Ratings based on 1,617 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Great location and informed staff! Carlos=Awesome!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I went to Barcelona to celebrate my 50th Birthday. I selected Avenida Palace Hotel because it looked luxurious online. When I arrived the hotel was actually going through construction changes so it was a little noisey at times but overall it was a great experience. The staff was friendly and informed and the room was great and the price was reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sabrina, thank you for letting us be a part of your trip to Barcelona and for your excellent valuation. To know your overall impression of El Avenida Palace satisfies us. Our aim is making your stay unforgettable and we do our best to making feel you at home during your stay. We all are looking forward to your next visit!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book somewhere else.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi bad. Room not clean. Small - not what I asked for. Customer service by front desk and manager not willing to assist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely city break
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Perfectly situated for city break to Barcelona

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Perfect location for touring Barcelona - the famous Ramblas less than five minutes walk away. Beautiful hotel and ticked all our boxes. Very clean and very helpful staff. We had an early flight so went straight to the hotel where they happily stowed our luggage safely for us while we went off to start exploring Barcelona. We had a fabulous short stay here and would definitely recommend the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, thanks a lot for your outstanding review. We love to read that you had an amazing time in Barcelona and that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again very soon. Best regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get Your Own Taxi

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I liked the hotel but when we checked out one of the hotel the employee at the front desk offered to get us a taxi. When it arrived the driver handed him something and then took us a very long route to the airport ( I know this as I had my data on and was looking at google maps). Then when we got to the airport he pressed a few buttons on his meter and the price suddenly rose €5... bottom line the hotel was nice but get your own taxi unless you like being ripped off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for spending your time writing a review abour your experience with us. We are happy to know that you liked the hotel. On the other hand, we regret to read that you had a bad experience with a taxi driver but please note that it has no relation with us as we don't work with any company. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with a 100 year+ history

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, lovely location, nice breakfast. The lunch in the hotel was very good too.
Cons: Free mineral water was only given on the first day. A bottle a day per person would be nice. The TV in the room did not work.
Location: Casa Batillo, La Pedrara, Las Ramblas street are all within walking distance.
Although the check in time was 4pm we were able to get into our room on arrival at 2pm which was really nice. The rooms very spacious and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Haresh, thanks for your review about your experience at the hotel. We love to read that you liked the size of our room, our central location and the breakfast offer. We also like to read that you tried our lunch menu and that you enjoyed it. We note your comments regarding the bottled water on arrival as well as the TV in order to keep working to improve day by day. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent breakfast,clean hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a very good location. Easy to get there from the airport. The airport shuttle bus stop is 10 minutes on foot. The room was clean,the bed was big and comfy. We asked for a room not looking onto the busy road so we didn't have any problem with the noise from the traffic. One of the best breakfast bufes I have ever had in the hotel. Big variety and everything was tasty. Don't miss the top roof! They have swimming pool,bar and a little gym as well. I can not recommend this hotel enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Centrally located

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Centrally located so pubs, shops and restaurants were within walking distance; and it's next to the metro.
Cons: Don't turn off the heat/AC and spray the tub with mold remover.
Location: Shops, pubs and restaurants are easily accessible.
The hotel at first glance looks luxurious. Everything is decorated with rich gold tones and classic type furniture. The room is a good size and all the typical hotel furnishings were available, including a big closet space. The bed was firm, so it was very comfortable. However, I thought it was odd that they shut down the heat/AC in all the rooms. At first I thought the thermostat was broken, so the hotel front desk offered to bring a fan in my room. Later I learned that they turned off all the heat/AC in all the rooms on purpose because it's winter season. I'm not sure if the hotel was trying to conserve electricity, but whatever their reason was it made sleeping at night incredibly uncomfortable because there was no air circulation in the room. Also, there were some mold around the tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for writing a review about your stay with us. We are happy to know that you liked our location and the size and comfort of the room. On the other hand, we regret to know that you expected to have the A/C working. As our front desk team informed you, the A/C is turned off during winter season but we note your comment in order to take it in consideration for next season. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel perfect location nice room and service

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Great Hotel service and quality perfect location,nice room and great hotel style upgrade very recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks for writing a review about your experience with us. We are glad to know that we were able to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Best wishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Hotel was ideally situated within walking distance to many sights, restaurants, shopping and transit to outlying areas. Rooms were quite spacious and clean. Lots of hot water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Javier Tomás, Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thanks a lot for writing a review about your experience with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to offer you a great stay and that you enjoyed our central location as well as the size and cleanliness of our rooms. We look forward to welcome you again very soon. Best regards.