an extremely good deal overall.
1 out of 5
by edmon from ireland

The worst experience in barcelona

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels
First of all the apartment is huge and room is nice. Location is OK. Now is the main point, service was very bad, no reception in 24 hours. Their system of check in was bad. They input my surname incorrect so I cannot find my reservation. No people will help you there, as just a phone there and the people are very impolite. The worst thing is our last night, the key card was not working, we cannot get in the building. We spend over 2hours at the door to keep talk to the reception by phone for how to solve it. They are very unhelpful and no body show up to take the responsiblly to help us. They promise us to that us late check out at noon. But their internal communication was so bad. They came before 11am and ask us to leave with very rude attitude. Anyway the apartment was nice, but service very bad. Good luck to everyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Least favorite apartment in Europe I have stayed.

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Overall the place is nice and was a adequate for our needs. Nothing fantastic, but not poor either. Here goes the good and bad... Bedroom - Well furnished, plenty of storage and size is good. Bed is very firm, just a step above sleeping on the floor. No additional pillows or blankets provided. Since it was winter and in the low 40's at night, we had to leave the heat on all night long, which made it very dry and the fan blew on half the bed all night. Living/ Dining Area - Furnished with your standard Ikea furnishings. Nice size. Kitchen - Comes with most everything you need to prepare meals. Coffee maker is the one cup Italian style. Here is the thing that got me. No sponges, paper towels, salt, pepper, sugar, oil... nothing. You have to purchase EVERYTHING. I have stayed in many apartments throughout Europe and this is the first one that came with absolutely nothing. They do not sell singles of paper towels or sponges in the markets there, so you end up spending quite a bit for items you will never use. For the hotel to provide this it would cost very little to nothing for them per room as I know I had to buy a 6 pack of sponges for example and used one, leaving the rest. Staff - Non-existent. We were there a little after 2 to check in and no-one was there. He finally showed up at nearly 4. We stayed for 8 nights and only saw the guy at the front desk once. Check out? Ha. I just left the keys and bailed. Oh, and he only speaks enough English to check you in.